$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
416 reviews
Great room, view, staff

I booked last minute and got a great deal on a room, then was upgraded to a junior suite by the... See full review

  • MikeD614
  • Jul 27, 2014
Awesome anniversary get away

Great great great, everyone was polite, attentive, helpful! The area was the best, See full review

  • Maco maco
  • Jul 26, 2014
Luxury Hotel, Four Diamond Property with a premier location off Union Square and steps away from San Francisco's restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Our guests can enjoy the extensive health club atop the fifth floor, with a glass-enclosed swimming pool, spa area, and masseuse. Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus featuring America's highest quality prime aged cuts of beef and fish flown in daily for the freshest sushi.

Overnight parking is $45 + tax, $55 for oversized vehicles + tax.

The Health Club charge is $20 per stay. Access to the health club is available 24hours.

Fees apply for the following services: Pets, High Speed Internet, Pool, Health Club, Wireless Internet, In-room Internet Charges are $15.95 per computer, per room, every 24 hours.

Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.

Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The hotel is completely SMOKE FREE.

All Imperial Club rooms include complimentary Continental breakfast (or hot buffet breakfast in ANZU restaurant) per paying adult, in the exclusive Imperial Club Lounge.

Pet friendly ($50 fee / night + deposit apply)

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elasticrat
Business
Mountain View, California
Jul 18, 2013

Perfect in every way

Lots of hotels are fancy but the Nikko staff made this fancy hotel something special. Always smiling and always going out of their way to help but never being pretentious or snooty they were great! I would definitely stay at Nikko next time I need a hotel in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For late nite dining and drinking go to Ryoko and order a few rolls and glasses of shochu.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SideEye Sally
San Francisco, CA
Apr 6, 2014

Nickels & Dimes - Pet Fee Nightmare

Thankfully only stayed at this expensive hotel for one night. The hotel charges for most amenities - wifi and use of the swimming pool being the most enraging. My biggest complaint was the 50 USD pet fee, which came as a huge shock. I understand that many hotels do charge a pet fee, but I thought this was excessive, especially considering my dog is a quiet, housebroken 10 lb chihuahua. Also, the guy who helped me at the front desk was super snooty. I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to others, especially not if you're traveling with pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KY
New Orleans, LA
Nov 19, 2009

Awful and Dirty Hotel

Other than the location, this hotel was awful and my room was not very clean at all! When I first arrived, I had to request fresh linens because the sheets on my bed had hair on them. The furniture was old, tatered and worn and looked like something someone threw out for the trash on the curb. The carpet and the curtains were stained and there were scuff marks all over the walls. Even the lamp shade had stains. I took pictures and emailed them to management. Even they could not deny the poor condition of the room. The only good thing about Hotel Nikko is, it's in walking distance of everything - great shopping, good restaurants etc. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. If I'm ever in the San Fran area again, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even the great location of the hotel is not worth the stay. It was way too dirty for the price.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Beware hidden charges!

I was there to celebrate and ended up wanting to go home! I am a local person to the Bay and know the city very well. I try and stay at different hotels on each visit but after this one I will be sticking with my proven favorites. There is a parking fee of $50.00 which would have been no issue if the rate would have been disclosed up front. After checking in I went down to move my car accross the street for a lower parking charge and was told my charge would be $10.00. I was not even there for 10 minutes! Frustraited I went back up to the front desk to see if they could waive the fee and they indicated they were not sure and would give me a call back. I went up to my room and it had intoxicating paint fumes. I was debating on staying if I could get the window open but they are sealed shut. So back down to the lobby to switch rooms. I asked if I could have 2 double beds instead of the 1 bed I had. It was an additional $40.00. I was dissapointed because I have always been able to choose between a single or double beds with no charges. I paid and went up to the room. I changed into my bathing suit to go swimming and went down to the 5th floor. My key did not work as there is an additional $10.00 fee to use the pool. I had no issue with the money but was frustraited by having to go down to the lobby in my swimming attire to have the key coded for the pool. Then back up to the pool. Lastly since I did not receive a call back about the parking fee I assumed the hotel was going to waive it for all the hassle but no. The total unexpected fees to stay at this hotel cost me $100.00!!!!!! I will never stay there agian based on customer service not price. I am a rational person and understand fees but basic customer service is to inform/communicate with your customers. There are many other nice hotels in the city. This one is 80's decor and service of a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teresa H Thomas
North Ogden, Utah
Jun 16, 2013

Read this fine print again and again!!

