$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebCur
Business
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Oct 24, 2011

Fun mini vacation

We really enjoyed Hotel Rex. The staff were fantastic. Very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was small but clean and fairly quiet. The location was awesome! We will be back for sure. Thanks Hotel Rex!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Biscuits and Blues! Great Blues club ony a 5 minute walk away....really enjoyed the show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
N. ID and not impressed
Business
Sandpoint, ID, USA
Sep 26, 2011

REX is a no go!

Friendly staff, but horribly dirty hotel, with small rooms uncomfortable beds and a bad view through a filthy window. Not a "boutique" hotel just small, old and run down. We didnt even stay the night once we saw the room and the bed. Got a room elsewhere and never looked back, I would not recommend this to anyone with a nose or eyes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cyferguson
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Rex was a home away from home...

We traveled to San Francisco to beat the Texas heatwave (it was over 108 degrees in Texas while we were in San Francisco!) and also to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. We just enjoyed the city, spent a day driving up to Yosemite, another day in Bodega Bay, four days in San Francisco proper. We really enjoyed the quaint atmosphere of the Hotel Rex. We especially loved the friendly staff, including [...] at the front desk who brought his sweet little pug (Maximo) to work every day. Max would sit on his little pillow and greet everyone like a little hotel mascot. The hotel was quaint, clean and the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We loved the location near Union Square, restaurants and shops everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwood, MA
Jul 17, 2011

Classic & Timeless

The Hotel Rex felt a little like Woody Allen's latest film, "Midnight in Paris," in that it's atmosphere was timeless, welcoming, and seemed to be of another era. The lobby/library area is its main charm and the gentleman behind the bar is the most gracious host and sir-mix-a-lot I've encountered in many-a-year. The concierge and staff were incredibly helpful and uniformly accurate in their recommendations. A true representation of the friendly charms of San Francisco. The rooms for me and my friends were well-appointed, clean, and well maintained, and the service staff respectful of a traveler's needs. Superp experience all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is central to everything--cable cars, great restaurants, the art in Union Square itself, and is within a hearty walking distance from the ballpark and museuems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal Qc
Jun 5, 2011

ok

excellent location, gorgeous pug - but small room with a tiny window and view of the backyard. Felt cheapish and a bit sad - maybe just for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
May 17, 2011

back on time

Friendly staff, Clean and comfortable room, Nice atmosphere, and complimentary drink at check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

China Town and Little Italy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los Angeles
Feb 16, 2011

Rex Rules

Went to SF for Valentine's Day. Hotel Rex is in a great location (Union Square) near everything we wanted to be near. Plenty of great restaurants, near tons of shopping, one block from from catching a cable car. Nice staff, let us check in very late. Room was small but clean, quiet, and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetsetters
Business
Lincoln
Jan 10, 2011

Not to our taste

The hotel was not to our taste, too "quaint", the lounge area, was dark and when busy there was not enough seating, one night we had to sit across from reception. The was hardly any staff, we only saw one receptionist on duty, there was no doorman, the one lift was so small and only just took us two and three cases.The restuarant was closed completely and for the forseeable future, so breakfast was set up in the lounge area. Our room was small and the Air conditioning was so noisy we had to switch it off, we were moved to another room and it wasnt much better plus we had the noise from the air con units on the roof below our window. I appreciate it was a themed hotel, but give us a bright modern one. On the plus side the staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant. The free glass of wine served by [...] the charming barman was a treat, but only if you could get a soft chair to sit in and not a wooden dining chair. Believe me you need comfort when you have been out all day in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 7day passport ($26) each ticket from the tourist booth at the lower end of Powell St, it allows you to travel on the trams, cable cars and muni buses all over the city. We took the bus to Golden Gate bridge to allow us to walk over it, the experience was wonderful took us about 40mins this included photo stops, but be warned there is nothing but toilet facilities the other side, no cafe, no buses and we ended up walking another 5 miles into Sausalito!!!, needless to say we caught the ferry back, the best $10 each we ever spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetsetters
Business
Lincoln
Jan 10, 2011

Not to our taste

The hotel was not to our taste, too "quaint", the lounge area, was dark and when busy there was not enough seating, one night we had to sit across from reception. The was hardly any staff, we only saw one receptionist on duty, there was no doorman, the one lift was so small and only just took us two and three cases.The restuarant was closed completely and for the forseeable future, so breakfast was set up in the lounge area. Our room was small and the Air conditioning was so noisy we had to switch it off, we were moved to another room and it wasnt much better plus we had the noise from the air con units on the roof below our window. I appreciate it was a themed hotel, but give us a bright modern one. On the plus side the staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant. The free glass of wine served by [...] the charming barman was a treat, but only if you could get a soft chair to sit in and not a wooden dining chair. Believe me you need comfort when you have been out all day in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 7day passport ($26) each ticket from the tourist booth at the lower end of Powell St, it allows you to travel on the trams, cable cars and muni buses all over the city. We took the bus to Golden Gate bridge to allow us to walk over it, the experience was wonderful took us about 40mins this included photo stops, but be warned there is nothing but toilet facilities the other side, no cafe, no buses and we ended up walking another 5 miles into Sausalito!!!, needless to say we caught the ferry back, the best $10 each we ever spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 26, 2010

Love the Rex!

Loved the location, close to everything. Staff was incredibly helpful. Would have liked something to eat with my coffee in the morning, but a very minor detail. We walked to Union Square, looked in the shops, walked down to Market St. and caught a vintage street car. Lots of great restaurants, we walked everywhere. Would absolutly stay here again, already planning our next trip to SF & the Rex will be a part of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino, Italian restaurant, very good. Ask at the front desk for restaurants withing walking distance, they're all good! Don't forget to have the complimentary glass of wine in the bar, from 5-6.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top