$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
159 reviews
Fantastic stay during Cherry Blossom festival

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Tomo. It is a good, clean, and cool hotel with perfect access... See full review

  • Kazu222
  • Apr 26, 2014
Perfect if visiting SF with car

Clean rooms, friendly staff, SF is not a big city, at least for us which drove to SF down from San... See full review

  • Mister BLC
  • Feb 11, 2014
Welcome to Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel!!! Hotel Tomo is Japanese Pop-culture inspired hotel. From our wall of televisions in the lobby to artist graphics in each guest room you will find an experience like no other in San Francisco. Hotel Tomo rooms feature 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL), Cable TV, In-room Movies, Air-conditioning, Clock Radios, Coffeemakers, In-room Safety Box, Refrigerators, Irons and Ironing Boards, Hairdryers, Dataports, Voicemail, and Free Local Calls under 30 minutes. Hotel Tomo is a 100% Non-Smoking Hotel. Visitors to San Francisco love the Japanese-inspired Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. A reasonably priced boutique hotel in the Japantown neighborhood, guests will be surrounded by a colorful Japanese village with gift shops, bookstores, Kimono shops, fashion boutiques, Japanese baths and sushi bars. More than 30 restaurants of various International cuisine offerings surround this San Francisco hotel. Parking is available for $29.00/night plus tax.

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4303
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO - San Francisco International OAK - Oakland International
Area description
The Hotel Tomo is ideally situated in the heart of San Francisco. The renowned Union Square shopping district is 1 mile east of this hotel. To the north is the Golden Gate Bridge, to the west is Golden Gate Park, and to the south are the Davies Symphony Hall, the War Memorial Opera House and City Hall. Fillmore Street, with its popular boutiques, cafes and clubs, is just a few blocks away from the hotel. Chinatown, the famed cable cars, and St. Mary's Cathedral are also nearby. The historic Presidio National Park with many hiking, biking, and windsurfing activities is just a short drive away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Balcony Queen includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 2 Queen beds, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.
Deluxe Queen includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 2 Queen beds, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.
Deluxe King includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 1 King bed, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • SoMa: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Tomo has meeting and banquet rooms for groups up to 70 people. Limited parking is available on site or nearby.

Dining

Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-shabu
Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-shabu, on premise, located on our first floor, is a popular and attractive priced restaurant specializing in favorites of East and West. It is particularly noted for shabu-shabu. Shabu-shabu consists of thinly sliced meat and vegetables cooked at the table with your very own iron hot pot, and served with our savory, house special dipping sauces. The name Shabu-shabu is Japanese and it is referring to the swishing action very thin slice of beef in hot water. Friday and Saturday is very busy at Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-Shabu.
Restaurants
Within 3 blocks, guests wishing to sample San Francisco's renowned culinary variety also may choose from among 30 other outstanding restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pausedagain
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 19, 2011

Great Hotel

This is a really nice, affordable and clean hotel in the heart of Japantown. The staff is friendly and accommodating. This is actually the second time I have stayed here. The first time I had a room with a balcony. When I arrived I requested a room with a balcony but they were sold out. The next day the offered to move me, which they did. Very nice of them. Those rooms I find are superior, higher floor with a better view and the ability to go outside for fresh air. My only problem with the hotel is the beds aren't as comfortable as I like, but overall it is really good. Spacious rooms as well. The area doesn't have much in terms of food options that aren't japanese, but it is easy to get anywhere you need to go. Also for San Francisco there is not a homeless person in sight. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel is very standard but good enough. The shabu shabu is the best thing on the menu at night, everything else is kinda gross. But overall i recommend it.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pausedagain
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 19, 2011

