$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eidemilm
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 15, 2009

Convenient and Relaxing

Hotel Rex was a delightful experience for the cost. The service was outstanding and the facilities fulfilled all of our expectations. The free glass of wine during happy hour was always a nice way to relax after exploring the city from this convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Landbound Sailors
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 25, 2009

Quaint and Cozy

Our trip was a surprise anniversary gift for my wife, who had always wanted to see San Francisco. I picked Hotel Rex based on the Orbitz description and recommendations. We were not disappointed. It's a cozy little place, and we could have spent the entire time in the comfortable salon were it not for the lure of the city outside. The location was fantastic, just off Union Square and close to the cable car line. Great restaurants and shopping are nearby. What we enjoyed most was the Golden Gate Greeter program, which provided a local volunteer (for free) who introduced us to the city. Walking the downtown and neighborhoods with our Greeter was the highlight of our trip. He was energetic and knowledgeable, showing us details we never would have noticed, and wonderful bits of history that enhanced our visit. If you've never been to San Francisco, this service is a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a municipal transit multi-day passport, covering all modes of public transportation. It will easily pay for itself in a single day. Cable cars and streetcars cover the most-visited locations, and busses get the rest of them. Money well spent.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alvarous
Business
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas, Mexico
Aug 4, 2009

Best location ever!

I didnt spend too much time at the hotel but it looks clean, very nice tv, great bathroom and it fits perfect if you want to have a nice rest and tour SF. Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Rex Hotel is located on Sutter street, just walk down one block and you'll be on Powell, right in front of the cable cars! Union Square is just infront of you and there's a lot do there. I walked around and really it has the perfect location.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suebob
Business
lakota, ia
Jul 26, 2009

My stay at Rex

Complimentary wine and coffee were good extra. Staff friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Jay
Business
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2009

Great location, small room.

The staff was very accommodating with granting early check-in, late check-out and letting us into our stored bags twice once we checked out. They even suggested a great sushi bar 2 blocks away. The rooms were a bit on the small side, but clean and housekeeping was accommodating when we left the room late on both days. However, I wanted to workout and they only offered $15/day "discounted" passes to a gym nearby. That was pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi bar

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mineral Ridge OH
Jul 7, 2009

Quiet ,friendly, accomodating

The hotel allowed us an early checkin after an overnight flight from Hawaii. Very quiet, restaurant attached had very good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkshire England
Jun 10, 2009

Burning up

Bedroom was small and and seemingly underfloor heating in bathroom made it far too hot -- in June. Air conditioning, which may have compensated, was too nosy to use. But the prodigal waste of energy annoyed me -- an inconvenient truth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apollo 12
Business
San Diego, CA
May 30, 2009

The best couple get-away

plays, architectural walking tour, museums, our own walks, visited Tiburon, and Sausilito. Good eats and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John's Grill; restaurants on Belden Lane

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apollo 12
Business
San Diego, CA
May 30, 2009

The best couple get-away

plays, architectural walking tour, museums, our own walks, visited Tiburon, and Sausilito. Good eats and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John's Grill; restaurants on Belden Lane

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cost conscious traveller
Business
Monterey, CA
May 29, 2009

A comfortable, enjoyable experience.

My wife and I spent three restful days at the Hotel Rex during our recent weekend in San Francisco. The hotel was in a great location, just a short (~10 minute) walk from the Powell St. BART station. It had easy access to other public transportation (MUNI) and the attached restaurant was very accommodating for my wife's gluten allergy. All of this for a very reasonable price downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top