$148 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Great Location to everywhere you want to reach in SF

It is very cool location, you can reach Chinatown, piers, union square by foot. Great...I have a... See full review

  • Tomato Franco
  • Feb 12, 2013
New Years

Love the vintage feel of this hotel, perfect location for us to go everywhere we wanted to go.... See full review

  • Joanne KC
  • Jan 3, 2014
Hip happenings in 1920s salon style hotel
 

Drawing on the literary and artistic past of San Francisco, the Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel takes its name from local poet Kenneth Rexroth, and his artist wife Andree Dutcher provided the inspiration for the new Californian/French fusion bistro Cafe Andree. Recently renovated, this cozy and original hotel blends elements of Provencal style with the feel of an authentic 1920s salon, and hosts jazz nights and literary events. Valet parking is available at Hotel Rex and pets are allowed (fees apply).

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Hosts regular cultural events
  • Bang in the heart of vibrant shopping district
  • Features paintings and murals by local artisans and a stunning collection of antique books and exotic objets d'art
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms
 

Seven floors and 94 guest rooms serve the Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel. The building itself is charming and further enhanced by its French inspired decor. Continuing the idiosyncratic house style, the bedrooms are in a striking but tasteful palette of ochre, burnt orange and burgundy, maintaining the Provencal theme, and checked or striped bedding and wall coverings. Individual objects crafted and hand-painted by local artists adorn the rooms. Rooms include beds that have pillow top mattresses, minibars, bathrobes and complimentary toiletries all provided, alongside cable television and pay-per-view movies. Smoking and nonsmoking rooms are available, and following the million-dollar renovation of Hotel Rex, they now provide wireless Internet access (free in communal areas).

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Yerba Buena Gardens (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1 mi/1.5 km)
Policies and fees

  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Each guest room is decorated with custom wall coverings, fresh fabrics, hand-painted lampshades and the work of local artisans. They include new pillow top mattresses, a two-line cordless phone with voicemail, dataport, cable TV, pay-per-view movies, CD player, honor bar, mini-refrigerator, writing desk, bathrobe, iron and board, electronic lock. ADA compliant and non-smoking rooms are available upon request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4098
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
SFO, OAK, SJC
Area description
The Hotel Rex is located in the heart of the theater district and one block away from Union Square, the center of the City's shopping district. The hotel is walking distance to Saks Fifth Avenue, Macy's, Tiffany, Nordstrom, several other fashionable boutiques, art galleries, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens and the Museum of Modern Art. The Powell Street Cable Car line is one block away and travels to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and North Beach.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Corporate meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, showers, brunches, literary events and private parties have all been hosted at the Hotel Rex. With state-of-the-art lighting, the Hotel Rex can create different moods, from professional to intimate and romantic. Three areas are available to host a special event or meeting.

Dining

Cafe Andree
Open for Breakfast, Dinner, and Weekend Brunch.
Lobby Bar
The lobby bar opens nightly at 5pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Dec 26, 2010

Love the Rex!

Loved the location, close to everything. Staff was incredibly helpful. Would have liked something to eat with my coffee in the morning, but a very minor detail. We walked to Union Square, looked in the shops, walked down to Market St. and caught a vintage street car. Lots of great restaurants, we walked everywhere. Would absolutly stay here again, already planning our next trip to SF & the Rex will be a part of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino, Italian restaurant, very good. Ask at the front desk for restaurants withing walking distance, they're all good! Don't forget to have the complimentary glass of wine in the bar, from 5-6.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Orient Express
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Oct 27, 2010

Too Loud

The room was very small, but it was clean and perfectly fine for my purposes. The BIG problem was that my room (#215) was on the second floor and faced a street or an alley. The windows apparently had no sound proofing ability as the noise from the street could be heard clearly all night long, which included periodic, very noisy dumpster pick-ups between 2:30 and 5:30 am. One of the worst night's sleep I have had when I was actually in a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurants in the Union Square area are more like national chains because the rent in the area is so high. Hop in a cab and go to the Mission or one of the other neighborhoods and you'll find much better, more affordable restaurants and bistros.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 20, 2010

