$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Hotel Metropolis

2 stars
View map of 25 Mason St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metropolis

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coffee cheese
Business
Kr
Feb 14, 2013

good location

Near the Union Square, shopping mall, and cable car. The room is clean and nice. Except there are many homeless people around the hotel. if you are travel alone, take care!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine from Sacramento
Business
Sacramento, ca
Feb 5, 2013

perfect for adult travelers....

the hotel was clean staff was very friendly. this is a good choice to stay if you plan to use public transportation during your stay! 1 bus ride to the ferry bldg, 1 muni ride to at&t park, 7.00 cab ride to north beach/broadway. There are homeless people outside the hotel, however, the Ritz Carlton is 3 blocks down and there is also homeless people outside the hotel too. So expect it where ever you go in this great city, they are just homeless.. that's it, they don't bother you. I didn't even get asked for change. I would stay here again for the convenience, price, and safety. although my bed was a bit saggy in the middle and if you are a light sleeper this isn't the place for you... you're on Market Street where the bus lines run all night. I had a midsize suv and paid $30 a day its gated and security all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lylajens
Business
Connecticut
Nov 18, 2012

Great spot and a great price

We stayed at the Metropolis to attend a conference up the street at the Marriott. It was very close (easy walking distance), good restaurants also within walking distance. Hotel personnel were very nice and helpful, the shower was great! We had a great view. The bed had a slight divot in the center (that's my only not so great experience), otherwise everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lp2560
Business
Minnesota
Oct 25, 2012

Just OK

Th neighborhood was bereft but we never felt unsafe. Things were ok within a block or two. For transportation, it was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gretalou
Business
Denver
Oct 21, 2012

Good place 2blks the wrong way.

Very clean nice staff just 2 blocks in the wrong direction. If I was a single woman I would be afraid to walk back to the hotel alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to BART easy/cheap to get to and from SFO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suemallory
Business
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2012

Let down

I would never recommend this hotel. It was unseasonably warm in SF and there was no air conditioning. The room was like an oven. Window opened only a few inches. I was awakened throughout the night, with loud noise from the people in the street below. It was a less than desire able area. I cancelled my second night to move to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sophie S
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 28, 2012

Good location and affordable price

Great location! Bart was a block away and so were the cable cars. Great food and shopping within walking distance. Room was clean and spacious for the two of us. We didn't stay in the hotel that much only to sleep. We were always on the go. If you're looking for a clean, nice and convenient place to stay then this is the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget 1st class traveler
Business
Southern California
Sep 25, 2012

Great Budget Boutique

If you're looking for that boutique experience but you're on a budget, the Hotel Metropolis is the place for you. Understated, stylish decor in lobby, library lounge, and rooms in a beautifully restored 1920s beaux arts building, clean rooms and comfy beds with flat screen TVs, friendly and helpful staff, great big ice machines, elevator, great location - just a block from the Powell Bart station, fabulous farmer's market restaurant and bar downstairs (not affiliated with the hotel), blocks from Civic Center, Chinatown, and other landmarks. San Francisco never gets too hot, so the lack of AC is not too much of an issue, but it would be a good future building upgrade for the hotel to take. If the rooms had mini-fridges as permanent amenities (rather than upon request), that would improve the overall in-room quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Powell Street BART station is just a block away, which makes geting to and from SF and Oakland Airports easy as pie!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love San Fran
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 25, 2012

great for transportation

room was really small, could barely walk around the small bed - desk - nightstand and small frig on floor. the bathroom was nice, shower worked ok and the shampoo/cond/lotion were nice. Staff at desk was helpful and pleasant. best that it was close to the Powell station. If I wanted to stay more in a room I would go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

really appreciated how close to Powell Station, bus and cable cars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget 1st class traveler
Business
Southern California
Sep 25, 2012

Great Budget Boutique

Wonderful boutique hotel for budget conscious travelers! Stylish, comfortable, clean, close to Powell Street BART station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

1 block from Powell Street BART!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top