$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1625 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
382 reviews
If you love Japan, you'll fall in love with Hotel Kabuki

The room looks just like a japanese room, only larger (hey, it's America). Not to mention the... See full review

  • MarkV76
  • Jul 25, 2014
Vacation

This was our first trip to San Francisco. The location was close to everything. The room was... See full review

  • Princess Maria
  • Jun 29, 2014
Asian flair, boutique comfort and Izakaya lounge in Japantown

Elegant furnishings and rice-paper screens characterize this 16-story Japantown icon, which anchors the east end of the Japan Center near Pacific Heights. The hotel opened in 1968 and was renovated completely in 2007. Guests of the Hotel Kabuki can choose between rooms with Eastern or Western flair. The O Izakaya Lounge serves Japanese-inspired small plates and cocktails. Also worth noting is the $6 million collection of authentic Japanese art.

Highlights
  • Authentic Asian flair
  • Located next to Japan Center, walking distance to Pacific Heights
  • Hip lounge with a Japanese-baseball theme serves tapas-style dishes and tasty cocktails
  • $6 million Japanese art collection
Location

Situated on the east end of Japan Center, the Hotel Kabuki is within walking distance of shops, restaurants and other Asian-themed establishments. The Sundance Kabuki Cinema, which specializes in independent films, is just down the street from the hotel.

Rooms
All 218 guest rooms (including 13 suites) were renovated in 2007. Accommodations come standard with luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, bathrobes, safes, iPod docking stations and Asian tea kettles. Many also offer stunning views of the city skyline and Wi-Fi is available (fees apply). Depending on availability, guests of the Hotel Kabuki choose an Eastern- or a Western-themed room. Western-themed rooms have traditional shower/tub combos; Eastern-themed rooms come with Japanese-style deep tubs for soaking.
Features

All guests have access to in-room spa treatments, a 24-hour fitness center and a 24-hour business center. The Hotel Kabuki also boasts wonderful Japanese art -- part of a collection valued at $6 million -- and Japanese garden with a koi pond.

Dining

For more Asian influence, try the O Izakaya Lounge, the on-site restaurant, which serves Asian-inspired small plates and tasty cocktails. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Japan Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fillmore Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour self-service business center
  • 14,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/video experts
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $40 USD per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7859 -122.4284
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco-SFO Oakland-OAK San Jose-SJC
Area description
Centrally located at the base of San Francisco's upscale Pacific Heights neighborhood, the Hotel Kabuki San Francisco is convenient to all the major San Francisco attractions and commercial areas, including Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, Civic Center, Moscone Convention Center and much more. Just steps away from the Hotel Kabuki San Francisco are an array of unique shops, movie theaters and restaurants in Japan town and along Fillmore St.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Renovated Standard Room - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms offer one king bed and all of the standard amenities. 175 sq.ft V 210 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Tower Room-Free High Speed Internet
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms are more generous in size and offer one king bed and a chaise for relaxing as well as a table for in room dining and sliding glass doors to a wrap around balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. 250 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Club Room-Free High Speed Internet - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms offer one king bed, a bathtub with whirlpool jets and are located on the club level of the hotel. 250 sq.ft E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated City View Room - 2 double bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. These guestrooms offer two double beds and are located on floors eleven through sixteen thereby showcasing views of the city and hills of San Francisco from the sliding glass door to the balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated City View Room - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. These guestrooms offer one king bed and are located on floors eleven through sixteen thereby showcasing views of the city and hills of San Francisco from the sliding glass door to the balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated Standard Room - 2 double bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms offer two double beds and all of the standard amenities. 175 sq.ft V 210 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated Corner Room - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms are more generous in size and offer one king bed and a chaise for relaxing as well as a table for in room dining and sliding glass doors to a wrap around balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. 250 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • SoMa: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi

