$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
332 reviews
Great get away

Hubby and I had a road trip without the kids and stayed here for one night.. Only regret was wee... See full review

  • Richard H.
  • Sep 1, 2015
Quiet, comfortable stay

We found the hotel to be very relaxing. The lobby was not a busy, loud place as most hotels of this... See full review

  • Rodney S.
  • Aug 27, 2015

Centrally located near Union Square, Hotel Nikko San Francisco is a modern getaway in a historic location. If the weather is a bit misty, you can relax in the fifth-story heated pool in the hotel's glassed-in solarium. Let the stress of the day melt away in comfortable loungers with a drink in your hand and some yummy food to munch on. Unique to Nikko is Feinstein's, an on-site nightclub that's run in part by Grammy-winning entertainer Michael Feinstein. Guests can enjoy nightly shows that range from Broadway to cabaret, all of which are just an elevator ride away from your room.

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Property features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Highlights

The elegant Restaurant Anzu is considered one of San Francisco's best restaurants. All of the food is made with local ingredients to support a sustainable market, and chefs create tasty meals with a gourmet Asian flair. Their full bar hosts a 280 bottle wine list and an extensive offering of specialty cocktails and martinis. Start your day at Anzu with a hearty breakfast buffet and end it with a romantic, fine dining experience. If you wind up feeling a little bit bloated after your gourmet cuisine, head up to the Health Club for a dry sauna or refreshing steam in the steam room. Book ahead of time for a repairing Shiatsu massage at this spa-like fitness center.

Nearby attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Policies
  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.
  • The pool is undergoing exterior refurbishments until 1 Oct 2015.
  • The pool will be closed on 13 Oct 2015 until 1 Feb 2016 for further renovations. Upon pool closure on October, health club fee will be reduced from $25 USD to $15 USD.
  • The entire health club will be closed on 28 Dec 2015 until 1 Feb 2016.

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★★
$209
3.9 / 5 485 reviews
★★★★
$229
4.1 / 5 92 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.2 / 5 224 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.2 / 5 197 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 295 reviews

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 332
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jose, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Beware hidden charges!

I was there to celebrate and ended up wanting to go home! I am a local person to the Bay and know the city very well. I try and stay at different hotels on each visit but after this one I will be sticking with my proven favorites. There is a parking fee of $50.00 which would have been no issue if the rate would have been disclosed up front. After checking in I went down to move my car accross the street for a lower parking charge and was told my charge would be $10.00. I was not even there for 10 minutes! Frustraited I went back up to the front desk to see if they could waive the fee and they indicated they were not sure and would give me a call back. I went up to my room and it had intoxicating paint fumes. I was debating on staying if I could get the window open but they are sealed shut. So back down to the lobby to switch rooms. I asked if I could have 2 double beds instead of the 1 bed I had. It was an additional $40.00. I was dissapointed because I have always been able to choose between a single or double beds with no charges. I paid and went up to the room. I changed into my bathing suit to go swimming and went down to the 5th floor. My key did not work as there is an additional $10.00 fee to use the pool. I had no issue with the money but was frustraited by having to go down to the lobby in my swimming attire to have the key coded for the pool. Then back up to the pool. Lastly since I did not receive a call back about the parking fee I assumed the hotel was going to waive it for all the hassle but no. The total unexpected fees to stay at this hotel cost me $100.00!!!!!! I will never stay there agian based on customer service not price. I am a rational person and understand fees but basic customer service is to inform/communicate with your customers. There are many other nice hotels in the city. This one is 80's decor and service of a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Family
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Wendell, Ma
Aug 23, 2009

great value, great help with questions

The time we spent at your hotel was wonderful. It is centrally located - very close to dining, historic and shopping venues. S.F. is a wonderful city, very easy to get around and so many great things to do. We asked for dining suggestions almost daily and were very pleased with our experiences. I would suggest your hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car for one day and got to see so many things. We had thought of doing a tour but it was less expensive to rent the car and we had a blast!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
botheredbyextracharges
Family
El Cerrito CA
Jan 2, 2014

Prepare for additional charge for pool

Very disappointed to find that there was an additional $20 charge to use the pool and fitness area. Otherwise it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not so lucky Liz
Family
South San Francisco
Jan 22, 2013

unforseen charges

Hotel was beautiful and yes, in the heart of SF. I often stay at lovely hotels. It was a first that while checking in... they offered me a complimentary glass of wine. The stem glasses were displayed beautifully behind the counter. Nice touch!! *This helped with the sting of multiple unexpected charges of: $50- for daily parking, $20- daily for the use of the pool, and $16- for daily use of the internet. Movies averaged $20- too. Hmmm.... Relaxing was definately harder because I'd suddenly blown my budget! Not cool- who charges to use the pool?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
El Paso, TX
Aug 10, 2009

To many hidden charges

We were charged for everything at the Hotel Nikko. If we wanted to use the pool, we had to pay for a 10 dollar fee. If we wanted to use the internet we had to pay a fee. Parking our rental car for the night cost us 45 dollars. We thought that internet and access to the pool was part of the base package and felt ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jose, CA
Apr 22, 2009

great location and clean

Great location and clean. But rather go to intercontinental for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Espetus - brazilian steakhouse is a must.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dy583
Family
daly city
Mar 23, 2014

good

neat and clean, very comfortable, not expensive,close to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cesr
Family
Caracas, Venezuela
Dec 30, 2011

Great for family vacation

We spent a wonderful week staying at the hotel, everything was well fitted, from the location to the hotel rooms. The only thing was the continental breakfast, it lacks in variety. Lobby design not the best. But for the overall experience we give two thumbs up. Fully recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DREB
Family
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Feb 12, 2012

Nikko SF

Excellent location. Very friendly and nice staff. Great breakfast buffet (great japanese food). Room was very nice, very clean, very comfortable. Would return any time !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous japanese food in restaurant a few steps from hotels entrance. Lunch/dinner really worth it.

Back to menu Return to top