$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willy Wonks
Business
Los Angeles, CALIFORNIA
Nov 17, 2014

One night in town

Really great location. Clean and high tech. Rooms are tiny, but definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

BART

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
windycitywes
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 16, 2014

Location, Service, Amenities... top notch

A well run, beautiful hotel, in a great neighborhood. Definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cypress Tree
Business
Vancouver, BC
Nov 12, 2014

Great experience

I stayed at Nikko during my last conference trip. Everything about this hotel is top-notch. The bed was very comfortable, which gave me peaceful nights of much needed relaxation. Amenities are new and adequate. Staff friendly and professional. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brad Zarbock
Business
SLC
Nov 3, 2014

Great People great hotel.

We just stayed for one night but it was fablous from the moment you arrived you were taken care of, it has a little japanese flair but it is so service oriented. i would suggest getting the upgraded room Breakfast is $20 and internet is $15 and if you at to be above the 10th floor it is $80 but includes free breakfast and internet. over all a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustOneBag
Business
Reno
Oct 20, 2014

Would return here

$15.95 for Wi-Fi for three devices. $20 for the fitness center, no magnified shaving/makeup mirror. Those are ALL of my complaints. So, I like this place: taff is great, other amenities (besides lack of mag. mirror) are fine, it's nice that the mini-bar fridge has a small area for guest's use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissLiss09
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2014

Good location, a bit pricey

The room was very clean, although a bit small. The location was perfect...very central in Union Square and close to the Bart station and plenty of cabs available. The main downside was the price of "amenities;" although I've experienced hotels charging for wifi, $17 a day seemed very steep. Luckily there was a Starbucks attached to the hotel. Our main disappointment was the fact that they charged for access to the pool and gym....everywhere else I have ever stayed included this. It was $20, we didn't even bother to clarify if that was per day or per stay since we knew we didn't want to pay anything additional regardless. It was a bummer though, because we definitely would have hit the pool or gym in the mornings otherwise. Overall, we had a decent stay; nothing fabulous, but definitely very clean and centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Tenderloin area has a bad rap for crime and is a place we were told to avoid, but we found they had some great dining options. As long as you go around dinner time and not very late into the night, and walk with someone else of course, we didn't feel unsafe and found great places. The standout was Lers Ros Thai....amazing!!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal Fan
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 6, 2014

Perfect for Union Square base

Staff was ultra helpful. Very nice facility down in the Union Square area. Close to Chinatown and trolley pick up. Charge extra for workout facility, wifi and $57/day to valet park so costs could be much higher. Cab ride or mass transit to Fisherman's Wharf or Embarcadaro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks to Union Square shopping.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wino Traveler
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 24, 2014

Perfect in every way!

To preface this review, we were on the 23rd floor which has some extra amenities. The view from our room was incredible! The bed was sooooo comfortable and there was ample desk space and outlets for me to easily set up my "mobile office". The bathroom had a television somehow set into the mirror so you could watch TV while doing your thing(s)!!! We were a short walk to all the major shopping - Union Square, cable car stops, etc. so it was easy to shop, work our way back to the hotel, drop off and head back to shop! The cost is a bit high but you won't find better value for the money anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco is filled with non-taxi options for transportation. cheap and very fast to arrange a pick up. highly recommend Lyft and Uber.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tifferly04
Business
California
Sep 22, 2014

Centrally Located for Tourists

We stayed here one night and found it clean and comfortable. I used to live in SF so I was familiar with the area, and while it's located in the Tenderloin, it is also very conveniently located near BART, Powell Street, shopping and bus lines. Parking was expensive at around ~$60 for 24 hours, but it is in and out privileges. Very friendly staff, from front desk to valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sugar and Honey
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 7, 2014

No Comment

We visited Pier 39 and the room had an excellent view. The bed was very comfortable. The room were very small and the staff very unfriendly and uncaring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top