Dining

O Izakaya Lounge
A modern American twist on the popular Japanese izakaya houses (drinking establishments that also serve food shared by everyone at a table), O Izakaya Lounge will feature small plates of Japanese cuisine in a convivial, sports-themed atmosphere. The restaurant also feature over original Sake base cocktails. There are three sake flights for beginners to try and over 20 sake selection to satisfy sake lovers. The restaurant and bar open to guests and the public for breakfast, cocktails and dinner. Restaurant is closed Monday and Tuesday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (382)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fantomas
Marin, California
Jun 18, 2012

a real disappointment

Given that the outside of the hotel is being refurbished they need to do much more than that to make this a great or even good place to stay. The room itself was clean but very worn. That is very little logic in how things are laid out. They coffee had to be dug out of the closet to be used, the T.V. was on the far side of the room (and even though we don't watch T.V., it would have meant playing it at top volume to if we had wanted to). There was only one coffee mug in the room, only one robe, no facecloths and it talk 3 calls to get the extra mug. The robe and face cloths never appeared. It was nice to be in Japantown but the hotel really is not nice enough to stay at again. There was also a lot of street noise. We did not pay full price for the room so were ok with the stay. The full listed price is as high as many of the better San Francisco Hotels (or higher) we have stayed in. Had we paid full price we would have felt really ripped off. They also do no validate for the parking garage so if you eat or shop in Japantown be sure to get the validation from that establishment. Would not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vien thao
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 21, 2007

conference

parking is expensive. rate is same for guest, as well for nonguest. treamill is not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to restaurants, and coffee shops.

Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truth
Palo Alto
Oct 24, 2011

Forget it about it

Shared parking with a busy mall ($18 - valet was full!), p...c hair on the toilat that I had to fix because of water leak. Staff with fake smiles, one of the worst breakfast buffet - tasteless plastic. I asked the server (old Asian woman) if they have gluten free bread and she answered that they don't serve free breakfast. I wish I could put this exchange and more on you-tube. Stay away from this over priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travooller
FL
Apr 26, 2009

BEWARE

The actual hotel is okay. It's average, but beware. My flight left at 6AM, so I had to leave the hotel around 4AM. When I tried to leave and to go the airport, the self parking garage they told me to park in was closed. They said if I want to get my car I needed to pay $50. I knew nothing about this but then the guy at the front desk pointed out a little piece of paper they had it written on. So, they extorted $50 out of me and wouldn't even let me put it on a credit card. They made me pay the security guard $50 cash to open the garage gate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't go here with a car

Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jsohn001
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 27, 2012

Beware if you are taking your dog!!!!

I stayed at this hotel because it was a good deal and was listed as pet friendly. While they don't charge extra for your pet, when I checked out they found that I had spilled some water on the floor and charged me more than the hotel fee saying that my dog urinated. They were looking to charge people with pets with any little excuse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travooller
FL
Apr 26, 2009

BEWARE

The actual hotel is okay. It's average, but beware. My flight left at 6AM, so I had to leave the hotel around 4AM. When I tried to leave and to go the airport, the self parking garage they told me to park in was closed. They said if I want to get my car I needed to pay $50. I knew nothing about this but then the guy at the front desk pointed out a little piece of paper they had it written on. So, they extorted $50 out of me and wouldn't even let me put it on a credit card. They made me pay the security guard $50 cash to open the garage gate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

don't go here with a car

Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mommy of 7
Northern Cali
Jan 23, 2011

Will never stay again! They stole!!

My experience sucked....Prices for items in the roomed changed daily and the housekeeping stole my medication and didn't even write up the employee. I was however, comped a night but had to jump through many hoops just to get my meds back and they never offered to pay for the reimbursement of my medication. Do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vien thao
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 21, 2007

conference

parking is expensive. rate is same for guest, as well for nonguest. treamill is not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to restaurants, and coffee shops.

Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mommy of 7
Northern Cali
Jan 23, 2011

Will never stay again! They stole!!

My experience sucked....Prices for items in the roomed changed daily and the housekeeping stole my medication and didn't even write up the employee. I was however, comped a night but had to jump through many hoops just to get my meds back and they never offered to pay for the reimbursement of my medication. Do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HimeNickie
Sf
Jul 9, 2012

The Service

I feel that the front desk clerk was rather unfriendly. I reserved the room for adult guest of four. It was a queen size bed and a roll in stretcher. Then, there was not enough towels and toilet tree to accommodate for four people. The worst of it all was the bath tub that had a dark ring around that was not cleaned. The whole experience made me wonder whether or not If I can trust another offer from you. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top