This is a nice hotel but we picked in a hurry while driving around and didn't take time to read the details. You will pay extra for everything. Parking is extremely pricey. To print off one voucher cost me $6.95. To use the pool or exercise room it will cost an extra $20. I felt a little overwhelmed. The room we had was the smallest I have ever had. It consisted of 1 queen size bed with about 4 feet on boths sides. That was it!! The bathroom was ordinary. I just strongly urge you to READ and READ the details. Of course it is downtown San Francisco. I should have known better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Beware hidden charges!

I was there to celebrate and ended up wanting to go home! I am a local person to the Bay and know the city very well. I try and stay at different hotels on each visit but after this one I will be sticking with my proven favorites. There is a parking fee of $50.00 which would have been no issue if the rate would have been disclosed up front. After checking in I went down to move my car accross the street for a lower parking charge and was told my charge would be $10.00. I was not even there for 10 minutes! Frustraited I went back up to the front desk to see if they could waive the fee and they indicated they were not sure and would give me a call back. I went up to my room and it had intoxicating paint fumes. I was debating on staying if I could get the window open but they are sealed shut. So back down to the lobby to switch rooms. I asked if I could have 2 double beds instead of the 1 bed I had. It was an additional $40.00. I was dissapointed because I have always been able to choose between a single or double beds with no charges. I paid and went up to the room. I changed into my bathing suit to go swimming and went down to the 5th floor. My key did not work as there is an additional $10.00 fee to use the pool. I had no issue with the money but was frustraited by having to go down to the lobby in my swimming attire to have the key coded for the pool. Then back up to the pool. Lastly since I did not receive a call back about the parking fee I assumed the hotel was going to waive it for all the hassle but no. The total unexpected fees to stay at this hotel cost me $100.00!!!!!! I will never stay there agian based on customer service not price. I am a rational person and understand fees but basic customer service is to inform/communicate with your customers. There are many other nice hotels in the city. This one is 80's decor and service of a motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunshine Business
Business
Miami Beach, Fl
Feb 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel

great service and location for business and personal..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YJO1717
Concord, CA
Sep 27, 2011

One night in San Fran

The location of the hotel is great because it is in walking distance to just about everything but that was the only real up side to the hotel. The staff wasn't helpful nor were they all that friendly and the bar which is supposed to open at 2:00PM was dark and without any sign of staff and I went down to grab a glass of wine at 2:30PM! Oh and by the way, I was told by the concierge that the bar was open!!! Too expensive for no service at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just an ordinary guy
Tracy, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Really nice hotel with large hidden fees

My girlfriend and I stayed there for Valentine's Day. It was very nice except for some hidden fees. You have no choice but to use their valet parking ($54 daily). The sign stating the price was facing the window of ENTERPRISE rent-a-car rather than the driveway, so you have no way of knowing the price until you have a claim ticket in your hand and your car is already parked. The room was very nice. We got the room with a single king bed. Half the room was taken by a VERY extravagant bathroom. As for the living area, there was little more room than needed to walk around the edge of the bed. BEWARE of the mini-fridge. It has sensors to detect if an item is removed. If you remove an item just to merely LOOK at it and put it back - you will be charged. Also the single-pane windows make you VERY aware of what is going on in the street - even on the 12th floor. Overall it was a nice stay - but it will probably be my last in this particular hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

On a holiday such as St. Valentine's Day...don't plan on eating at ANZU, the restaurant in the hotel. That is unless you feel like paying the FIXED PRICE of $98.00 per person.

Back to menu Return to top