$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 562 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UUUUU
Business
New York, NY
Mar 30, 2013

A pleasant experience

Very nice hotel. Very good restaurant. Conveniently located in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomato Franco
Business
China
Feb 12, 2013

Great Location to everywhere you want to reach in SF

It is very cool location, you can reach Chinatown, piers, union square by foot. Great...I have a very nice 2 days stay here,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beorn
Business
Potomac, Maryland
Nov 20, 2012

We really got gouged at the Hotel Rex

The Rex is a somewhat charming older theme hotel in a great San Francisco location. We did not know it at the time but we were completely ripped off by this hotel. We were charged $559/night for a deluxe queen room with an air shaft view that normally rents for $169. It was hrdly deluxe -- so small you could barely unpack or turn around. For $169 it's OK if you like somewhat tired hotels, but not at that kind of premium. We do not patronize any establishment that engages in price gouging so will not be going back at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sagemom2
Business
Tuolumne, CA
Oct 15, 2012

Awesome customer service!

My husband and I along with our 4 year old stayed here one night. I loved the proximity to Union Square, which is why I picked it, but even better was the extremely friendly and helpful staff. From restaurant recommendations to running up a bucket of ice, they were quick to help out with whatever we needed. The valet service was convenient, although pricey. There is a tax on top of the service, so the actual charge was $45.60. A bit much for one night. The hotel itself is very nice and my husband was pleased, which is important. Overall, a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out a little early for ease finding a table. From 5:30 to 6:00 you can walk right in many restaurants, but wait until 6:30 and the wait time increases a lot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeaPete
Business
Seattle
Sep 30, 2012

Great funky hotel in a good location.

I would stay here in a heartbeat due to the staff who from arriving to leaving were unfailingly pleasant and very helpful which was very welcome when being in a strange new city. The hotel is pleasantly funky; the bar serves as the restaurant and the food was quite good. They served guests a glass of complementary wine which was very good. Room was quite comfy. Nicely located on Sutter and Powell so you can easily get on a cable car or walk to Chinatown. Many restaurants and shops nearby. Again, I can't say enough nice things about the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEizabeth
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 18, 2012

Great San Francisco Experience

Hotel Rex is a great place to stay if you want to be in the middle of the action. It is close to Union Square, just off the cable car route and near many restaurants. Make sure to get a king size bed, because our queen was small, but it made us feel like we lived there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Restaurants: Fish and Farm The Grand Cafe Per Diem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad S
Business
Spokane, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Great little spot right downtown

Like most downtown hotels the rooms are small but the place has great character. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the location is great. Cablecar stop is right on the corner, BART is a short walk down Powell, and there are multiple ZipCar lots within a few blocks. Library bar is pretty cool and was busy every evening. Plenty of great spots to eat within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jpbarri
Business
Lakewood, CO
Nov 6, 2011

A gem right in the middle of everything

I love old, boutique hotels! The Rex is close to Chinatown, the theater, Union Square shopping, the financial district and convention hotels. The staff is friendly, the hotel policies are green and the bar is cozy. Guests receive a complementary glass of wine each evening and a $5 voucher for every day the maids don't have to clean your room. One of my San Francisco favorites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check to see what's playing at the American Conservatory Theater (ACT). The venue is a complete surprise for anyone who has only seen the building from the outside. Spectacular!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wigator
Business
madison,wi
Oct 29, 2011

great trip

great location, not at a toursity location but great safe area could walk from there anyplace, or take public transportation. great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebCur
Business
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Oct 27, 2011

4 day getaway

We were very happy with our hotel. The staff were fabulous and the location was great! We will definitely go back as San Fran is a great city, with friendly people, lots of energy and tons of things to do. Thank you staff at Hotel Rex for being so friendly and helpful......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biscuits and Blues club very close to Hotel Rex was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top