$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
294 reviews
Hotel Nikko-Great place to stay in San Fran

The Hotel Nikko was an excellent place to stay for business. It is centrally located near both... See full review

  • Boise Biz Traveler
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great hotel!

I am very happy with my stay here. The room is comfortable and clean. See full review

  • ABCDE88
  • Aug 17, 2014
Sophistication with an Asian flair and an indoor pool near Union Square

Hotel Nikko feels more like Hong Kong than San Francisco. The lobby is spacious, featuring white marble and rooms are minimalist in design. The on-site restaurant, Anzu, serves up Asian food with a Japanese focus. Distances at the on-site pool are measured in meters. Just steps from Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, the Nikko is perfectly located for business travelers in town for conventions. At the same time, it is comfortable for families accustomed to sophisticated luxury. 

Highlights
  • Live jazz at Feinstein's at the Nikko nightclub
  • A short walk from the shops and restaurants of Union Square
  • Spacious fifth-floor indoor pool
  • Sushi and other Asian-inspired fare available at on-site restaurant Anzu
Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Policies and Fees

  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (294)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conchy
Business
san Juan PR
Nov 23, 2010

Great Hotel, Fantastic.City

The hotel is in good location, only few blocks away from all the fabulous stores in San Francisco, also few bocks away from the Mascone Convention Center. The reception staff and [...], the concierge were very nice and helpfull. My room did not had a minibar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't missed Scomas at the pier.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zorrudo
SF
Jan 14, 2013

very nice hotel - however, charged 20$ for access to pool and 16$ for internet

Pros Hotel itself is quite nice, modern and clean. The rooms are tastefully furnished, beds are confortable, and the bathrooms are beautiful. Ideal location blocks away from Union square in the center of the city. Staff courteous, professional and welcoming Cons $20 for health club and 16$ for internet - seems like a rip-off nowadays where free wireless in hotels is generally the norm. Something that I would expect when paying $150 for a room. Quick solve: there is a starbucks right next door, grab a coffee and surf the net for free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

to get around the 16$ internet charge, just go next door to starbucks

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackie tu tu
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Overnight sensation

great day of shopping. Great breakfast buffet. Comfortable accomodations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelTraveler
Michigan
Mar 26, 2013

Hotel Nikko March 2013

Very nice hotel in downtown San Francisco by Union Square. I stayed on the 8th floor. High pressure flushing toilets got annoying ... especially when flushed by other residents at 5am. Seemingly every morning between 6-7am, there was loud banging outside in the street. Wished the rooms would've had microwaves, but they don't. I was really in the room for sleeping for the most part and it wasn't the quietest. If you want a good location, you have to sacrifice some of the finer things. It was still a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe Township
May 24, 2008

VERY HARD BEDS AND PILLOWS

The hotel was simply beautiful, the staff was somewhat helpful, always seemed very very busy, but that is normal. We stayed on the top floor, well, the 24th, we needed the key in the elevator to get to that floor, and I needed to request 2 new key cards, as they somehow got de-activated, which was not a very pleasant experience, being in the elevator and not being able to go UP!! Also, our room was beautiful, with a very nice view, due to the floor to ceiling windows, but they need to do something about their bedding! The mattress and Pillows were so HARD!!!! Maybe alot of people like to sleep on hard mattress's, but at least give soft pillows to compensate! Me and my daughter both were very uncomfortable for the entire week due to the bedding situation! We were in a nice area, as long as we went out our hotel and made a RIGHT, DO NOT GO LEFT, it takes you to an area that is not the safest feeling!! I would tell people to stay at the Nikko, but to warn them about the beds and pillows. Not sure if every room has the same mattress, but they really need to look into maybe sleep number beds or something like that, this is a luxury hotel, afterall!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping was very close to our hotel, but they were chain stores such as Macys, Nordstroms, etc. They were rather impressive compared to the ones here in NJ, but still, you want to find more boutique type shopping, and they were NOT close to our Hotel, only the chain stores!!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellow cab
San Jose, CA
Nov 6, 2012

good getaway

I stayed here for a night. Overall, it was pretty good. I asked for a complimentary late check out and they were ok with that. Pool was a decent size, but a little shallow for a full swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Aug 3, 2008

Great location

Room was small but very nice. Possibly the right size for a single person. The furniture with the exception of the bed is old, scratched up, and needing to be junked. Remember the days when everything in a hotel was bolted down? The desk tops had holes probably for that purpose once upon a time. Seemed really out of place for a room with a first class bathroom and basic over all appearance. Location to transit and restaurants is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoosEsq
Kansas City, Missouri
Jul 21, 2014

Great Two Days at Hotel Nikko

I had business in the Bay Area on Friday and I brought my wife with me for a quick weekend in San Franciso. I was extremely pleased with our stay at Hotel Nikko. The Staff were great, the room was great and the location of the hotel in proximity to the Union Square Shopping District and public transportation hubs made getting around very easy (never took the rental car out of parking). We will definately consider Hotel Nikko on any future trips to the Bay Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waycool
San Diego
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic luxurious

Luxury accommodations at heart of downtown close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teachermom4u
Oakley, ca
Aug 22, 2013

last minute luxury

Everyone was extremely friendly. My husband was impressed that even the maids stopped to say hello. I loved the sample of wine at check in. I have since bought the bottle twice. The room was immaculate and comfortable. My favorite resturant HANA ZEN is right next door. We have stayed at the Parc 55 and Handlery on this street as well as the Inn at Union Square and Palace Hotel. This was the best deal at $165 a night. When I went to do this adventure again with my mom the room was $400. I guess there was something going on in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HANA ZEN - Japanese Izakaya style dining. Expensive but authentic.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search