$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
57 reviews
Experience San Francisco at the Rex.

The hotel is quaint, well maintained, and in an excellent location. Walk to Union Square. Catch the... See full review

  • Henri La Fox
  • Aug 11, 2014
Excellent attention, excellent location

Right in the heart of Union Square, offering a very friendly staff. The rooms is a little small,... See full review

  • Carlos Avila 619
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals. Literary events regularly unfold in the lobby bar, and the hotel's new Caf Andree is an enchanting blend of a Northern California caf and authentic French bistro. Guestrooms are decorated in a palate of Provencal colors and feature the work of local artisans as well as an impressive menu of modern amenities. The Hotel Rex has recently reopened after completing its spectacular million-dollar renovation.

The Hotel Rex now accepts pets for a one time cleaning fee of $100 per stay. Valet parking is available at $38.00 plus tax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Each guest room is decorated with custom wall coverings, fresh fabrics, hand-painted lampshades and the work of local artisans. They include new pillow top mattresses, a two-line cordless phone with voicemail, dataport, cable TV, pay-per-view movies, CD player, honor bar, mini-refrigerator, writing desk, bathrobe, iron and board, electronic lock. ADA compliant and non-smoking rooms are available upon request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

Cafe Andree
Open for Breakfast, Dinner, and Weekend Brunch.
Lobby Bar
The lobby bar opens nightly at 5pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Corporate meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, showers, brunches, literary events and private parties have all been hosted at the Hotel Rex. With state-of-the-art lighting, the Hotel Rex can create different moods, from professional to intimate and romantic. Three areas are available to host a special event or meeting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 57
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Draz
Business
Upstate, NY
Jul 8, 2014

Couple Getaway

The Hotel Rex provided a relaxing atmosphere for my spouse and I. We wanted a location central to the muni system and a variety of restaurants. The staff at the Hotel Rex are extremely accommodating and make you feel like part of the family. All of the staff seemed knowledgeable about the area and were helpful with their input as we planned each day's activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a special night out on the town I recommend eating at the "Morton's Steak house" a little pricey but well worth the experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos Avila 619
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 3, 2014

Excellent attention, excellent location

Right in the heart of Union Square, offering a very friendly staff. The rooms is a little small, but compared to other reviews of SF City hotels, it may be an adequate size. Ditto for the elevator, pretty tight quarters. The comfort, cleanliness, and the staff's attention far exceeds any other 'naggy' comment regarding room size. The cherry on the cake was the two beach cruisers available for use by hotel guests. My wife and I saw the City from a perspective available to few tourists (unless you decide to pay an arm and a leg to rent a bike for the day). The informality of taking the hotel's bicycles on a spin around the Embarcadero through the City's many neighborhoods made our stay at Hotel Rex second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Elephant Sushi in Russian Hill neighborhood, worth the short Lyft trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolina girl SC
Business
South Carolina
May 12, 2014

Great value, great service, great overall

I picked this hotel because of the low price and location near the pickup for our bus tour (Union Sq). I was most pleasantly surprised by the upscale lobby, free wine hour, comfortable and clean room (stylishly decorated), roomy bathroom, and very accommodating and helpful staff. Our room was ready at 10:00 a.m., so we didn't haven't l leave our luggage behind the desk while we saw the sights that day. The concierge was very friendly and helped us with travel advice and arranged an airport shuttle for us. It was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SWolf
Business
Sonoma
Sep 7, 2013

Just What We Needed

We were attending a show at the Society Cabaret at the Rex, so decided to book a room there as well. Glad we did. Great value, nicely refurbished room. Clean. GREAT bar. Very warm staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Society Cabaret

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beorn
Business
Potomac, Maryland
Nov 20, 2012

We really got gouged at the Hotel Rex

The Rex is a somewhat charming older theme hotel in a great San Francisco location. We did not know it at the time but we were completely ripped off by this hotel. We were charged $559/night for a deluxe queen room with an air shaft view that normally rents for $169. It was hrdly deluxe -- so small you could barely unpack or turn around. For $169 it's OK if you like somewhat tired hotels, but not at that kind of premium. We do not patronize any establishment that engages in price gouging so will not be going back at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeaPete
Business
Seattle
Sep 30, 2012

Great funky hotel in a good location.

I would stay here in a heartbeat due to the staff who from arriving to leaving were unfailingly pleasant and very helpful which was very welcome when being in a strange new city. The hotel is pleasantly funky; the bar serves as the restaurant and the food was quite good. They served guests a glass of complementary wine which was very good. Room was quite comfy. Nicely located on Sutter and Powell so you can easily get on a cable car or walk to Chinatown. Many restaurants and shops nearby. Again, I can't say enough nice things about the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEizabeth
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 18, 2012

Great San Francisco Experience

Hotel Rex is a great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the action. It is close to Union Square, just off the cable car route and near many restaurants. Make sure to get a king size bed, because our queen was small, but it made us feel like we lived there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Restaurants: Fish and Farm The Grand Cafe Per Diem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad S
Business
Spokane, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Great little spot right downtown

Like most downtown hotels the rooms are small but the place has great character. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the location is great. Cablecar stop is right on the corner, BART is a short walk down Powell, and there are multiple ZipCar lots within a few blocks. Library bar is pretty cool and was busy every evening. Plenty of great spots to eat within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wigator
Business
madison,wi
Oct 29, 2011

great trip

great location, not at a toursity location but great safe area could walk from there anyplace, or take public transportation. great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebCur
Business
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Oct 27, 2011

4 day getaway

We were very happy with our hotel. The staff were fabulous and the location was great! We will definitely go back as San Fran is a great city, with friendly people, lots of energy and tons of things to do. Thank you staff at Hotel Rex for being so friendly and helpful......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits and Blues club very close to Hotel Rex was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top