$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
314 reviews
Family trip

Been close to the main stores, having to walk was great See full review

  • Sonia R.
  • Dec 21, 2014
Perfect!!

Location is perfect. Room cleanliness is perfect. Staff is perfect. But water pressure in washroom... See full review

  • Perfect
  • Nov 29, 2014
Sophistication with an Asian flair and an indoor pool near Union Square

Hotel Nikko feels more like Hong Kong than San Francisco. The lobby is spacious, featuring white marble and rooms are minimalist in design. The on-site restaurant, Anzu, serves up Asian food with a Japanese focus. Distances at the on-site pool are measured in meters. Just steps from Union Square and the Moscone Convention Center, the Nikko is perfectly located for business travelers in town for conventions. At the same time, it is comfortable for families accustomed to sophisticated luxury. 

Highlights
  • Live jazz at Feinstein's at the Nikko nightclub
  • A short walk from the shops and restaurants of Union Square
  • Spacious fifth-floor indoor pool
  • Sushi and other Asian-inspired fare available at on-site restaurant Anzu
Rooms

With 510 rooms and 22 suites, Hotel Nikko is one of the largest hotels in the Union Square area. All rooms boast views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Guests are pampered by amenities such as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, Frette linens, large flat panel TVs, stereos and CD players. The concierge floor and suite bathrooms feature miniature televisions set inside the main vanity mirror. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply).

 

Features

Luxuriate for an afternoon under the atrium of Hotel Nikko's fifth-floor solarium, which houses a pool, 24-hour fitness center and spa (fees apply). The Nicolas Salon, located in the lobby, provides expert hair styling for both men and women by appointment (fees apply).

Dining

Anzu, Hotel Nikko's second-floor restaurant, specializes in what it calls "EuroJapanese" cuisine -- a mixture of Japanese dishes and French and Spanish fare. The eatery's bar is known for its sake martinis. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

 

Entertainment

Feinstein's at the Nikko, a jazz lounge on the hotel's lobby level, offers a variety of headliner entertainment in an intimate and sophisticated setting. World-class entertainers such as Ashford & Simpson, Keely Smith and The Supremes' Mary Wilson perform most nights. The lounge offers a chic full bar, specialty cocktails and extensive wine list. Light cuisine also is available.

 

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 25th-floor function rooms offer panoramic views of city
  • 24-hour business center
  • Elegant ballroom for formal events
Policies and Fees

  • Pets are allowed at $50 per night. Deposit applies.
  • Parking is $50 USD + tax.
  • Valet parking is available (fees apply). Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available. Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy. Also, rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking (fees may apply). Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (314)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
314 out of 314
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen59
Business
Scranton, PA
Feb 3, 2014

Hotel Nikko

My mother and I were so pleasantly amazed at the level of customer service at The Hotel Nikko! I will definitely stay there again if I visit San Francisco - whether or not it is part of a conference. Well worth the money in every way. The staff covered all aspects of service - from holding the doors open and greeting you with a big smile and a "Welcome Back!" to absolutely flawless room service. I love being able to text the concierge - and receive a response within minutes! Phenomenal all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent entertainment at Feinstein's in the Hotel Nikko! Great lounge and restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Business
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW
Oct 5, 2009

Lovely location!

Great Japanese hotel, we appointed and wonderful location but no sign to find the place. It looks like a bank lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

in the heart of the shopping and easy to transportation. Quiet hotel and plenty of clean rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grass Valley, Ca
Sep 29, 2009

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

This hotel is wonderful! My husband and I went there on our first overnight date without the kids in 16 years. It is centrally located in the heart of S.F. in a nice, safe neighborhood. Our initial room was not satisfactory,(it smelled like a cigarette, which is not allowed) and the staff graciously changed (and upgraded!) our room. We were also given an option to upgrade to a JR suite on the next night. We took the upgrade! Breakfast/brunch was fresh and delicious. The staff (from the valets, luggage handlers and front desk) are all professional, prompt and courteous. The pool/spa is the nicest in any hotel we've been in,with plenty of room for swimmers didn't echo alot, and there wasn't an overpowering chlorine smell.We had tickets for "WICKED" (very highly recommended!!) and the staff was very prompt and helpful getting us a cab to the theatre.There are lots of nice 24hr cafes' close by, Union Square was 2 blocks away as well as Market Street. We enjoyed a 2 hour tour atop the double-decker motorized cable car (also highly recommended) Our stay was fantastic. We cannot wait to come back, and bring our children with us. The JR suite is perfect for families with plenty of room for everyone.Also, we met some Chicago Cubs players in hotel lobby! Hotel Nikko is a 5 star hotel without the snobbiness. Just a wonderfully gracious spacious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 13, 2009

Brautiful, good location, good price

We appreciated the quiet, the safety, and the range of food offerings in and around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Glide Memorial United Methodist Church one block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 9, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was clean, quiet and in a great location. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to First Crush, or Farmer Brown's both just a short walk from Hotel Nikko!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 4, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Excellent hotel in the downtown area. Close to Moscone Center and other hotels. Easy to get to from SFO airport. Great health club, gym and facilities. Room was thoroughly cleaned every day and was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fifth Floor restaurant in Hotel Palomar has excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
instereo
Business
calgary
Sep 1, 2009

Great Stay

Hotel was great. Provided everything that was needed very quickly. The only bad thing that i can say is that the neighboorhood gets pretty sketchy a block or two away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mason Cafe a block away was really good. Be careful not to wander too far into the tenderloin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2009

Convenient Location, Average Hotel

I stayed at Hotel Nikko for a short 4 night/ 5 day vacation. The location was good, just three blocks from the Powell/Market transit hub where you can pick up cable car lines, subway, F Line streetcar, and BART to and from the airport. The lobby was quite beautiful with sweeping ceilings, elegant furniture, and carrera marble floors. The room, however, certainly lived up to its name of "Petite Queen", just enough room for one person but still rather tight. The furniture and fixtures were newish but the ventilation system was spastic at best and left the room stale. The windows did not open and I had to set the temperature to 60F to get any kind of air moving. There was no room in the minibar for personal items, and moving anything stocked AUTOMATICALLY triggers a sale. I called housekeeping for fridge space; after two calls and 45 mins they brought me a beat up tiny fridge that didn't work and smelled like feet. I ended up putting my stuff on ice as best I could. Hotel Nikko wasn't awful but if I were to travel to San Francisco again I wouldn't stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firecrotch
Business
Galt, ca
Aug 31, 2009

A great spot in San francisco

It was great except you have to pay to use there buisness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best steaks in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two women in love
Business
Northampton, MA
Aug 30, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel was in a great location, about two blocks from Powell St. Station the location of cable cars, BART train, and buses. The room was a bit small but had great views and was spotless. The staff was very responsive to our requests. The locker room included a steam room and sauna, both top notch. At night the pool and hot tub area were a bit crowded with families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure you research at least a couple of restaurants and markets nearby. There are so many options, one could walk for miles and hours before finding the "perfect fit". Not such a pleasant experience on an empty stomach. The hotel was great and I would definitely book it again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top