$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
297 reviews
Hotel Nikko-Great place to stay in San Fran

The Hotel Nikko was an excellent place to stay for business. It is centrally located near both... See full review

  • Boise Biz Traveler
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great hotel!

I am very happy with my stay here. The room is comfortable and clean. See full review

  • ABCDE88
  • Aug 17, 2014
Sophistication with an Asian flair and an indoor pool near Union Square

Hotel Nikko feels more like Hong Kong than San Francisco. The lobby is spacious, featuring white marble and rooms are minimalist in design. The on-site restaurant, Anzu, serves up Asian food with a Japanese focus. Distances at the on-site pool are measured in meters. Just steps from Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, the Nikko is perfectly located for business travelers in town for conventions. At the same time, it is comfortable for families accustomed to sophisticated luxury. 

Highlights
  • Live jazz at Feinstein's at the Nikko nightclub
  • A short walk from the shops and restaurants of Union Square
  • Spacious fifth-floor indoor pool
  • Sushi and other Asian-inspired fare available at on-site restaurant Anzu
Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Policies and Fees

  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
297 out of 297
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Dozza
Salinas California
Oct 26, 2013

wonderful weekend

Hotel Nikko was what all hotels need to be. Comfort, friendly, pleasant, and relaxing. My husband and I had a great weekend in San Francisco. Hotel Nikko is now listed at the top of my favorite hotels in the state.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No for Hotel Nikko
San Diego
Mar 10, 2014

Ok I guess

A lot of amenities were overpriced. The wifi cost $15 per day on EACH device. You would expect a hotel that cost that much to have free or reasonable wifi. Also, all of the fitness center pool cost additional charges. It started to just seem ridiculous. Didn't really see the point in staying there. They did have a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Also, the walls were paper thin. We stayed on the 12th floor and I could still here bottles being thrown away from the street!! Just wasn't worth the money. I have no problem paying it, but wouldn't recommend to others, nor would I stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike Duck Fan
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 10, 2014

Always Great To Stay At The Nikko

I have stayed at The Nikko for a long time. Rooms can be a little on the high side, depending on what is going on in the city, but if you can find it for under $200 it is a great business trip hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rofuli
Business
Frankfurt, Germany
Feb 23, 2014

Typical Japanese

The Nikko is Japanese and it tells. Hotel looks like any Nikko hotel elsewhere, especially the tiles :-) A little more local style may be possible to make you feel more local to the fantastic city of San Francisco. However, the pool, sauna and gym are all very nice and a great workout. Room a little small - as mentioned, typical Japanese. But nicely equipped and in good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Mason (320 Mason St.) just across the hotel is a good place for food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annachka
Los angeles, Ca
Feb 17, 2014

Amazing hotel

My bf and I stayed here for Valentines wekekeNd. They upgraded us for free to a bigger room and accommdated us with a late checkout since our flight was at 5pm...overall great experience, concierge was super! Highly reccommend Hotel Nikko

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SL99999
Business
Philly
Feb 14, 2014

Average

Average hotel, but great stay, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Good place to take a walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Jazz
Austin
Feb 3, 2014

Perfect in every Way!

Very clean, comfortable bed, amazing updated bathroom. Enough said :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen59
Business
Scranton, PA
Feb 3, 2014

Hotel Nikko

My mother and I were so pleasantly amazed at the level of customer service at The Hotel Nikko! I will definitely stay there again if I visit San Francisco - whether or not it is part of a conference. Well worth the money in every way. The staff covered all aspects of service - from holding the doors open and greeting you with a big smile and a "Welcome Back!" to absolutely flawless room service. I love being able to text the concierge - and receive a response within minutes! Phenomenal all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent entertainment at Feinstein's in the Hotel Nikko! Great lounge and restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dolce B
San Ramon
Jan 29, 2014

Room is small

Spent New Year's Eve here. The room I got was smaller than I expected. Aside from that, staying here was great because of the location, security and convenience (bar and restos, Starbucks in the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Thai restaurant not far from here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yayjames
Seattle, WA
Jan 13, 2014

3 Star at Best

Great Staff. Awesome Location! Visited San Fran with my girlfriend. It was her first time here so, I thought I would get a 'fancier' hotel to make her experience more enjoyable. We had a great time in the city and the staff were very friendly. The room we got however was not to par.. Only complaint about the staff was that it took over 30 minutes to get our luggage #I think they forgot until I called them#. We were waiting to go out to explore the city. The room was very small/tiny and we felt very claustrophobic. Furniture was laid out like it was a storage room. Carpet was very grimy looking and feeling. It was pretty gross to say the least. I kept my socks and shoes on the rest of the time. On the other hand.. bed was comfy, bathroom was decent. We did not stay in the room a lot, however when we were there it was a bit noisy. Sounded like someone was moving furniture around. I have stayed at the Hilton across the street which is also a 4 Star Hotel and it was much better experience. I have stayed in other cities, in 3 star hotels that were much better. That's why I would say this is a 3 Star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
falmito
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Jan 12, 2014

Dissappointed

Thought more highly of the name. Room was ridiculously small and I think there was fungus on the grout around the bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search