$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 20, 2010

Not bad for the price

Helpful staff and great location. Rooms are older but clean. Lobby bar has some nice character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aiea, HI
Oct 4, 2010

great location, great price

Great service. We had a redeye flight and were pretty tired. Luckily, the hotel let us check in really early so we could take a short nap before we headed out. They also held our bags the last day, until we were ready to go to the airport. The rooms and the hotel were clean and well maintained. The rooms were small, but perfectly fine for the 2 of us. Can't beat the location, just a block from Union Square. I like the boutique hotels better than the sterile, cookie cutter chain hotels. For the price and the location, I would highly recommend staying here.They have free wine and music in the lobby at 5pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orcutt, California
Aug 19, 2010

Not Happy

Not good. They did NOT give me my wake up call. I didn't arrive until after midnight and I asked for my wake up call and also called after I got to the room just to make sure....no call the next morning. I was very upset!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
More Noodles
Business
Singapore
Aug 16, 2010

A Charming Bolt-hole in SF

My wife and I spent three nights at Hotel Rex and found it an excellent base for exploring downtown. We are both committed city dwellers so we were not put off by the size of our queen-bed room. There was ample room to unpack two cases and maneuver around each other in the bathroom. We had more than enough closet space, and the hotel promptly brought us extra coat hangers and another bathrobe. The bathrobes were an unexpected amenity, and the soaps and shampoos provided were equally indulgent. We uncovered lots of friendly touches inside Hotel Rex. We also appreciated the free wi-fi internet access and the alarm clock that played and charged our iPods. We ran into plenty of thoughtfulness when we stepped out of the room, too. The staff gave excellent advice about how to buy passes and catch the cable car at the end of the block. They also invited us to enjoy a free glass of wine in the cozy hotel bar before the start of each evening. Even after happy hour, wine was well chosen and modestly priced. Kudos to Hotel Rex for thinking of the little things that make staying in hotels so much fun. We used the hotel as an anchor point for walking around Chinatown, catching the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf, and shopping along Market Street and Union Square. There are plenty of nice locations for breakfast. I did have to walk down to Macy's Mens store for Peet's Coffee (please no more Starburck's), and the cafe attached to the hotel only does an adequate job in the morning. Dinner options in the neighborhood are even better. Plus, several of San Francisco's best art galleries stand just across the road. Hotel Rex makes a good launching pad for enjoying an outstanding city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have dinner at Swell on Bush Street (one block uphill from Hotel Rex). The small but perfectly formed restaurant perches atop the Stockton Tunnel, and they apply that same sensibility to fresh seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilly
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 21, 2010

Hotel Rex

This is a great little boutique hotel; one of the best values for the price. It is close to Union Square, the staff are great, and the rooms are nicely appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to all the best shopping, dining, and a short walk to the Moscone Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewis Rees
Business
London
Jul 17, 2010

A Non-Literary Masterpiece

Very well-presented/decorated hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff. Perfect location for walking to downtown (or other areas, as long as you don't mind going uphill for 3 blocks). Very decent, quiet bar in the hotel lobby. Oh, and Max the resident Pug is an absolute darling. The only downsides? The restaurant and bar are really pretty small and understaffed...as long as you're not in a rush, it's fine though. This place is quiet, relaxed, jazzy, and filled with nice little touches that make your day a little bit easier (free wine in the bar from 5pm to 6pm? Yes please :D).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gary Danko's: the single best restaurant in the city by reputation, and backed up by quality. It may be relatively pricey (cheaper than similarly Michelin-starred places in London however), but it's worth every penny. Definitely book beforehand, as walk-ins are nearly impossible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. George
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 16, 2010

Decent Room, Convenient Location

The decor and furniture is a little older but it is in good condition and, overall, my room was comfortable and pleasant. Like most downtown hotels, especially the older ones, the room was a little small but was adequete for me traveling alone. Extra electrical outlets were a plus. The Rex is located about a block from Union Square and the Powell Street cable car line and is convenient to shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Mar 4, 2010

All Show no go

Very ragged decor with window airconditioner units. spots on the bedding, no duvet just two sheets, shower was just a trickle with plastic shower/tub combination and plastic countertops with stains. Towells were like brillo pads and small. NO LUXURY at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best vietnamese restaurants in the city is within a short walk. Le Colonial is two blocks down Sutter to Taylor, left and one block to the middle of the block right in the alley and there it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F'burg traveler
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Mar 1, 2010

Great price, great location

The staff here is uber friendly and offered assistance whenever I needed it. The rooms are very comfortable, especially the bed, and the decor is very cool. You are definitely not staying in a chain hotel when you stay here. The view from my room was nil, but I didn't really care because I only spent time there at the end of the day to sleep. Union Square, Chinatown, and the Embarcadero all within easy walking distance if you're up for it. Nob Hill is 3 short but very steep blocks up. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nob Hill Cafe - up three blocks and then over a few. Delicious Italian fare - have the butternut squash gnocci.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jan 28, 2010

Convenient Hotel Rex

Hotel Rex is located just off Union Square, a great location for visiting SF. The staff is friendly and helpful and the evening wine reception is great. Rooms are large enough and clean but overall the hotel has a "worn" feel to it. To sum it up, good value and very serviceable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top