$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Aug 10, 2009

To many hidden charges

We were charged for everything at the Hotel Nikko. If we wanted to use the pool, we had to pay for a 10 dollar fee. If we wanted to use the internet we had to pay a fee. Parking our rental car for the night cost us 45 dollars. We thought that internet and access to the pool was part of the base package and felt ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 22, 2009

great location and clean

Great location and clean. But rather go to intercontinental for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Espetus - brazilian steakhouse is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego,ca
Nov 13, 2009

nikko

noisy on the 21st floor, steam bath and shower in the men' locker room broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento
Jun 16, 2010

good

usual stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissLiss09
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2014

Good location, a bit pricey

The room was very clean, although a bit small. The location was perfect...very central in Union Square and close to the Bart station and plenty of cabs available. The main downside was the price of "amenities;" although I've experienced hotels charging for wifi, $17 a day seemed very steep. Luckily there was a Starbucks attached to the hotel. Our main disappointment was the fact that they charged for access to the pool and gym....everywhere else I have ever stayed included this. It was $20, we didn't even bother to clarify if that was per day or per stay since we knew we didn't want to pay anything additional regardless. It was a bummer though, because we definitely would have hit the pool or gym in the mornings otherwise. Overall, we had a decent stay; nothing fabulous, but definitely very clean and centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Tenderloin area has a bad rap for crime and is a place we were told to avoid, but we found they had some great dining options. As long as you go around dinner time and not very late into the night, and walk with someone else of course, we didn't feel unsafe and found great places. The standout was Lers Ros Thai....amazing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ariel s
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Nice hotel but overpriced amenities

The front desk employees where super friendly and helped with dinner reservations. The hotel is very nicely decorative and rooms are comfy. I didn't appreaciate the fact that they wanted to charge us to use to gym AND pool at 25$ each. The check out is 11am, a late check out is 12 and anything after starts at 50$ and goes up! Two eggs Benedict and juice ordered to the room was $70. Just seems like the hotel pulls you in with all there amenities and then over charges for everything. Would I go here again, maybe if they didn't over charge for everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girl Power Weekend
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 31, 2013

Fabulous Girl Getaway Weekend!

Great room and great staff! Excellent location to shopping and site seeing. Would highly recommed and look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edgard Hagge
Business
São Paulo Brazil
Jan 1, 2014

Fantastic location but very expensive stuffs

Very good location, but they gonna charge you for every thing, internet is very expensive, parking lot is $45 per day, breakfast is $30 per person and if you order something online they charge you to revive the package too. But I think San Francisco is a expensive city so most of the hotels is gonna be the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bulltaolla
Business
San Francisco, California
Jan 5, 2014

Perfect location & Great service!

I stayed 11 nights through Christmas and New Year. Everything was great. The staff was really nice from check-in to check-out. I didn't have any trouble during the travel. The location is literally a minute walk from Union Square. The room was clean and neat, smelled good. One thing that could be improved is that if they extend breakfast roomservice time. 8:30am is kinda early for me to have breakfast when I slept late the last night :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rofuli
Business
Frankfurt, Germany
Feb 23, 2014

Typical Japanese

The Nikko is Japanese and it tells. Hotel looks like any Nikko hotel elsewhere, especially the tiles :-) A little more local style may be possible to make you feel more local to the fantastic city of San Francisco. However, the pool, sauna and gym are all very nice and a great workout. Room a little small - as mentioned, typical Japanese. But nicely equipped and in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason (320 Mason St.) just across the hotel is a good place for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top