$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
415 reviews
Comfortable Room and Outstanding Service

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We requested a refrigerator and extra chair and received... See full review

  • D and P S
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great for a girls trip!

Our stay at Hotel Nikko was wonderful! All of the hotel staff were very nice and extremely helpful,... See full review

  • CristyG
  • Jul 24, 2014
Sophistication with an Asian flair and an indoor pool near Union Square

Hotel Nikko feels more like Hong Kong than San Francisco. The lobby is spacious, featuring white marble and rooms are minimalist in design. The on-site restaurant, Anzu, serves up Asian food with a Japanese focus. Distances at the on-site pool are measured in meters. Just steps from Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, the Nikko is perfectly located for business travelers in town for conventions. At the same time, it is comfortable for families accustomed to sophisticated luxury. 

Highlights
  • Live jazz at Feinstein's at the Nikko nightclub
  • A short walk from the shops and restaurants of Union Square
  • Spacious fifth-floor indoor pool
  • Sushi and other Asian-inspired fare available at on-site restaurant Anzu
Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Policies and Fees

  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (415)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 415
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KY
New Orleans, LA
Nov 19, 2009

Awful and Dirty Hotel

Other than the location, this hotel was awful and my room was not very clean at all! When I first arrived, I had to request fresh linens because the sheets on my bed had hair on them. The furniture was old, tatered and worn and looked like something someone threw out for the trash on the curb. The carpet and the curtains were stained and there were scuff marks all over the walls. Even the lamp shade had stains. I took pictures and emailed them to management. Even they could not deny the poor condition of the room. The only good thing about Hotel Nikko is, it's in walking distance of everything - great shopping, good restaurants etc. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. If I'm ever in the San Fran area again, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even the great location of the hotel is not worth the stay. It was way too dirty for the price.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YJO1717
Concord, CA
Sep 27, 2011

One night in San Fran

The location of the hotel is great because it is in walking distance to just about everything but that was the only real up side to the hotel. The staff wasn't helpful nor were they all that friendly and the bar which is supposed to open at 2:00PM was dark and without any sign of staff and I went down to grab a glass of wine at 2:30PM! Oh and by the way, I was told by the concierge that the bar was open!!! Too expensive for no service at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YJO1717
Concord, CA
Sep 27, 2011

One night in San Fran

The location of the hotel is great because it is in walking distance to just about everything but that was the only real up side to the hotel. The staff wasn't helpful nor were they all that friendly and the bar which is supposed to open at 2:00PM was dark and without any sign of staff and I went down to grab a glass of wine at 2:30PM! Oh and by the way, I was told by the concierge that the bar was open!!! Too expensive for no service at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ari Gato
West Hollywood, CA
Jan 2, 2010

SF overnight

Thought I got a good rate [...] ($114)...got to the Hotel & I was immediately charged $51.00 for overnight parking & then an additional $10.00 to use the Hotel Fitness Center which really was dismal in the form of equipment. The parking charge was excessive in my mind and I spoke to other guests who were NOT charged to use the fitness center...[...]. Then to top it off my room was next to a loud mother and child who were running back and forth & jumping on beds & screaming for two hours (11 PM - 1PM); the management finally came and resolved the situation after my third phone call. Great location, some staff were exceptional some were pretty rude...not sure I would stay there again especially since the parking & gym rate were equal to 50% of the room rate. I'm all for making a profit, but an honest profit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2009

Convenient Location, Average Hotel

I stayed at Hotel Nikko for a short 4 night/ 5 day vacation. The location was good, just three blocks from the Powell/Market transit hub where you can pick up cable car lines, subway, F Line streetcar, and BART to and from the airport. The lobby was quite beautiful with sweeping ceilings, elegant furniture, and carrera marble floors. The room, however, certainly lived up to its name of "Petite Queen", just enough room for one person but still rather tight. The furniture and fixtures were newish but the ventilation system was spastic at best and left the room stale. The windows did not open and I had to set the temperature to 60F to get any kind of air moving. There was no room in the minibar for personal items, and moving anything stocked AUTOMATICALLY triggers a sale. I called housekeeping for fridge space; after two calls and 45 mins they brought me a beat up tiny fridge that didn't work and smelled like feet. I ended up putting my stuff on ice as best I could. Hotel Nikko wasn't awful but if I were to travel to San Francisco again I wouldn't stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2009

Convenient Location, Average Hotel

I stayed at Hotel Nikko for a short 4 night/ 5 day vacation. The location was good, just three blocks from the Powell/Market transit hub where you can pick up cable car lines, subway, F Line streetcar, and BART to and from the airport. The lobby was quite beautiful with sweeping ceilings, elegant furniture, and carrera marble floors. The room, however, certainly lived up to its name of "Petite Queen", just enough room for one person but still rather tight. The furniture and fixtures were newish but the ventilation system was spastic at best and left the room stale. The windows did not open and I had to set the temperature to 60F to get any kind of air moving. There was no room in the minibar for personal items, and moving anything stocked AUTOMATICALLY triggers a sale. I called housekeeping for fridge space; after two calls and 45 mins they brought me a beat up tiny fridge that didn't work and smelled like feet. I ended up putting my stuff on ice as best I could. Hotel Nikko wasn't awful but if I were to travel to San Francisco again I wouldn't stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dolce B
San Ramon
Jan 29, 2014

Room is small

Spent New Year's Eve here. The room I got was smaller than I expected. Aside from that, staying here was great because of the location, security and convenience (bar and restos, Starbucks in the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Thai restaurant not far from here.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ari Gato
West Hollywood, CA
Jan 2, 2010

SF overnight

Thought I got a good rate [...] ($114)...got to the Hotel & I was immediately charged $51.00 for overnight parking & then an additional $10.00 to use the Hotel Fitness Center which really was dismal in the form of equipment. The parking charge was excessive in my mind and I spoke to other guests who were NOT charged to use the fitness center...[...]. Then to top it off my room was next to a loud mother and child who were running back and forth & jumping on beds & screaming for two hours (11 PM - 1PM); the management finally came and resolved the situation after my third phone call. Great location, some staff were exceptional some were pretty rude...not sure I would stay there again especially since the parking & gym rate were equal to 50% of the room rate. I'm all for making a profit, but an honest profit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelTraveler
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Hotel Nikko March 2013

Very nice hotel in downtown San Francisco by Union Square. I stayed on the 8th floor. High pressure flushing toilets got annoying ... especially when flushed by other residents at 5am. Seemingly every morning between 6-7am, there was loud banging outside in the street. Wished the rooms would've had microwaves, but they don't. I was really in the room for sleeping for the most part and it wasn't the quietest. If you want a good location, you have to sacrifice some of the finer things. It was still a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl Power Weekend
Denver, CO
Dec 31, 2013

Fabulous Girl Getaway Weekend!

Great room and great staff! Excellent location to shopping and site seeing. Would highly recommed and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top