$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Hotel Union Square

3 stars
114 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
150 reviews
Fantastic

Very good experience. Complimentary wine in the evening. Cable car street. Great views, and parks... See full review

  • YuraF
  • Jan 9, 2014
Friendly staff, overall good value

The staff were very friendly, and the room was clean. The hotel has a nice charm to it and the... See full review

  • KatMS
  • Oct 22, 2013
Art-Deco whimsy, 1920s-era grandeur and wine hour near Union Square

The Art-Deco era is alive and well at this boutique Hotel Union Square, which was returned to its 1920s grandeur during an exhaustive renovation in 2008. Today, the hotel features signature staircases and opulent moldings, while loft-like guest rooms boast brick walls and mosaic murals. Another benefit: the world's only Dashiell Hammett Suite, named after the author of "The Maltese Falcon." The property is part of the Personality Hotels Collection. It sits mere blocks from the shopping of Union Square.

Highlights
  • Located blocks from Union Square
  • Fun and literary inspired Dashiell Hammett Suite
  • Funky style and 1920s grandeur
Rooms
Accommodations -- 39 rooms and seven suites -- are infused with the colors of San Francisco: crimson, gray and taupe. Designed to give the feel of a sophisticated urban apartment, rooms at the Hotel Union Square are custom-furnished with platform beds and tufted leather headboards, sleek dark-wood desks, velvety chaise lounges and expansive capsule-shaped mirrors. Many offer stunning views of the city skyline as well as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access. Pets welcome (fees apply).
Features
Hotel Union Square is best known for its specialty suites. The Dashiell Hammett Suite is the world's only suite dedicated to the author of "The Maltese Falcon." Apparently, the famous scribe loved the hotel so much that he booked his bride-to-be Josephine Dolan in that very suite on the night before their 1921 wedding.

The hotel also features one Kids' Suite. This boasts a cherrywood trundle bed, a computer filled with history-related games, a Nintendo Wii, a writing desk and colorful rugs. The suite also displays a retro-style mixed-media collage of famous kid-friendly San Francisco landmarks.

All guests have access to a modest fitness center off-site; for a more intense workout experience, guests can purchase a pass to the Club One gym located around the corner (fees apply). Visitors also are welcome to join in a complimentary evening wine hour. Dry-cleaning and laundry services are available as well (fees apply).

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • SoMa
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center

Hotel Union Square Rooms

Standard Rooms
Standard Rooms feature One Queen or two Double beds, Television, Bath, Complimentary Wireless Internet, Coffee Maker, Iron/Iron Board, and Hair Dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.408
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Overlooks the Powell Street Cable Car Line at Union Square. Just steps to Macy's, Nordstroms, Saks, Neiman Marcus, Theaters and fine dining. Easy access to the financial district, Moscone Convention Center, Chinatown, Civic Center, and public transportation.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi

Dining

Johnny Foley's Irish House
great place for a cold pint of your favorite brew. Tasty pub food in a lively environment.
Tad's Steakhouse
Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner is located adjacent to the entrance of the lobby.
John's Grill
A San Francisco landmark thaat open in 1908 and is home of the "Maltese Falcon." Open daily for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Danielson
Orange, California, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Great Staff

The staff and room were great! At first when we checked in the view and room were not that great. But we called down to reception and they immediatly upgraded us since it was my wife's birthday that day, and we were going for her birthday weekend. They also gave us a complimentry wine bottle for the occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Where comfortable shoes as everything is pretty much walking distance

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
RichMcGeorge
Sacramento, CA
Jan 27, 2013

It's near everything and inexpensive.

If you are looking for an inexpensive nice hotel to stay in in San Francisco, stay here! We couldn't believe the rate was as low as it was for what we got. The rooms appear to be recently renovated. It was an overall good experience all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Opsig
Sacramento, CA
Jan 31, 2010

Room just like in pictures...

