Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jan 8, 2010

Great couples getaway

My girlfriend and I just wanted to get away to San Francisco for a day. This hotel was right next to Union Square, and reasonably close to the wharf. Service was extremely friendly, room was quiet and very clean. Front desk gives a map which is very helpful to find your way around. Next time, I would do some research to find a parking garage close to the hotel to avoid the valet charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miraleste, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Hotel Nikko SF

The stay was great, I honestly was suprised at the level of service I received for the price I paid. I had a Deluxe Room with 2 Queens and I can totally see how some would say that space was tight. However for me and travel partner it was just right. Traveling with kids, I would invest in a larger room as this room would not have worked. The furnishings were very clean and not worn at all. When I entered the bathroom I was in awe, very nice. Stay away from room service (1 sandwhich can run you $20 easily) also watch the minibar. The location was perfect in every way, a block to the subway and right in the middle of everything and just a short walk to shopping, dining, and nightlife. If you arrive late, as I did (3AM) there is a great 50's spot called Lori's open 24/7 decent food and close by. Only one drawback was that from my room (12 floor) I would keep hearing firetrucks passing by, but I suppose one can tune such things out. This place is well worth what I paid and I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking of course it on par with the rest of SF, avoid parking at the hotel. There are two self-parks within 1 block which can run you from $10-$30/night, otherwise expect $40 or more w/ the hotel.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable location

This was my second stay at the Hotel Nikko and I highly recommend it. You can't beat the location - I was able to easily get everywhere. The staff is very friendly and the room was very clean. I didn't use any of the facilities of the hotel so can't rate them but it was quiet and a very pleasant environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Dottie's True Blue Cafe on Jones Street - a five minute walk from the hotel. Best breakfast ANYWHERE!! Get there early. It opens at 7:30am and there is a line before it opens.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bermuda
Aug 25, 2009

excellent base camp

Great base from which to explore SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Graet access to trolleys

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jul 29, 2009

serviceable hotel

This is a stylish, immaculate hotel. We enjoyed our stay. There are some luxury details designed into the hotel but the hospitality end was lacking. The beds are comfortable. Perhaps if we spoke Japanese we would feel especially welcome and really like staying at the Nikko. We would stay there again if the location was convenient to our San Francisco activities. There was a mix-up (perhaps on Nikko's part)with our reservation and received no help from the over busy hotel staff with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 25, 2009

Very nice. Comfortable & Quiet

It was comfortable, clean, and quiet. I was put off that the Wifi access was paid. I've stayed at smaller, less fancy hotels where the WiFi is free. So this came off as gouge-y.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to any Peet's Coffee for free Wifi and GREAT coffee!!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firecrotch
Business
Galt, ca
Aug 31, 2009

A great spot in San francisco

It was great except you have to pay to use there buisness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best steaks in town!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal Guy
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 11, 2009

Nice Hotel, Lackluster Service

The hotel is very nice and in a great location for going out in downtown San Francisco, but I wasn't thrilled with the service. The service wasn't bad, just not what I expected for a classy joint. It took a long time to check in because there was insufficient staffing. Without fail I was put on hold when I called the front desk (and I don't mean for 30 seconds, I mean for minutes). I wouldn't recommend against staying here, but I had a better experience at Parc 55 last time I stayed in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jxpx777
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Lovely place to stay

This was my second time to stay at Nikko. The room is nice, clean, and comfortable. Since I was traveling with a lot of electronics, the numerous power outlets made me happy. One thing that I wanted that was not available in the room I had was a refrigerator. The front desk staff can be rather abrupt at times, but eventually you get where you're going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

New Delhi is a fantastic Indian restaurant right downstairs.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
la, ca
Aug 10, 2009

It was okay

Hotel was very nice. Furniture was very worn, as stated in many other reviews, which was strange. Definitely must upgrade in order to get a decent room. Had to spend an add'l $40 to upgrade to fairly decent room, but did not get to Concierge level as many others had in previous reviews. Was kinda bummed out about that. It was in a great location. Very close to the Bart station, which definitely costs in having to rent a car & pay for parking. One thing that did really bother us though, was that it literally took about 7-10 minutes to get any warm water in the shower. This was a pain, especially when you're pressed for time in having to rush to a scheduled tour or event. Also, we had woke up a little late & asked if we could have a little extra time for a late check out, & they said they do not offer that there & that we had 20 minutes if we didn't want to get charged, which we thought was a little harsh, but I guess we should've woke up a little earlier? Anyway, overall I would say we would probably stay there again, but not for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A block & a half away from the Bart station. Get off on Powell & you're there!

Back to menu Return to top