Great Hotel

This is a really nice, affordable and clean hotel in the heart of Japantown. The staff is friendly and accommodating. This is actually the second time I have stayed here. The first time I had a room with a balcony. When I arrived I requested a room with a balcony but they were sold out. The next day the offered to move me, which they did. Very nice of them. Those rooms I find are superior, higher floor with a better view and the ability to go outside for fresh air. My only problem with the hotel is the beds aren't as comfortable as I like, but overall it is really good. Spacious rooms as well. The area doesn't have much in terms of food options that aren't japanese, but it is easy to get anywhere you need to go. Also for San Francisco there is not a homeless person in sight. Amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel is very standard but good enough. The shabu shabu is the best thing on the menu at night, everything else is kinda gross. But overall i recommend it.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P. Flo
Valencia, CA
Feb 25, 2011

Cool and Chic Hotel

The hotel rooms were cool and modern. It was clean and had bay windows. It was in a great location close to restaurants. You can just walk to restaurants and it has a Japanese restaurant on the 1st floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P. Flo
Valencia, CA
Feb 25, 2011

Cool and Chic Hotel

The hotel rooms were cool and modern. It was clean and had bay windows. It was in a great location close to restaurants. You can just walk to restaurants and it has a Japanese restaurant on the 1st floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hackensack, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

Good location for the price

The location is very good near Japan town. There are many Japanese restaurants.The room was clean, nothing glamorous and very nice.I like it.close to bus station.I could go to downtown around 10-15 minute. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hackensack, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

Good location for the price

The location is very good near Japan town. There are many Japanese restaurants.The room was clean, nothing glamorous and very nice.I like it.close to bus station.I could go to downtown around 10-15 minute. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego ca
Jan 17, 2011

Hotel TOMO

We went sight seeing and this hotel was in a good location and easy to get around. staff was friendly and helpful. good experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Batumbakal travels
LA, ca
Jan 17, 2011

bang for the buck

The room was really clean. You can tell by the hallways that its an older but updated hotel. Little bit of an inconvenience when we checked in,the front desk person looked like she had seen better days and so it wasn't really a nice vibe. She kept calling someones name on a walkie talkie she had with her while we were checking in. Then she gave us a room which had a bed that wasn't made yet. She expected us to drag our luggage back downstairs to get a new room on a different floor. Parking is a bit expensive but expected in San Francisco. There wasn't a bean bag in our room. It was on the pictures on the website and from other guests reviews of the hotel, it was supposedly a part of the anime theme. The hotel is in an excellent location if you wish to enjoy Japantown in Frisco. The hotel was in a safe neighborhood and the lobby was locked at night hours with a guard to open the doors for hotel guests to come in. Overall it was a nice experience, as long as the place is really clean, I will be happy. Everyone on the staff was great except for the lady who checked us in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

They have buses that stop at tourist attractions every hour during the day that you can purchase tickets for. They cost $20 a ticket and you can use the tickets for 48 hours.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Batumbakal travels
LA, ca
Jan 17, 2011

bang for the buck

The room was really clean. You can tell by the hallways that its an older but updated hotel. Little bit of an inconvenience when we checked in,the front desk person looked like she had seen better days and so it wasn't really a nice vibe. She kept calling someones name on a walkie talkie she had with her while we were checking in. Then she gave us a room which had a bed that wasn't made yet. She expected us to drag our luggage back downstairs to get a new room on a different floor. Parking is a bit expensive but expected in San Francisco. There wasn't a bean bag in our room. It was on the pictures on the website and from other guests reviews of the hotel, it was supposedly a part of the anime theme. The hotel is in an excellent location if you wish to enjoy Japantown in Frisco. The hotel was in a safe neighborhood and the lobby was locked at night hours with a guard to open the doors for hotel guests to come in. Overall it was a nice experience, as long as the place is really clean, I will be happy. Everyone on the staff was great except for the lady who checked us in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

They have buses that stop at tourist attractions every hour during the day that you can purchase tickets for. They cost $20 a ticket and you can use the tickets for 48 hours.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego ca
Jan 17, 2011

Hotel TOMO

We went sight seeing and this hotel was in a good location and easy to get around. staff was friendly and helpful. good experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top