$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
161 reviews
Fantastic stay during Cherry Blossom festival

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Tomo. It is a good, clean, and cool hotel with perfect access... See full review

  • Kazu222
  • Apr 26, 2014
Perfect if visiting SF with car

Clean rooms, friendly staff, SF is not a big city, at least for us which drove to SF down from San... See full review

  • Mister BLC
  • Feb 11, 2014
Welcome to Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel!!! Hotel Tomo is Japanese Pop-culture inspired hotel. From our wall of televisions in the lobby to artist graphics in each guest room you will find an experience like no other in San Francisco. Hotel Tomo rooms feature 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL), Cable TV, In-room Movies, Air-conditioning, Clock Radios, Coffeemakers, In-room Safety Box, Refrigerators, Irons and Ironing Boards, Hairdryers, Dataports, Voicemail, and Free Local Calls under 30 minutes. Hotel Tomo is a 100% Non-Smoking Hotel. Visitors to San Francisco love the Japanese-inspired Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. A reasonably priced boutique hotel in the Japantown neighborhood, guests will be surrounded by a colorful Japanese village with gift shops, bookstores, Kimono shops, fashion boutiques, Japanese baths and sushi bars. More than 30 restaurants of various International cuisine offerings surround this San Francisco hotel. Parking is available for $29.00/night plus tax.

Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Balcony Queen includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 2 Queen beds, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.
Deluxe Queen includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 2 Queen beds, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.
Deluxe King includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 1 King bed, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4303
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO - San Francisco International OAK - Oakland International
Area description
The Hotel Tomo is ideally situated in the heart of San Francisco. The renowned Union Square shopping district is 1 mile east of this hotel. To the north is the Golden Gate Bridge, to the west is Golden Gate Park, and to the south are the Davies Symphony Hall, the War Memorial Opera House and City Hall. Fillmore Street, with its popular boutiques, cafes and clubs, is just a few blocks away from the hotel. Chinatown, the famed cable cars, and St. Mary's Cathedral are also nearby. The historic Presidio National Park with many hiking, biking, and windsurfing activities is just a short drive away.

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • SoMa: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-shabu
Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-shabu, on premise, located on our first floor, is a popular and attractive priced restaurant specializing in favorites of East and West. It is particularly noted for shabu-shabu. Shabu-shabu consists of thinly sliced meat and vegetables cooked at the table with your very own iron hot pot, and served with our savory, house special dipping sauces. The name Shabu-shabu is Japanese and it is referring to the swishing action very thin slice of beef in hot water. Friday and Saturday is very busy at Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-Shabu.
Restaurants
Within 3 blocks, guests wishing to sample San Francisco's renowned culinary variety also may choose from among 30 other outstanding restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Tomo has meeting and banquet rooms for groups up to 70 people. Limited parking is available on site or nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (161)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T.Le
San Jose, California
Jan 6, 2014

Not bad.

I enjoyed staying in this hotel, it was supposed to be Japanese/anime theme like described. The bed was comfortable, lighting was ok, not too dark or too bright. Location was good, just a couple walk to the mall in Japan town. The things that turned me down was the parking fee was $29+tax for 1 night, lack of channels on the TV, and it would be nice if the shower water is hotter, there were time that the water would turned from hot to cold and then warm even though I did not turn the knob. I would definitely come back for another stay but it will be on higher floor. Our room was located on first floor, and it's below street level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Siouxsie
Los Angeles
Oct 14, 2013

A Tired Hotel With A Cute Concept

Hotel was going through renovations so it was dusty, loud and smelled toxic in the hallways. For $300 a night, I had higher expectations — you know, like a functioning toilet that wouldn't overflow. Perhaps it was bad timing on my behalf, but the Tomo hotel is tired and worn around the edges. Not sure if the superficial cosmetic lift they were giving it during my stay will be enough. I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thestraw13
los angeles, ca
Jul 21, 2013

excellent

really couldn't ask for more- friendly staff, fun room designs, big comfy beds, and a reasonable price. highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mad Maxi
Atlanta, GA
Jun 20, 2013

Great Hotel

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. the room was very clean, beds were comfortable. great location to restaurants. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rastafari
san francisco
May 23, 2013

weekend away

very convienent and fun. it was a very private place to stay. and well situated next to japan town. a lot to do in the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mmmmmmmm
sf
May 7, 2013

Awesome

Awesome time spent at Tomo Hotel. Cannot wait to go back there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNBetty
Business
St Paul, MN
Apr 30, 2013

Great gettaway from the hubbub

Helpful, friendly staff, relaxing location, nice rooms. I had a great stay and plan to return. This is a good place to stay if you want a quieter neighborhood, with easy access to everything using the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lolideelolida
seattle
Apr 24, 2013

it's hot in here

While the room we received was reasonably quiet, the first night was spent listening to the toilet run (they did fix it) and tossing and turning in the stuffy room. At first we thought we were just confused by the fancy thermostat but finally after two nights of restlessness, a guy came to "fix" it. It worked for a few hours but we came back late and it was broken again so a third night with tossing and turning. They really should have given us a new room. I mean it was a Monday in April. I think they maybe had two guests. I know in SF AC is not usually mandatory but this was unreasonably warm and the lack of AC truly made this stay unbearable,and with a staff that half the time doesn't even answer the phone - when you are IN the hotel calling from your room - and the reasonably high cost, we won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichRiaz
New York
Apr 14, 2013

fun, clean and cozy

We stayed in San Fran for one night before we headed out of the area and this hotel was a blast. The room was decorated with vibrant colors and modern furniture. I loved the lather products in the bathroom and everything was very clean. Close proximity to great food and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sister sheila
indianapolis, in
Apr 11, 2013

Kind of awful

I guess I had a special room--down the hall from the restaurant and across the hall from the employee locker room. The carpeting was scary dirty and stained and the walls are thin. There were some good points--the bed was comfortable with clean bedding and the bathroom seemed clean. Would not recommend this to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top