$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
302 reviews
Perfect in every way!

To preface this review, we were on the 23rd floor which has some extra amenities. The view from our... See full review

  • Wino Traveler
  • Sep 24, 2014
Hotel Nikko-Great place to stay in San Fran

The Hotel Nikko was an excellent place to stay for business. It is centrally located near both... See full review

  • Boise Biz Traveler
  • Aug 25, 2014
Luxury Hotel, Four Diamond Property with a premier location off Union Square and steps away from San Francisco's restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Our guests can enjoy the extensive health club atop the fifth floor, with a glass-enclosed swimming pool, spa area, and masseuse. Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus featuring America's highest quality prime aged cuts of beef and fish flown in daily for the freshest sushi.

Overnight parking is $45 + tax, $55 for oversized vehicles + tax.

The Health Club charge is $20 per stay. Access to the health club is available 24hours.

Fees apply for the following services: Pets, High Speed Internet, Pool, Health Club, Wireless Internet, In-room Internet Charges are $15.95 per computer, per room, every 24 hours.

Upon check-in, photo identification and credit card are required for incidental charges. For Internet bookings, the hotel has a mandatory policy that requires valid photo identification and valid credit card upon check-in. Both forms of ID must reflect the name on the reservation. The hotel will not honor this reservation if required identification is not available.

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on hotel policy.

Rollaway beds and cribs (infant beds) may be available and should be requested at the time of booking; fees may apply.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests made via this Web site cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The hotel is completely SMOKE FREE.

All Imperial Club rooms include complimentary Continental breakfast (or hot buffet breakfast in ANZU restaurant) per paying adult, in the exclusive Imperial Club Lounge.

Pet friendly ($50 fee / night + deposit apply)

Hotel Map

37.7857 -122.4093
Area served
San Francisco, Oakland, Marin, Napa, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport(SFO) Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Jose International Airport(SJC)
Area description
Hotel Nikko offers a premier location just off Union Square and the Theater District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nikko San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Nikko San Francisco Rooms

Deluxe King or Double
Deluxe King or Double-364-420 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 3 people. These rooms are based around warm earth tones and the needs of the business traveler. All rooms are equipped with a writing desk, two telephones, high speed internet wireless access (fee),iron & ironing board,phone chargers and music cables, cable television, laptop safe,hairdryer, minibar and refrigerator and coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms have a granite sink counter and some rooms have a separate shower and bathtub.
Petite Queen Room
Petite Queen Room - 267 Sq. Ft. with a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The rooms are 100% non-smoking and have a modern streamlined design in warm earth tones and rich walnut-toned furnishings. The room is equipped with high speed internet access (fee), a writing desk, coffee maker, full size iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable television and a bedside telephone data port. The bathroom has a granite sink counter top and a combination bathtub and shower. All petite queen rooms are on the south side of the hotel and have a partial views of the peninsula or the bay.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
An elegant ballroom. Sweeping, panoramic views of the city and bay from our 25th floor function rooms. An event coordinator to assure perfection. Could there be a better setting for your next event? At Hotel Nikko, we handle gatherings of almost any size, from a 10 person meeting to an 800 person cocktail reception. And with all meals created by the chefs at ANZU, rest assured your specially prepared food will be remembered long after the event has ended.

Dining

Restaurant ANZU
Restaurant ANZU, located just above the lobby, is the perfect setting for breakfast and offers lunch and dinner menus with a unique approach to modern Japanese cuisine reflecting Japanese sensibilities with influences from France, Italy & Spain. An array of delectable selections are made even more enjoyable by exceptional service. Elegant surroundings feature tasteful cream and taupe decor, exquisite marble flooring, and ebony and light hickory wood tones.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (302)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
302 out of 302
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle N
San Jose, CA
Jul 10, 2013

Great weekend getaway

My husband and I were able to enjoy a wonderful weekend together at Hotel Nikko. The health and fitness club is great because we are both health nuts. Totally convenient and great location. Staff was very attentive and very friendly and courteous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rambowe
Business
California
Dec 28, 2009

three star disguised as four.