On Powell Street, so you can indeed hear the cable cars. Plastic, flexible ear plugs are recommended if you don't want this unique urban sound interrupting your sleep. Foam ear plugs are not sufficient. Otherwise, capable, friendly staff, including parking person, plus a delightfully modern room and bathroom. No, this is not a suite, but do you want to spend $60 more for the Westin St. Francis, plus $20 more for parking overnight? Save your cash for other things you enjoy! Remember, the blocks are not very big in this part of San Francisco, and you can easily walk to anywhere at or near Union Square, and to Muni and BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Download and print directions to hotel from their website, from whichever direction you are coming from. Use a large font so your co-pilot can help direct you drive right to the parking lot at 80 Ellis Street, at the back door to check-in at the Hotel Union Square.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Lexie C.
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 5, 2011

Fantastic Hotel! Fantastic Location

The location right in the center of Union Square could not be better! It's right on the Powell-Mason Cable Car line so you really get to feel like you're in the middle of it all. The hotel is very charming with a contemporary vibe. I loved the decor which was a mix of antiques, Art Deco and clean modern ines. The Staff and Concierge are very friendly and helpful and they even offer morning coffee and wine happy hours! I would definitely stay here again! Boutique hotels are the way to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

First day in San Fransisco schedule a Mr. Toad's tour of the city. You're in a 1910s-1920s vintage car that seats no more than 10 people. It's fun, intimate and really informative to give you some of the history of the city, hot spots, and must sees. It's great for orientation before you explore on your own.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Elize
Salem, OR
Jul 9, 2012

Shopping in the city

We took our family to San Francisco to do college visits and shop in the city. The hotel staff were great, we had an issue when we checked in we had a room with only a king bed and there were 3 of us. They got us a cot for the night and switched us to a room with 2 beds the next two nights, staff even moved our luggage for us, and they didnt charge us an additional fees for bigger room. Very clean and great location!!! I would definetly stay there again. July 2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Montvale, NJ
Aug 1, 2011

San Francisco

This is a very cool older hotel in the most lively area of the city. There can be some noise on the street at night, but that's what you would expect in this area. It is very close to the BART station and on a cable car line. The ambiance is nice and it has very artistic decor. This was better than previous hotels I've stayed in because of the central location and the fact that it doesn't have the typical chain hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Naan-Ncurry 336 Ofarrell St, San Francisco, CA

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Lover of cats!
San Diego, CA
Apr 6, 2010

Wonderful Stay at Hotel Union Square

We were in San Francisco to attend Wonder-con. The hotel was perfect for us. It is a matter of blocks from the Moscone Center so it only took a few minutes to walk to the convention each day. The rooms are true to the pictures. We had a deluxe queen size room with a good size bathroom. The closet was tiny but there was a decent sized dresser for our clothes. Our unit was on the 3rd floor directly on Powell Street. We could hear the cable cars and traffic but only faintly. We really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at Farallon on Post which was a short walk. This restaurant is amazing! The food was delicious and the restaurant itself was beyond words. It was designed to look like the restaurant itself is underwater. They even have chandeliers made to look like jellyfish and giant sea urchins. Everywhere you look you are reminded that you are in an underwater fantasy! The service was impeccable! I would recommend this restaurant especially to couples looking for a romantic dinner.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
KatMS
Missoula, MT
Oct 22, 2013

Friendly staff, overall good value

The staff were very friendly, and the room was clean. The hotel has a nice charm to it and the location was absolutely perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the area directly surrounding the hotel, the restaurants were generally very packed, but if we walked 3-5 blocks south, we could get a seat in a comparable restaurant with no wait (compared to a 25 minute wait near the hotel). The general bustle slowed a bit as you wen south a few blocks, so I would advise checking out what's there.

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
marianna12345
Business
Lexington KY
Jun 20, 2013

Cozy comfortable hotel in a great location

The location is perfect, the room is clean and comfortable. I had a street view and could see the cable car passing by. The hotel is small but has its charm and I liked modern decor. The staff is very helpful. The lobby is small and it gives a feeling that you stay at the apartment. It is few steps from the mall, 10 min walk to convention center. THere are plenty of restaurants around. The cable car and street car stops are few steps away.I would definitely recommend this place as a reasonably priced comfortable place to stay in the heart of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
Gflo
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 11, 2012

Perfect Romantic Getaway

The hotel was perfect if you want the San Francisco experience. The staff was very friendly. Plan on parking your car and using the public transit offered. Cable cars and train will get you to the popular spots. Shopping and dining are all within walking distance. Be prepared to pay for parking, it's worth it. You'll pay just as much at all the tourist spots. The room was clean and new. It has a perfect feel, an aged exterior with a refurbished interior. The rooms have a very modern look. The pictures are accurate. I plan on staying here every time I visit the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Sightseeing Hop on Hop Off buses at Union Square. That is a better option.

Back to menu Return to top