$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1800 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
159 reviews
Fantastic stay during Cherry Blossom festival

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Tomo. It is a good, clean, and cool hotel with perfect access... See full review

  • Kazu222
  • Apr 26, 2014
Perfect if visiting SF with car

Clean rooms, friendly staff, SF is not a big city, at least for us which drove to SF down from San... See full review

  • Mister BLC
  • Feb 11, 2014
Welcome to Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel!!! Hotel Tomo is Japanese Pop-culture inspired hotel. From our wall of televisions in the lobby to artist graphics in each guest room you will find an experience like no other in San Francisco. Hotel Tomo rooms feature 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL), Cable TV, In-room Movies, Air-conditioning, Clock Radios, Coffeemakers, In-room Safety Box, Refrigerators, Irons and Ironing Boards, Hairdryers, Dataports, Voicemail, and Free Local Calls under 30 minutes. Hotel Tomo is a 100% Non-Smoking Hotel. Visitors to San Francisco love the Japanese-inspired Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. A reasonably priced boutique hotel in the Japantown neighborhood, guests will be surrounded by a colorful Japanese village with gift shops, bookstores, Kimono shops, fashion boutiques, Japanese baths and sushi bars. More than 30 restaurants of various International cuisine offerings surround this San Francisco hotel. Parking is available for $29.00/night plus tax.

Hotel Map

37.7868 -122.4303
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO - San Francisco International OAK - Oakland International
Area description
The Hotel Tomo is ideally situated in the heart of San Francisco. The renowned Union Square shopping district is 1 mile east of this hotel. To the north is the Golden Gate Bridge, to the west is Golden Gate Park, and to the south are the Davies Symphony Hall, the War Memorial Opera House and City Hall. Fillmore Street, with its popular boutiques, cafes and clubs, is just a few blocks away from the hotel. Chinatown, the famed cable cars, and St. Mary's Cathedral are also nearby. The historic Presidio National Park with many hiking, biking, and windsurfing activities is just a short drive away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Balcony Queen includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 2 Queen beds, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.
Deluxe Queen includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 2 Queen beds, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.
Deluxe King includes High Speed Internet Access
Rooms feature 1 King bed, 37 inch LCD Flat Screen TV, iPod Home Station, Free High Speed Internet (wireless and DSL) Guest rooms at the Hotel Tomo are not only spacious, comfortable and quiet, but are J-pop works of art. Each room has its own identity through the unique wall graphics created by Japanese artist Heisuke Kitazawa.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • SoMa: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.4 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-shabu
Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-shabu, on premise, located on our first floor, is a popular and attractive priced restaurant specializing in favorites of East and West. It is particularly noted for shabu-shabu. Shabu-shabu consists of thinly sliced meat and vegetables cooked at the table with your very own iron hot pot, and served with our savory, house special dipping sauces. The name Shabu-shabu is Japanese and it is referring to the swishing action very thin slice of beef in hot water. Friday and Saturday is very busy at Mums Restaurant & Bar: Home of Shabu-Shabu.
Restaurants
Within 3 blocks, guests wishing to sample San Francisco's renowned culinary variety also may choose from among 30 other outstanding restaurants.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel Tomo has meeting and banquet rooms for groups up to 70 people. Limited parking is available on site or nearby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hiro M
Richmond, VA
Jul 11, 2012

Cozy

Everything we needed were ready to use. Location is perfect for Japan town and for the center of San Francisco. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylmar
Boston, MA
May 31, 2012

Fun hotel in a great location

Hotel Tomo is in lovely Japantown and near Fillmore Street: two areas that are pretty, somewhat residential, but with many restaurants and shops. This area is much more low-key (and less touristy) than downtown. The hotel decor is charming (if you like anime) and fun. The gym is pretty tiny, and there isn't an easy breakfast spot nearby. Apart from that Tomo is a great way to live briefly in a delightful SF neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Japantown mall nearby has cheap delicious eats.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From Brazil to Frisco
Business
Florianopolis Brazil
May 21, 2012

Great commute to downtown

This hotel was very clean and quiet, a neat new place I've found in San Francisco. And the commute to downtown was so easy. I would definitely stay here again. Good deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve C.
Rhode Island
May 21, 2012

Great Value

The location was perfect for visiting my brother who lives in San Francisco. If anything, the hotel should play up the anime angle even more. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, street parking parking was easy to find and the value for money was great. This is a no-frills hotel. My biggest complaint is that the free WiFi was horrendously slow. I paid for the upgraded service for a day and it wasn't much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I was there for a week and borrowed my brother's car. I never had a problem finding free street parking right near the hotel.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vilija
malibu ca
May 19, 2012

in town on a busy weekend

The hotel itself is just a slightly modernized Best Western, but the people at the front desk or so helpful and accomodating with everything, that I just love this place. I stay here whenever I can. Great to have an empty fridge instead of one loaded up with overpriced drinks. I love the location because I can always find street parking and it is quieter than being downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PremierPix
Chico, CA, USA
May 15, 2012

Repeat Stay 2

We found our last visit to be similar as the precious visits. No surprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
May 13, 2012

Great Hotel if you semi know the city!

I've lived in the bay area before and its nice to go back and visit every now and then. I think this is the perfect hotel if you want to be right in the middle of San Francisco and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. I loved the cute Japanese theme in the hotel, and I love how close we were to Golden Gate Park, Japantown, and Irving street. I mean you can stay downtown, but I think that gets old after the first day. I much prefer this part of SF. The staff was SUPER friendly and nice and helpful! Highly recommended if you don't want to stay with every other tourist in downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SimplyAli
UK
Apr 8, 2012

Quirky hotel in safe neighbourhood

Quiet and pleasant location in Japantown. Close to shops, restaurants and a large Safeway. Easy to get to buses going in various directions. Free WiFi plus computers to print boarding passes for free. Transfer to SFO only $16. A la carte restaurant has good choices for breakfast - omelets are great, plus they come with potato and fruit not mentioned on menu! Room was clean and comfortable. Only downside for me was the noise at night - I didn't use my air con but continuous hum from other units, some strange creaky/knocking noises around my room and occasional emergency vehicle sirens (don't know why they use sirens in the middle of the night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fillmore Street has some nice restaurants and cafes, plus interesting shops.

Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PremierPix
Chico, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Return for Appointments

We have stayed at the motel several times in the past few months. Each time has been predictable and for the most part satisfactory. We would welcome better food services and in room devices such as a microwave. Each time the staff has been pleasant. We are easy attendants as we don't ask for or need much. We just expect to get the service and room we pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dadddi
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Surprised

I am not good at picking things off the internet. I was very pleased to see that the choice I made was good. Beds could have been softer but it was still sleepable. I would go back, I was in walking distance to everything I wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Tomo, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sanfranciscovisitor1
San Francisco, California
Mar 30, 2012

worth your money

its a cute place to stay. I think its worth your money, and there is a variety of great japanese food in the neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top