$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
Experience San Francisco at the Rex.

The hotel is quaint, well maintained, and in an excellent location. Walk to Union Square. Catch the... See full review

  • Henri La Fox
  • Aug 11, 2014
Excellent attention, excellent location

Right in the heart of Union Square, offering a very friendly staff. The rooms is a little small,... See full review

  • Carlos Avila 619
  • Jun 3, 2014
Hip happenings in 1920s salon style hotel
 Drawing on the literary and artistic past of San Francisco, the Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel takes its name from local poet Kenneth Rexroth, and his artist wife Andree Dutcher provided the inspiration for the new Californian/French fusion bistro Cafe Andree. Recently renovated, this cozy and original hotel blends elements of Provencal style with the feel of an authentic 1920s salon, and hosts jazz nights and literary events. Located amidst fine art galleries at Gallery Row in the heart of San Francisco's Theatre District, the hotel is steps away from the city's best shopping and dining. Valet parking (fees apply) is available at Hotel Rex and pets are allowed.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Hosts regular cultural events
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the property
  • Complimentary wine hour and morning coffee
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Seven floors and 94 guest rooms serve the Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. The building itself is charming and further enhanced by its French inspired decor. Continuing the idiosyncratic house style, the bedrooms are in a striking but tasteful palette of ochre, burnt orange and burgundy, maintaining the Provencal theme, and checked or striped bedding and wall coverings. Individual objects crafted and hand-painted by local artists adorn the rooms. Rooms include beds that have pillow top mattresses, minibars, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries all provided, alongside cable television and pay-per-view movies. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available, and following the million-dollar renovation of Hotel Rex, they now provide complimentary hotel-wide wireless Internet access.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1 mi/1.5 km)
Policies and fees

Valet parking is $42 USD per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Each guest room is decorated with custom wall coverings, fresh fabrics, hand-painted lampshades and the work of local artisans. They include new pillow top mattresses, a two-line cordless phone with voicemail, dataport, cable TV, pay-per-view movies, CD player, honor bar, mini-refrigerator, writing desk, bathrobe, iron and board, electronic lock. ADA compliant and non-smoking rooms are available upon request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Corporate meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, showers, brunches, literary events and private parties have all been hosted at the Hotel Rex. With state-of-the-art lighting, the Hotel Rex can create different moods, from professional to intimate and romantic. Three areas are available to host a special event or meeting.

Dining

Cafe Andree
Open for Breakfast, Dinner, and Weekend Brunch.
Lobby Bar
The lobby bar opens nightly at 5pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cyferguson
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Rex was a home away from home...

We traveled to San Francisco to beat the Texas heatwave (it was over 108 degrees in Texas while we were in San Francisco!) and also to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. We just enjoyed the city, spent a day driving up to Yosemite, another day in Bodega Bay, four days in San Francisco proper. We really enjoyed the quaint atmosphere of the Hotel Rex. We especially loved the friendly staff, including [...] at the front desk who brought his sweet little pug (Maximo) to work every day. Max would sit on his little pillow and greet everyone like a little hotel mascot. The hotel was quaint, clean and the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We loved the location near Union Square, restaurants and shops everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwood, MA
Jul 17, 2011

Classic & Timeless

The Hotel Rex felt a little like Woody Allen's latest film, "Midnight in Paris," in that it's atmosphere was timeless, welcoming, and seemed to be of another era. The lobby/library area is its main charm and the gentleman behind the bar is the most gracious host and sir-mix-a-lot I've encountered in many-a-year. The concierge and staff were incredibly helpful and uniformly accurate in their recommendations. A true representation of the friendly charms of San Francisco. The rooms for me and my friends were well-appointed, clean, and well maintained, and the service staff respectful of a traveler's needs. Superp experience all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is central to everything--cable cars, great restaurants, the art in Union Square itself, and is within a hearty walking distance from the ballpark and museuems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal Qc
Jun 5, 2011

ok

excellent location, gorgeous pug - but small room with a tiny window and view of the backyard. Felt cheapish and a bit sad - maybe just for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
May 17, 2011

back on time

Friendly staff, Clean and comfortable room, Nice atmosphere, and complimentary drink at check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

China Town and Little Italy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los Angeles
Feb 16, 2011

Rex Rules

Went to SF for Valentine's Day. Hotel Rex is in a great location (Union Square) near everything we wanted to be near. Plenty of great restaurants, near tons of shopping, one block from from catching a cable car. Nice staff, let us check in very late. Room was small but clean, quiet, and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetsetters
Business
Lincoln
Jan 10, 2011

Not to our taste

The hotel was not to our taste, too "quaint", the lounge area, was dark and when busy there was not enough seating, one night we had to sit across from reception. The was hardly any staff, we only saw one receptionist on duty, there was no doorman, the one lift was so small and only just took us two and three cases.The restuarant was closed completely and for the forseeable future, so breakfast was set up in the lounge area. Our room was small and the Air conditioning was so noisy we had to switch it off, we were moved to another room and it wasnt much better plus we had the noise from the air con units on the roof below our window. I appreciate it was a themed hotel, but give us a bright modern one. On the plus side the staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant. The free glass of wine served by [...] the charming barman was a treat, but only if you could get a soft chair to sit in and not a wooden dining chair. Believe me you need comfort when you have been out all day in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 7day passport ($26) each ticket from the tourist booth at the lower end of Powell St, it allows you to travel on the trams, cable cars and muni buses all over the city. We took the bus to Golden Gate bridge to allow us to walk over it, the experience was wonderful took us about 40mins this included photo stops, but be warned there is nothing but toilet facilities the other side, no cafe, no buses and we ended up walking another 5 miles into Sausalito!!!, needless to say we caught the ferry back, the best $10 each we ever spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 26, 2010

Love the Rex!

Loved the location, close to everything. Staff was incredibly helpful. Would have liked something to eat with my coffee in the morning, but a very minor detail. We walked to Union Square, looked in the shops, walked down to Market St. and caught a vintage street car. Lots of great restaurants, we walked everywhere. Would absolutly stay here again, already planning our next trip to SF & the Rex will be a part of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino, Italian restaurant, very good. Ask at the front desk for restaurants withing walking distance, they're all good! Don't forget to have the complimentary glass of wine in the bar, from 5-6.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orient Express
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Oct 27, 2010

Too Loud

The room was very small, but it was clean and perfectly fine for my purposes. The BIG problem was that my room (#215) was on the second floor and faced a street or an alley. The windows apparently had no sound proofing ability as the noise from the street could be heard clearly all night long, which included periodic, very noisy dumpster pick-ups between 2:30 and 5:30 am. One of the worst night's sleep I have had when I was actually in a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurants in the Union Square area are more like national chains because the rent in the area is so high. Hop in a cab and go to the Mission or one of the other neighborhoods and you'll find much better, more affordable restaurants and bistros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 20, 2010

Not bad for the price

Helpful staff and great location. Rooms are older but clean. Lobby bar has some nice character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aiea, HI
Oct 4, 2010

great location, great price

Great service. We had a redeye flight and were pretty tired. Luckily, the hotel let us check in really early so we could take a short nap before we headed out. They also held our bags the last day, until we were ready to go to the airport. The rooms and the hotel were clean and well maintained. The rooms were small, but perfectly fine for the 2 of us. Can't beat the location, just a block from Union Square. I like the boutique hotels better than the sterile, cookie cutter chain hotels. For the price and the location, I would highly recommend staying here.They have free wine and music in the lobby at 5pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top