Hotel room was small which was expected from downtown SF. The valet parking is $50 dollars, which is absurd because you can park next door for $20. To use the pool they charge $10 dollars a person. Hotel is a three star, nothing about the service, rooms, or property made me think it was a 4-star. The fact that they nickel and dime you for everything in the place means I will never go back. You pay more for a 4-star to use the pool facilities, not pay more to pay even more upon arrival for services that are standard for the star rating of the hotel. Next time ill stay at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from this hotel is a nice garage that you can park for $20 dollars overnight. Much cheaper than the $50 or so Nikko charges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiti68
Business
Santa Cruz Mountains
Dec 14, 2009

The Hotel Nikko Rocks!

This was my 2nd trip to the Hotel Nikko in San Francisco! This time, I went with my 9 year old daughter. Our room was a petite queen, which for the money, I would step up and go for the deluxe king, which I had before. It is not that much more, and worth it. Our room was small, but clean, and quiet. It had everything we needed. We were shopping in the city for the holidays. After being on our feet all day shopping, we decided to use the pool facilities, which were very nice. an inside pool and hot tub, and in the lady's locker room, {no charge for lockers, but a one time $10 charge to use the gym-pool-locker)a sauna, steam room, and tons of fresh clean towels!!!! not to mention clean spa type showers! relaxing, and peaceful to say the least! then back up to our nice quiet room with nice crisp sheets, and a great mattress. I will stay in this hotel again. For the money, you get quite a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a few blocks to Macys, and all Union Square shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Dec 11, 2009

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

I arrived extremely late and was met with a friendly person at the desk who quickly got me the key so I could get to the room. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was a great stay even though it was only one night. The business center was helpful and the hotel is very convenient to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KY
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 19, 2009

Awful and Dirty Hotel

Other than the location, this hotel was awful and my room was not very clean at all! When I first arrived, I had to request fresh linens because the sheets on my bed had hair on them. The furniture was old, tatered and worn and looked like something someone threw out for the trash on the curb. The carpet and the curtains were stained and there were scuff marks all over the walls. Even the lamp shade had stains. I took pictures and emailed them to management. Even they could not deny the poor condition of the room. The only good thing about Hotel Nikko is, it's in walking distance of everything - great shopping, good restaurants etc. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. If I'm ever in the San Fran area again, I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even the great location of the hotel is not worth the stay. It was way too dirty for the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego,ca
Nov 13, 2009

nikko

noisy on the 21st floor, steam bath and shower in the men' locker room broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississauga, ont.
Nov 10, 2009

Amazing Hotel

An absolutely amazing hotel. We stayed in the Imperial Club room and felt like we were traveling like royalty. Not enough time to describe how wonderful the hotel was, it made our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spinestar
Business
Guadalajara City
Nov 10, 2009

good for bussiness around union squere

there are soo cool no charm treatment to the people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

around Union Squere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Business
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW
Oct 5, 2009

Lovely location!

Great Japanese hotel, we appointed and wonderful location but no sign to find the place. It looks like a bank lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

in the heart of the shopping and easy to transportation. Quiet hotel and plenty of clean rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grass Valley, Ca
Sep 29, 2009

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

This hotel is wonderful! My husband and I went there on our first overnight date without the kids in 16 years. It is centrally located in the heart of S.F. in a nice, safe neighborhood. Our initial room was not satisfactory,(it smelled like a cigarette, which is not allowed) and the staff graciously changed (and upgraded!) our room. We were also given an option to upgrade to a JR suite on the next night. We took the upgrade! Breakfast/brunch was fresh and delicious. The staff (from the valets, luggage handlers and front desk) are all professional, prompt and courteous. The pool/spa is the nicest in any hotel we've been in,with plenty of room for swimmers didn't echo alot, and there wasn't an overpowering chlorine smell.We had tickets for "WICKED" (very highly recommended!!) and the staff was very prompt and helpful getting us a cab to the theatre.There are lots of nice 24hr cafes' close by, Union Square was 2 blocks away as well as Market Street. We enjoyed a 2 hour tour atop the double-decker motorized cable car (also highly recommended) Our stay was fantastic. We cannot wait to come back, and bring our children with us. The JR suite is perfect for families with plenty of room for everyone.Also, we met some Chicago Cubs players in hotel lobby! Hotel Nikko is a 5 star hotel without the snobbiness. Just a wonderfully gracious spacious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top