$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
342 out of 342
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Duper Sara
Alexandria, VA
Mar 26, 2014

Fantastic Stay

A wonderful hotel in a great location. We were upgraded to the nicer floors for free and ended up with a complimentary breakfast and wine & cheese in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 13, 2009

Brautiful, good location, good price

We appreciated the quiet, the safety, and the range of food offerings in and around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Glide Memorial United Methodist Church one block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 9, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was clean, quiet and in a great location. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to First Crush, or Farmer Brown's both just a short walk from Hotel Nikko!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 4, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Excellent hotel in the downtown area. Close to Moscone Center and other hotels. Easy to get to from SFO airport. Great health club, gym and facilities. Room was thoroughly cleaned every day and was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fifth Floor restaurant in Hotel Palomar has excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instereo
Business
calgary
Sep 1, 2009

Great Stay

Hotel was great. Provided everything that was needed very quickly. The only bad thing that i can say is that the neighboorhood gets pretty sketchy a block or two away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mason Cafe a block away was really good. Be careful not to wander too far into the tenderloin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2009

Convenient Location, Average Hotel

I stayed at Hotel Nikko for a short 4 night/ 5 day vacation. The location was good, just three blocks from the Powell/Market transit hub where you can pick up cable car lines, subway, F Line streetcar, and BART to and from the airport. The lobby was quite beautiful with sweeping ceilings, elegant furniture, and carrera marble floors. The room, however, certainly lived up to its name of "Petite Queen", just enough room for one person but still rather tight. The furniture and fixtures were newish but the ventilation system was spastic at best and left the room stale. The windows did not open and I had to set the temperature to 60F to get any kind of air moving. There was no room in the minibar for personal items, and moving anything stocked AUTOMATICALLY triggers a sale. I called housekeeping for fridge space; after two calls and 45 mins they brought me a beat up tiny fridge that didn't work and smelled like feet. I ended up putting my stuff on ice as best I could. Hotel Nikko wasn't awful but if I were to travel to San Francisco again I wouldn't stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firecrotch
Business
Galt, ca
Aug 31, 2009

A great spot in San francisco

It was great except you have to pay to use there buisness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best steaks in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two women in love
Business
Northampton, MA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel was in a great location, about two blocks from Powell St. Station the location of cable cars, BART train, and buses. The room was a bit small but had great views and was spotless. The staff was very responsive to our requests. The locker room included a steam room and sauna, both top notch. At night the pool and hot tub area were a bit crowded with families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you research at least a couple of restaurants and markets nearby. There are so many options, one could walk for miles and hours before finding the "perfect fit". Not such a pleasant experience on an empty stomach. The hotel was great and I would definitely book it again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bermuda
Aug 25, 2009

excellent base camp

Great base from which to explore SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Graet access to trolleys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 25, 2009

Very nice. Comfortable & Quiet

It was comfortable, clean, and quiet. I was put off that the Wifi access was paid. I've stayed at smaller, less fancy hotels where the WiFi is free. So this came off as gouge-y.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to any Peet's Coffee for free Wifi and GREAT coffee!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wendell, Ma
Aug 23, 2009

great value, great help with questions

The time we spent at your hotel was wonderful. It is centrally located - very close to dining, historic and shopping venues. S.F. is a wonderful city, very easy to get around and so many great things to do. We asked for dining suggestions almost daily and were very pleased with our experiences. I would suggest your hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car for one day and got to see so many things. We had thought of doing a tour but it was less expensive to rent the car and we had a blast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top