Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
330 out of 330
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WillyGshaf
Business
Washington DC
Oct 12, 2013

Nikko is nice

It was a great last minute deal from and the hotel was great all the way around. I loved the pool and fitness center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

54 Mint is really good

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ari Gato
Business
West Hollywood, CA
Jan 2, 2010

SF overnight

Thought I got a good rate [...] ($114)...got to the Hotel & I was immediately charged $51.00 for overnight parking & then an additional $10.00 to use the Hotel Fitness Center which really was dismal in the form of equipment. The parking charge was excessive in my mind and I spoke to other guests who were NOT charged to use the fitness center...[...]. Then to top it off my room was next to a loud mother and child who were running back and forth & jumping on beds & screaming for two hours (11 PM - 1PM); the management finally came and resolved the situation after my third phone call. Great location, some staff were exceptional some were pretty rude...not sure I would stay there again especially since the parking & gym rate were equal to 50% of the room rate. I'm all for making a profit, but an honest profit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rambowe
Business
California
Dec 28, 2009

three star disguised as four.

Hotel room was small which was expected from downtown SF. The valet parking is $50 dollars, which is absurd because you can park next door for $20. To use the pool they charge $10 dollars a person. Hotel is a three star, nothing about the service, rooms, or property made me think it was a 4-star. The fact that they nickel and dime you for everything in the place means I will never go back. You pay more for a 4-star to use the pool facilities, not pay more to pay even more upon arrival for services that are standard for the star rating of the hotel. Next time ill stay at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from this hotel is a nice garage that you can park for $20 dollars overnight. Much cheaper than the $50 or so Nikko charges.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiti68
Business
Santa Cruz Mountains
Dec 14, 2009

The Hotel Nikko Rocks!

This was my 2nd trip to the Hotel Nikko in San Francisco! This time, I went with my 9 year old daughter. Our room was a petite queen, which for the money, I would step up and go for the deluxe king, which I had before. It is not that much more, and worth it. Our room was small, but clean, and quiet. It had everything we needed. We were shopping in the city for the holidays. After being on our feet all day shopping, we decided to use the pool facilities, which were very nice. an inside pool and hot tub, and in the lady's locker room, {no charge for lockers, but a one time $10 charge to use the gym-pool-locker)a sauna, steam room, and tons of fresh clean towels!!!! not to mention clean spa type showers! relaxing, and peaceful to say the least! then back up to our nice quiet room with nice crisp sheets, and a great mattress. I will stay in this hotel again. For the money, you get quite a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a few blocks to Macys, and all Union Square shopping

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Dec 11, 2009

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

I arrived extremely late and was met with a friendly person at the desk who quickly got me the key so I could get to the room. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was a great stay even though it was only one night. The business center was helpful and the hotel is very convenient to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego,ca
Nov 13, 2009

nikko

noisy on the 21st floor, steam bath and shower in the men' locker room broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississauga, ont.
Nov 10, 2009

Amazing Hotel

An absolutely amazing hotel. We stayed in the Imperial Club room and felt like we were traveling like royalty. Not enough time to describe how wonderful the hotel was, it made our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spinestar
Business
Guadalajara City
Nov 10, 2009

good for bussiness around union squere

there are soo cool no charm treatment to the people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around Union Squere

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Business
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW
Oct 5, 2009

Lovely location!

Great Japanese hotel, we appointed and wonderful location but no sign to find the place. It looks like a bank lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

in the heart of the shopping and easy to transportation. Quiet hotel and plenty of clean rooms.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grass Valley, Ca
Sep 29, 2009

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

This hotel is wonderful! My husband and I went there on our first overnight date without the kids in 16 years. It is centrally located in the heart of S.F. in a nice, safe neighborhood. Our initial room was not satisfactory,(it smelled like a cigarette, which is not allowed) and the staff graciously changed (and upgraded!) our room. We were also given an option to upgrade to a JR suite on the next night. We took the upgrade! Breakfast/brunch was fresh and delicious. The staff (from the valets, luggage handlers and front desk) are all professional, prompt and courteous. The pool/spa is the nicest in any hotel we've been in,with plenty of room for swimmers didn't echo alot, and there wasn't an overpowering chlorine smell.We had tickets for "WICKED" (very highly recommended!!) and the staff was very prompt and helpful getting us a cab to the theatre.There are lots of nice 24hr cafes' close by, Union Square was 2 blocks away as well as Market Street. We enjoyed a 2 hour tour atop the double-decker motorized cable car (also highly recommended) Our stay was fantastic. We cannot wait to come back, and bring our children with us. The JR suite is perfect for families with plenty of room for everyone.Also, we met some Chicago Cubs players in hotel lobby! Hotel Nikko is a 5 star hotel without the snobbiness. Just a wonderfully gracious spacious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top