$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel Nikko San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Worst Hotel Experience on the strip
Business
Orange County
Nov 4, 2009

Small Hotel

The pool was cold and the bottom of the pool was coming apart. The jacuzzi was barely 65 degrees and we had to pay an additional fee at checkin to even use it! The hotel products and amenities are cheap and horrible, comparable to a cheap motel. The room is so extremely small there isnt even anywhere to put a suitcase. The television barely had 10 channels and most of them were static. We ordered two desserts for room service and the bill was 42 dollars. When I asked the staff for information about THEIR restuarant they were short with me and not informative. We tried to ask for extra towels and it took over 45 minutes so we had to just go to the health center and grab a bunch. The only plus about this hotel is that there is a starbucks on site. We also could not get a bellmen to come to the room so we carried our own bags. For the price stay at a Red Lion or something at fishermens wharf because the location is hardly worth the horrible hotel and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had Marrakesh for dinner it was only a block away, very fun and entertaining.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wendell, Ma
Aug 23, 2009

great value, great help with questions

The time we spent at your hotel was wonderful. It is centrally located - very close to dining, historic and shopping venues. S.F. is a wonderful city, very easy to get around and so many great things to do. We asked for dining suggestions almost daily and were very pleased with our experiences. I would suggest your hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We rented a car for one day and got to see so many things. We had thought of doing a tour but it was less expensive to rent the car and we had a blast!

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just an ordinary guy
Business
Tracy, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Really nice hotel with large hidden fees

My girlfriend and I stayed there for Valentine's Day. It was very nice except for some hidden fees. You have no choice but to use their valet parking ($54 daily). The sign stating the price was facing the window of ENTERPRISE rent-a-car rather than the driveway, so you have no way of knowing the price until you have a claim ticket in your hand and your car is already parked. The room was very nice. We got the room with a single king bed. Half the room was taken by a VERY extravagant bathroom. As for the living area, there was little more room than needed to walk around the edge of the bed. BEWARE of the mini-fridge. It has sensors to detect if an item is removed. If you remove an item just to merely LOOK at it and put it back - you will be charged. Also the single-pane windows make you VERY aware of what is going on in the street - even on the 12th floor. Overall it was a nice stay - but it will probably be my last in this particular hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

On a holiday such as St. Valentine's Day...don't plan on eating at ANZU, the restaurant in the hotel. That is unless you feel like paying the FIXED PRICE of $98.00 per person.

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thomas G.
Business
Ann Arbor
Mar 12, 2015

Expensive and not as advertised

I read that the pool was included in price and was 24hrs but I was sadly mistaken. The internet access was very expensive but the view was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richie Rich 24
Business
Rancho Cucamonga
Mar 18, 2015

Weekend in San Francisco

First thing you'll notice is that the rooms in this hotel are very small. Wish there was a little less room in the restroom so there's more space for the bedroom. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Watch out for parking! Very expensive around that area. The neighbor is a little loud so be prepared.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sugar and Honey
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 7, 2014

No Comment

We visited Pier 39 and the room had an excellent view. The bed was very comfortable. The room were very small and the staff very unfriendly and uncaring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
botheredbyextracharges
Business
El Cerrito CA
Jan 2, 2014

Prepare for additional charge for pool

Very disappointed to find that there was an additional $20 charge to use the pool and fitness area. Otherwise it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
falmito
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Jan 12, 2014

Dissappointed

Thought more highly of the name. Room was ridiculously small and I think there was fungus on the grout around the bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yayjames
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 13, 2014

3 Star at Best

Great Staff. Awesome Location! Visited San Fran with my girlfriend. It was her first time here so, I thought I would get a 'fancier' hotel to make her experience more enjoyable. We had a great time in the city and the staff were very friendly. The room we got however was not to par.. Only complaint about the staff was that it took over 30 minutes to get our luggage #I think they forgot until I called them#. We were waiting to go out to explore the city. The room was very small/tiny and we felt very claustrophobic. Furniture was laid out like it was a storage room. Carpet was very grimy looking and feeling. It was pretty gross to say the least. I kept my socks and shoes on the rest of the time. On the other hand.. bed was comfy, bathroom was decent. We did not stay in the room a lot, however when we were there it was a bit noisy. Sounded like someone was moving furniture around. I have stayed at the Hilton across the street which is also a 4 Star Hotel and it was much better experience. I have stayed in other cities, in 3 star hotels that were much better. That's why I would say this is a 3 Star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dolce B
Business
San Ramon
Jan 29, 2014

Room is small

Spent New Year's Eve here. The room I got was smaller than I expected. Aside from that, staying here was great because of the location, security and convenience (bar and restos, Starbucks in the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great Thai restaurant not far from here.

Back to menu Return to top