Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
330 reviews
Nice hotel

Friendly stuff. Good location only one bad thing was that drainage system was not working inside of... See full review

  • ARMEN K.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Great Hotel

Great location, clean and great service. Remembered our names which is surprising! Parking for... See full review

  • Suzette R.
  • Jul 19, 2015

Centrally located near Union Square, Hotel Nikko San Francisco is a modern getaway in a historic location. If the weather is a bit misty, you can relax in the fifth-story heated pool in the hotel's glassed-in solarium. Let the stress of the day melt away in comfortable loungers with a drink in your hand and some yummy food to munch on. Unique to Nikko is Feinstein's, an on-site nightclub that's run in part by Grammy-winning entertainer Michael Feinstein. Guests can enjoy nightly shows that range from Broadway to cabaret, all of which are just an elevator ride away from your room.

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Property features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Highlights

The elegant Restaurant Anzu is considered one of San Francisco's best restaurants. All of the food is made with local ingredients to support a sustainable market, and chefs create tasty meals with a gourmet Asian flair. Their full bar hosts a 280 bottle wine list and an extensive offering of specialty cocktails and martinis. Start your day at Anzu with a hearty breakfast buffet and end it with a romantic, fine dining experience. If you wind up feeling a little bit bloated after your gourmet cuisine, head up to the Health Club for a dry sauna or refreshing steam in the steam room. Book ahead of time for a repairing Shiatsu massage at this spa-like fitness center.

Nearby attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Policies
  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.
  • The pool is undergoing exterior refurbishments until 1 Oct 2015.
  • The pool will be closed on 13 Oct 2015 until 1 Feb 2016 for further renovations. Upon pool closure on October, health club fee will be reduced from $25 USD to $15 USD.
  • The entire health club will be closed on 28 Dec 2015 until 1 Feb 2016.

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (330)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TRNp
Business
Davis, California
Jul 14, 2014

Excellent

Great hotel great value great staff. Will stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lo29
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 13, 2014

Weekend getaway

This was my second time staying at the hotel. The rooms are small, but a bit larger than some of the other nearby older hotels. The furnishings are modern and clean. The location is very central to several restaurants, shopping, bars, and Powell Bart station. Overall very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coffeelover12
Business
los angeles,ca
Jul 8, 2014

Will stay again

The location is perfect. Bed was perfectly comfy. We could really rest at night after long walking during the day =) Overall, it's a great experience except two things 1) After nikko remodeled their room, it looks nice but functionally old version is better. - no vent system in the shower. So, after taking a shower, bathroom is really full of humidity. and there's no door for shower booth. Why don't you make a complete door instead of half of it ? 2) The restroom on the lobby is for hotel guest only. It's good before you check out.But after check out, you might feel bad about it. I left my stuff at hotel for a couple of hrs after check out , and when I came back to pick up my things I wanted to use a restroom. I asked for a restroom key and the front desk guy was kind of giving me an attitude. Come on, I was your guest for 4 days and Should I go to a public restroom after I pick up my luggage because I already checked out? Doesn't make any sense to me !! Anyways, I was able to use the restroom but I felt a bit embarrassed because of his reaction. But again, It was a good choice to stay at this hotel. It's my second time staying at Nikko. and I think I will stay there again when I go to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney
Jul 4, 2014

Nice, comfortable, central location

Nice staff, hotel is a short walk to union square, so convenient travelling to the airport with Bart. I would recommend this hotel if you need to be at Union square for the value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aarowmeister
Business
Redding Ca
Jul 2, 2014

Exactly what I was hoping for.

The room was small but not too small, it was very clean and as a tall guy I enjoyed the larger shower. We had a beautiful view and the location was perfect. It felt peaceful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cafe Claude

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mark do
Business
santa rosa
Jun 30, 2014

Location Good

I did not get the room I paid for. They gave me room with a queen bed and I paid for a king. I needed a larger bed I am 6.6 tall and do not fit on a queen bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
superAsian
Business
california
Jun 17, 2014

very clean and enjoyable location

Center of unique and it was very clean I would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chava Traveller
Business
Mexico
Jun 17, 2014

Good location, standard room

Best about hotel ia location. Rooms are ok with avg ammenities that you would expect from this category.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blue Insomnia
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 16, 2014

One of the best stays ever

As I am an avid traveler for both pleasure and business, I frequent hotels around the US weekly. Hotel Nikko was my first time stay this past weekend and the level of courteous staff to the beautiful and clean rooms and prompt room service, they easily surpassed my expectation. Definitely try the corner junior suite. It was fantastic and well below average value for such an opulent accommodation. Highly recommend Hotel Nikko in SF. I will never stay anywhere else while I is it SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Tapas Bar and if you are a snob for prime ribs, try House of Prime Ribs.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
Mexico
Jun 11, 2014

convenient

Nice room, wifi ok, great location and the ups business center is really convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top