$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
414 reviews
Comfortable Room and Outstanding Service

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We requested a refrigerator and extra chair and received... See full review

  • D and P S
  • Jul 25, 2014
Great for a girls trip!

Our stay at Hotel Nikko was wonderful! All of the hotel staff were very nice and extremely helpful,... See full review

  • CristyG
  • Jul 24, 2014
Sophistication with an Asian flair and an indoor pool near Union Square

Hotel Nikko feels more like Hong Kong than San Francisco. The lobby is spacious, featuring white marble and rooms are minimalist in design. The on-site restaurant, Anzu, serves up Asian food with a Japanese focus. Distances at the on-site pool are measured in meters. Just steps from Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, the Nikko is perfectly located for business travelers in town for conventions. At the same time, it is comfortable for families accustomed to sophisticated luxury. 

Highlights
  • Live jazz at Feinstein's at the Nikko nightclub
  • A short walk from the shops and restaurants of Union Square
  • Spacious fifth-floor indoor pool
  • Sushi and other Asian-inspired fare available at on-site restaurant Anzu
Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Policies and Fees

  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (414)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 414
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Beware hidden charges!

I was there to celebrate and ended up wanting to go home! I am a local person to the Bay and know the city very well. I try and stay at different hotels on each visit but after this one I will be sticking with my proven favorites. There is a parking fee of $50.00 which would have been no issue if the rate would have been disclosed up front. After checking in I went down to move my car accross the street for a lower parking charge and was told my charge would be $10.00. I was not even there for 10 minutes! Frustraited I went back up to the front desk to see if they could waive the fee and they indicated they were not sure and would give me a call back. I went up to my room and it had intoxicating paint fumes. I was debating on staying if I could get the window open but they are sealed shut. So back down to the lobby to switch rooms. I asked if I could have 2 double beds instead of the 1 bed I had. It was an additional $40.00. I was dissapointed because I have always been able to choose between a single or double beds with no charges. I paid and went up to the room. I changed into my bathing suit to go swimming and went down to the 5th floor. My key did not work as there is an additional $10.00 fee to use the pool. I had no issue with the money but was frustraited by having to go down to the lobby in my swimming attire to have the key coded for the pool. Then back up to the pool. Lastly since I did not receive a call back about the parking fee I assumed the hotel was going to waive it for all the hassle but no. The total unexpected fees to stay at this hotel cost me $100.00!!!!!! I will never stay there agian based on customer service not price. I am a rational person and understand fees but basic customer service is to inform/communicate with your customers. There are many other nice hotels in the city. This one is 80's decor and service of a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Beware hidden charges!

I was there to celebrate and ended up wanting to go home! I am a local person to the Bay and know the city very well. I try and stay at different hotels on each visit but after this one I will be sticking with my proven favorites. There is a parking fee of $50.00 which would have been no issue if the rate would have been disclosed up front. After checking in I went down to move my car accross the street for a lower parking charge and was told my charge would be $10.00. I was not even there for 10 minutes! Frustraited I went back up to the front desk to see if they could waive the fee and they indicated they were not sure and would give me a call back. I went up to my room and it had intoxicating paint fumes. I was debating on staying if I could get the window open but they are sealed shut. So back down to the lobby to switch rooms. I asked if I could have 2 double beds instead of the 1 bed I had. It was an additional $40.00. I was dissapointed because I have always been able to choose between a single or double beds with no charges. I paid and went up to the room. I changed into my bathing suit to go swimming and went down to the 5th floor. My key did not work as there is an additional $10.00 fee to use the pool. I had no issue with the money but was frustraited by having to go down to the lobby in my swimming attire to have the key coded for the pool. Then back up to the pool. Lastly since I did not receive a call back about the parking fee I assumed the hotel was going to waive it for all the hassle but no. The total unexpected fees to stay at this hotel cost me $100.00!!!!!! I will never stay there agian based on customer service not price. I am a rational person and understand fees but basic customer service is to inform/communicate with your customers. There are many other nice hotels in the city. This one is 80's decor and service of a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wendell, Ma
Aug 23, 2009

great value, great help with questions

The time we spent at your hotel was wonderful. It is centrally located - very close to dining, historic and shopping venues. S.F. is a wonderful city, very easy to get around and so many great things to do. We asked for dining suggestions almost daily and were very pleased with our experiences. I would suggest your hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car for one day and got to see so many things. We had thought of doing a tour but it was less expensive to rent the car and we had a blast!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wendell, Ma
Aug 23, 2009

great value, great help with questions

The time we spent at your hotel was wonderful. It is centrally located - very close to dining, historic and shopping venues. S.F. is a wonderful city, very easy to get around and so many great things to do. We asked for dining suggestions almost daily and were very pleased with our experiences. I would suggest your hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car for one day and got to see so many things. We had thought of doing a tour but it was less expensive to rent the car and we had a blast!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not so lucky Liz
South San Francisco
Jan 22, 2013

unforseen charges

Hotel was beautiful and yes, in the heart of SF. I often stay at lovely hotels. It was a first that while checking in... they offered me a complimentary glass of wine. The stem glasses were displayed beautifully behind the counter. Nice touch!! *This helped with the sting of multiple unexpected charges of: $50- for daily parking, $20- daily for the use of the pool, and $16- for daily use of the internet. Movies averaged $20- too. Hmmm.... Relaxing was definately harder because I'd suddenly blown my budget! Not cool- who charges to use the pool?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, TX
Aug 10, 2009

To many hidden charges

We were charged for everything at the Hotel Nikko. If we wanted to use the pool, we had to pay for a 10 dollar fee. If we wanted to use the internet we had to pay a fee. Parking our rental car for the night cost us 45 dollars. We thought that internet and access to the pool was part of the base package and felt ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Apr 22, 2009

great location and clean

Great location and clean. But rather go to intercontinental for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Espetus - brazilian steakhouse is a must.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, TX
Aug 10, 2009

To many hidden charges

We were charged for everything at the Hotel Nikko. If we wanted to use the pool, we had to pay for a 10 dollar fee. If we wanted to use the internet we had to pay a fee. Parking our rental car for the night cost us 45 dollars. We thought that internet and access to the pool was part of the base package and felt ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top