$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
297 reviews
Hotel Nikko-Great place to stay in San Fran

The Hotel Nikko was an excellent place to stay for business. It is centrally located near both... See full review

  • Boise Biz Traveler
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great hotel!

I am very happy with my stay here. The room is comfortable and clean. See full review

  • ABCDE88
  • Aug 17, 2014
Sophistication with an Asian flair and an indoor pool near Union Square

Hotel Nikko feels more like Hong Kong than San Francisco. The lobby is spacious, featuring white marble and rooms are minimalist in design. The on-site restaurant, Anzu, serves up Asian food with a Japanese focus. Distances at the on-site pool are measured in meters. Just steps from Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, the Nikko is perfectly located for business travelers in town for conventions. At the same time, it is comfortable for families accustomed to sophisticated luxury. 

Highlights
  • Live jazz at Feinstein's at the Nikko nightclub
  • A short walk from the shops and restaurants of Union Square
  • Spacious fifth-floor indoor pool
  • Sushi and other Asian-inspired fare available at on-site restaurant Anzu
Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Policies and Fees

  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miraleste, CA
Jun 20, 2009

Hotel Nikko SF

The stay was great, I honestly was suprised at the level of service I received for the price I paid. I had a Deluxe Room with 2 Queens and I can totally see how some would say that space was tight. However for me and travel partner it was just right. Traveling with kids, I would invest in a larger room as this room would not have worked. The furnishings were very clean and not worn at all. When I entered the bathroom I was in awe, very nice. Stay away from room service (1 sandwhich can run you $20 easily) also watch the minibar. The location was perfect in every way, a block to the subway and right in the middle of everything and just a short walk to shopping, dining, and nightlife. If you arrive late, as I did (3AM) there is a great 50's spot called Lori's open 24/7 decent food and close by. Only one drawback was that from my room (12 floor) I would keep hearing firetrucks passing by, but I suppose one can tune such things out. This place is well worth what I paid and I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking of course it on par with the rest of SF, avoid parking at the hotel. There are two self-parks within 1 block which can run you from $10-$30/night, otherwise expect $40 or more w/ the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trip B
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2014

Impressed!

I was in town for a convention late August 2014, and Hotel Nikko was one of the few places with a reasonable rate. I booked not expecting much more than a standard Marriott, but Nikko impressed! There were very reasonable packages that bundled wi-fi, breakfast, and the fitness club (includes saunu, pool, etc) which I took advantage of. The hotel staff were very accommodating. After checking in, I called back down to Michael at the front desk about the "imperial floor" and he personally ended up showing me two different rooms to see which one my wife and I would prefer. We ate a few meals at Nikko, including room service. The food was very good across the board, and room service was always delivered within 30 minutes of ordering. The rooms are showing slight signs of wear, but nothing major - same for the spa facilities. Everything is kept VERY clean, however. If Hotel Nikko were to do some minor refreshes (simple stuff like fresh coat of paint) then I think I would have given them a full five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ESPER and MAC
SAN DIEGO
May 26, 2009

excellent hotel

we came from San Diego to attend our youngest child's graduation. and from rows and rows of hotels in SF I came to choose Nikko, which I am very glad because your hotel is the niciest hotel, only the room I chosed was very small .food is also very good. service was very good all the staff we encountered were very nice and corteous.I will highly recommend your hotel to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

your hotel is close to everything but I chosed to stay in our room and not to do anything (mind you I love to shop)because I just want to spend my time in the cozziness of the bed and the quietness of the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Noel
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 5, 2012

Excellent Hotel that happens to cater to Japanese

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. This is right downtown so the activities of the union square neighborhood can filter up to the room but it wasn't too bad. Clean, comfy bed. Decent size. Would have liked to know in advance that pool was an extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sonoma county
Aug 20, 2009

comfortable & convenient

this was an enjoyable stay for all. 2 young adults, one senior & one 4 yr. old. we toured golden gate park..exhibits & gardens. young adults went to clubs, senior & child enjoyed pool. wish internet was included in price..about time luxury hotels stop charging for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable location

This was my second stay at the Hotel Nikko and I highly recommend it. You can't beat the location - I was able to easily get everywhere. The staff is very friendly and the room was very clean. I didn't use any of the facilities of the hotel so can't rate them but it was quiet and a very pleasant environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Dottie's True Blue Cafe on Jones Street - a five minute walk from the hotel. Best breakfast ANYWHERE!! Get there early. It opens at 7:30am and there is a line before it opens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
Mexico
Jun 11, 2014

convenient

Nice room, wifi ok, great location and the ups business center is really convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBERKA
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Nice Place

Great hotel and location. Nice amenities. The staff was very courteous and helpful. A little noisy in the room unless you stay on a high floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keva
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 27, 2008

Very Zen Hotel

I was disappointed that you had to pay $50 to park your car overnight at the hotel, if you wanted to use the pool or fitness center, there was a $10 charge, and their honor bar was somehow computer rigged so if you took something out, it automatically came in on a separate bill under the door. It was kind of creepy, like you were being watched. Honor Bar is supposed to have some sort of meaning. However, the hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff ever courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping mall a few blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eightmenout
Santa Barbara, CA
Mar 27, 2010

Classy, but Full of Fees

[...] I felt like I had gotten a great deal: $105.76 for a room with a king-sized bed and excellent surrounding views of downtown San Francisco. Although the hotel is spectacular in regard to cleanliness, atmosphere, and comfort...the excessive amount of fees that I ended up paying made my stay less pleasant. Amentities such as internet and pool costed me additional costs. Parking is also absurdly expensive. Overall, I would recommend Hotel Nikko, but only if you're freely willing to spend "excess cash."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're going to stay at Hotel Nikko in downtown SF, then be sure to park a couple blocks away from the hotel to save yourself $25. The hotel charges $51.30 for over-night parking, whereas other parking structures near the hotel charge $25 per night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search