Not bad for the price

Helpful staff and great location. Rooms are older but clean. Lobby bar has some nice character.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Aiea, HI
Oct 4, 2010

great location, great price

Great service. We had a redeye flight and were pretty tired. Luckily, the hotel let us check in really early so we could take a short nap before we headed out. They also held our bags the last day, until we were ready to go to the airport. The rooms and the hotel were clean and well maintained. The rooms were small, but perfectly fine for the 2 of us. Can't beat the location, just a block from Union Square. I like the boutique hotels better than the sterile, cookie cutter chain hotels. For the price and the location, I would highly recommend staying here.They have free wine and music in the lobby at 5pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Orcutt, California
Aug 19, 2010

Not Happy

Not good. They did NOT give me my wake up call. I didn't arrive until after midnight and I asked for my wake up call and also called after I got to the room just to make sure....no call the next morning. I was very upset!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
More Noodles
Singapore
Aug 16, 2010

A Charming Bolt-hole in SF

My wife and I spent three nights at Hotel Rex and found it an excellent base for exploring downtown. We are both committed city dwellers so we were not put off by the size of our queen-bed room. There was ample room to unpack two cases and maneuver around each other in the bathroom. We had more than enough closet space, and the hotel promptly brought us extra coat hangers and another bathrobe. The bathrobes were an unexpected amenity, and the soaps and shampoos provided were equally indulgent. We uncovered lots of friendly touches inside Hotel Rex. We also appreciated the free wi-fi internet access and the alarm clock that played and charged our iPods. We ran into plenty of thoughtfulness when we stepped out of the room, too. The staff gave excellent advice about how to buy passes and catch the cable car at the end of the block. They also invited us to enjoy a free glass of wine in the cozy hotel bar before the start of each evening. Even after happy hour, wine was well chosen and modestly priced. Kudos to Hotel Rex for thinking of the little things that make staying in hotels so much fun. We used the hotel as an anchor point for walking around Chinatown, catching the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf, and shopping along Market Street and Union Square. There are plenty of nice locations for breakfast. I did have to walk down to Macy's Mens store for Peet's Coffee (please no more Starburck's), and the cafe attached to the hotel only does an adequate job in the morning. Dinner options in the neighborhood are even better. Plus, several of San Francisco's best art galleries stand just across the road. Hotel Rex makes a good launching pad for enjoying an outstanding city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have dinner at Swell on Bush Street (one block uphill from Hotel Rex). The small but perfectly formed restaurant perches atop the Stockton Tunnel, and they apply that same sensibility to fresh seafood.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Hilly
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 21, 2010

Hotel Rex

This is a great little boutique hotel; one of the best values for the price. It is close to Union Square, the staff are great, and the rooms are nicely appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to all the best shopping, dining, and a short walk to the Moscone Center.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Lewis Rees
London
Jul 17, 2010

A Non-Literary Masterpiece

Very well-presented/decorated hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff. Perfect location for walking to downtown (or other areas, as long as you don't mind going uphill for 3 blocks). Very decent, quiet bar in the hotel lobby. Oh, and Max the resident Pug is an absolute darling. The only downsides? The restaurant and bar are really pretty small and understaffed...as long as you're not in a rush, it's fine though. This place is quiet, relaxed, jazzy, and filled with nice little touches that make your day a little bit easier (free wine in the bar from 5pm to 6pm? Yes please :D).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Gary Danko's: the single best restaurant in the city by reputation, and backed up by quality. It may be relatively pricey (cheaper than similarly Michelin-starred places in London however), but it's worth every penny. Definitely book beforehand, as walk-ins are nearly impossible.

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Mr. George
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 16, 2010

Decent Room, Convenient Location

The decor and furniture is a little older but it is in good condition and, overall, my room was comfortable and pleasant. Like most downtown hotels, especially the older ones, the room was a little small but was adequete for me traveling alone. Extra electrical outlets were a plus. The Rex is located about a block from Union Square and the Powell Street cable car line and is convenient to shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Mar 4, 2010

All Show no go

Very ragged decor with window airconditioner units. spots on the bedding, no duvet just two sheets, shower was just a trickle with plastic shower/tub combination and plastic countertops with stains. Towells were like brillo pads and small. NO LUXURY at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best vietnamese restaurants in the city is within a short walk. Le Colonial is two blocks down Sutter to Taylor, left and one block to the middle of the block right in the alley and there it is.

Back to menu Return to top