$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Duck Fan
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2014

Always Great To Stay At The Nikko

I have stayed at The Nikko for a long time. Rooms can be a little on the high side, depending on what is going on in the city, but if you can find it for under $200 it is a great business trip hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustOneBag
Business
Reno
Oct 20, 2014

Would return here

$15.95 for Wi-Fi for three devices. $20 for the fitness center, no magnified shaving/makeup mirror. Those are ALL of my complaints. So, I like this place: taff is great, other amenities (besides lack of mag. mirror) are fine, it's nice that the mini-bar fridge has a small area for guest's use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissLiss09
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2014

Good location, a bit pricey

The room was very clean, although a bit small. The location was perfect...very central in Union Square and close to the Bart station and plenty of cabs available. The main downside was the price of "amenities;" although I've experienced hotels charging for wifi, $17 a day seemed very steep. Luckily there was a Starbucks attached to the hotel. Our main disappointment was the fact that they charged for access to the pool and gym....everywhere else I have ever stayed included this. It was $20, we didn't even bother to clarify if that was per day or per stay since we knew we didn't want to pay anything additional regardless. It was a bummer though, because we definitely would have hit the pool or gym in the mornings otherwise. Overall, we had a decent stay; nothing fabulous, but definitely very clean and centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Tenderloin area has a bad rap for crime and is a place we were told to avoid, but we found they had some great dining options. As long as you go around dinner time and not very late into the night, and walk with someone else of course, we didn't feel unsafe and found great places. The standout was Lers Ros Thai....amazing!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NorCal Fan
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 6, 2014

Perfect for Union Square base

Staff was ultra helpful. Very nice facility down in the Union Square area. Close to Chinatown and trolley pick up. Charge extra for workout facility, wifi and $57/day to valet park so costs could be much higher. Cab ride or mass transit to Fisherman's Wharf or Embarcadaro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a few blocks to Union Square shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wino Traveler
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Sep 24, 2014

Perfect in every way!

To preface this review, we were on the 23rd floor which has some extra amenities. The view from our room was incredible! The bed was sooooo comfortable and there was ample desk space and outlets for me to easily set up my "mobile office". The bathroom had a television somehow set into the mirror so you could watch TV while doing your thing(s)!!! We were a short walk to all the major shopping - Union Square, cable car stops, etc. so it was easy to shop, work our way back to the hotel, drop off and head back to shop! The cost is a bit high but you won't find better value for the money anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco is filled with non-taxi options for transportation. cheap and very fast to arrange a pick up. highly recommend Lyft and Uber.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tifferly04
Business
California
Sep 22, 2014

Centrally Located for Tourists

We stayed here one night and found it clean and comfortable. I used to live in SF so I was familiar with the area, and while it's located in the Tenderloin, it is also very conveniently located near BART, Powell Street, shopping and bus lines. Parking was expensive at around ~$60 for 24 hours, but it is in and out privileges. Very friendly staff, from front desk to valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trip B
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2014

Impressed!

I was in town for a convention late August 2014, and Hotel Nikko was one of the few places with a reasonable rate. I booked not expecting much more than a standard Marriott, but Nikko impressed! There were very reasonable packages that bundled wi-fi, breakfast, and the fitness club (includes saunu, pool, etc) which I took advantage of. The hotel staff were very accommodating. After checking in, I called back down to Michael at the front desk about the "imperial floor" and he personally ended up showing me two different rooms to see which one my wife and I would prefer. We ate a few meals at Nikko, including room service. The food was very good across the board, and room service was always delivered within 30 minutes of ordering. The rooms are showing slight signs of wear, but nothing major - same for the spa facilities. Everything is kept VERY clean, however. If Hotel Nikko were to do some minor refreshes (simple stuff like fresh coat of paint) then I think I would have given them a full five stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lola Montana
Business
Seattle, Washington
Sep 1, 2014

Wonderful location

Beautiful room with a view in the heart of downtown San Francisco. Expensive parking. They even charge extra to use the pool and fitness center.. Not cool!! Restaurant was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SBERKA
Business
San Francisco
Aug 28, 2014

Nice Place

Great hotel and location. Nice amenities. The staff was very courteous and helpful. A little noisy in the room unless you stay on a high floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boise Biz Traveler
Business
Boise, Idaho
Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Nikko-Great place to stay in San Fran

The Hotel Nikko was an excellent place to stay for business. It is centrally located near both Union Square and the financial district, was comfortable, clean and very nice. I would definitely stay here again, plus the pool was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johhny Folley's Irish Pub is across the street and has excellent food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamaicamike
Business
Dublin
Aug 18, 2014

Beautiful room

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Nikko. The location was handy, the gym and pool great and the rooms were of a really high standard. The bed was really comfy and I would certainly stay here again. Tip - Be prepared for extra charges to use the gym. $20 dollars approx to use it for the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taylor Street Coffee Shop do an amazing breakfast. Check out the Taylors scramble

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top