$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very pleasant stay
New York City
Sep 12, 2013

Lovely

Great location, right in the heart of Union Square. Only thing that I didn't like is that I had to pay $20 to use the gym/pool. For the cost of the room, the gym and pool should be complimentary. Lovely stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SideEye Sally
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 6, 2014

Nickels & Dimes - Pet Fee Nightmare

Thankfully only stayed at this expensive hotel for one night. The hotel charges for most amenities - wifi and use of the swimming pool being the most enraging. My biggest complaint was the 50 USD pet fee, which came as a huge shock. I understand that many hotels do charge a pet fee, but I thought this was excessive, especially considering my dog is a quiet, housebroken 10 lb chihuahua. Also, the guy who helped me at the front desk was super snooty. I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it to others, especially not if you're traveling with pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Duper Sara
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 26, 2014

Fantastic Stay

A wonderful hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to the nicer floors for free and ended up with a complimentary breakfast and wine & cheese in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
119e
Business
USA
Mar 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay

While the property is rather ordinary and somewhat dated, our room was clean and very well located and the pool/spa were fantastic. I'd recommend this property at less than $200/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dy583
Business
daly city
Mar 23, 2014

good

neat and clean, very comfortable, not expensive,close to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epirate
Business
CT
Mar 18, 2014

Getaway..

Overall the experience was very good. Because I had to spend a nite sooner than anticipated they could not coordinate the two reservations...a minor hassle. Having spent a few nites here a few years ago, the hotel seemed to lack the Asian flare and ambiance that I remember. Overall no complaints and recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Duck Fan
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2014

Always Great To Stay At The Nikko

I have stayed at The Nikko for a long time. Rooms can be a little on the high side, depending on what is going on in the city, but if you can find it for under $200 it is a great business trip hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No for Hotel Nikko
Business
San Diego
Mar 10, 2014

Ok I guess

A lot of amenities were overpriced. The wifi cost $15 per day on EACH device. You would expect a hotel that cost that much to have free or reasonable wifi. Also, all of the fitness center pool cost additional charges. It started to just seem ridiculous. Didn't really see the point in staying there. They did have a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Also, the walls were paper thin. We stayed on the 12th floor and I could still here bottles being thrown away from the street!! Just wasn't worth the money. I have no problem paying it, but wouldn't recommend to others, nor would I stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rofuli
Business
Frankfurt, Germany
Feb 23, 2014

Typical Japanese

The Nikko is Japanese and it tells. Hotel looks like any Nikko hotel elsewhere, especially the tiles :-) A little more local style may be possible to make you feel more local to the fantastic city of San Francisco. However, the pool, sauna and gym are all very nice and a great workout. Room a little small - as mentioned, typical Japanese. But nicely equipped and in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason (320 Mason St.) just across the hotel is a good place for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annachka
Business
Los angeles, Ca
Feb 17, 2014

Amazing hotel

My bf and I stayed here for Valentines wekekeNd. They upgraded us for free to a bigger room and accommdated us with a late checkout since our flight was at 5pm...overall great experience, concierge was super! Highly reccommend Hotel Nikko

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SL99999
Business
Philly
Feb 14, 2014

Average

Average hotel, but great stay, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Good place to take a walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top