$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1625 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94115
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
243 reviews
Great place

Clean comfortable and great location it's a must come back type of hotel! See full review

  • George707
  • Oct 2, 2014
Fantastic

Staying at the Hotel Kabuki put a major highlight for my wife and I on our stay in San Francisco... See full review

  • erik1975
  • Sep 5, 2014
Asian flair, boutique comfort and Izakaya lounge in Japantown

Elegant furnishings and rice-paper screens characterize this 16-story Japantown icon, which anchors the east end of the Japan Center near Pacific Heights. The hotel opened in 1968 and was renovated completely in 2007. Guests of the Hotel Kabuki can choose between rooms with Eastern or Western flair. The O Izakaya Lounge serves Japanese-inspired small plates and cocktails. Also worth noting is the $6 million collection of authentic Japanese art.

Highlights
  • Authentic Asian flair
  • Located next to Japan Center, walking distance to Pacific Heights
  • Hip lounge with a Japanese-baseball theme serves tapas-style dishes and tasty cocktails
  • $6 million Japanese art collection
Location

Situated on the east end of Japan Center, the Hotel Kabuki is within walking distance of shops, restaurants and other Asian-themed establishments. The Sundance Kabuki Cinema, which specializes in independent films, is just down the street from the hotel.

Rooms
All 218 guest rooms (including 13 suites) were renovated in 2007. Accommodations come standard with luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, bathrobes, safes, iPod docking stations and Asian tea kettles. Many also offer stunning views of the city skyline and Wi-Fi is available (fees apply). Depending on availability, guests of the Hotel Kabuki choose an Eastern- or a Western-themed room. Western-themed rooms have traditional shower/tub combos; Eastern-themed rooms come with Japanese-style deep tubs for soaking.
Features

All guests have access to in-room spa treatments, a 24-hour fitness center and a 24-hour business center. The Hotel Kabuki also boasts wonderful Japanese art -- part of a collection valued at $6 million -- and Japanese garden with a koi pond.

Dining

For more Asian influence, try the O Izakaya Lounge, the on-site restaurant, which serves Asian-inspired small plates and tasty cocktails. The restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner daily.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Attractions
  • Japan Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Fillmore Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Golden Gate Park (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour self-service business center
  • 14,000 square feet of meeting space
  • On-site audio/video experts
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking fee is $45 USD per night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Tower Room-Free High Speed Internet
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms are more generous in size and offer one king bed and a chaise for relaxing as well as a table for in room dining and sliding glass doors to a wrap around balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. 250 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Club Room-Free High Speed Internet - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms offer one king bed, a bathtub with whirlpool jets and are located on the club level of the hotel. 250 sq.ft E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated City View Room - 2 double bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. These guestrooms offer two double beds and are located on floors eleven through sixteen thereby showcasing views of the city and hills of San Francisco from the sliding glass door to the balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated City View Room - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. These guestrooms offer one king bed and are located on floors eleven through sixteen thereby showcasing views of the city and hills of San Francisco from the sliding glass door to the balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated Standard Room - 2 double bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms offer two double beds and all of the standard amenities. 175 sq.ft V 210 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated Corner Room - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms are more generous in size and offer one king bed and a chaise for relaxing as well as a table for in room dining and sliding glass doors to a wrap around balcony. These rooms also offer traditional Japanese soaking tub. 250 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet
Renovated Standard Room - 1 king bed
The guestrooms at Hotel Kabuki are newly renovated in a refined and serene style in 2007. these guestrooms offer one king bed and all of the standard amenities. 175 sq.ft V 210 sq.ft EComplimentary wireless high speed internet E26 inch Flat LCD TV EiPod Docking Station EWorking Desk with Ergonomic Chair EFree Wireless high-speed Internet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 0.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Union Square: 1.2 mi
  • SoMa: 1.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.9 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.9 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.9 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.9 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.9 mi

Dining

O Izakaya Lounge
A modern American twist on the popular Japanese izakaya houses (drinking establishments that also serve food shared by everyone at a table), O Izakaya Lounge will feature small plates of Japanese cuisine in a convivial, sports-themed atmosphere. The restaurant also feature over original Sake base cocktails. There are three sake flights for beginners to try and over 20 sake selection to satisfy sake lovers. The restaurant and bar open to guests and the public for breakfast, cocktails and dinner. Restaurant is closed Monday and Tuesday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 15, 2011

Pretty Good for Conference

I arrived at the hotel in the evening, for a conference to be held the next day. The staff was courteous, the hotel was clean. I was bumped up to a corner king at no extra charge. My room was pleasant. The bed was quite comfortable, and the view was decent enough; the windows were hidden behind sliding paper doors, which was a nice touch. The conference itself went smoothly. Breakfast and lunch were catered by the hotel, and the first day, were fairly good. The second day, only fair. I made use of the business lounge to print and scan some documents while I was there; easy to use, though rather more expensive than perhaps it should be. Overall, I think it was a good venue for a small conference. Japantown provides nice distractions when you aren't in meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a number of restaurants nearby that serve Japanese cuisine for less than the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunrat808
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 26, 2011

Hotel Kabuki, a great hotel

The decor' was very attractive and practical. The bathroom layout was excellent. Elevators were very fast. The rooms were very quite. We did not know someone was staying next door until we saw the room service dishes in front of their door the next morning. The heater worked well and was quite as well. If they could fix the horrible weather the rest of the trip would have been a lot better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange, CA
Mar 1, 2011

My Husband & I Loved it. Thank you

We trully enjoyed the place. It was a surprise get away for my Husband. His words : I slept like a Baby! Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Feb 27, 2011

Neat Hotel, Neat Part of the City

The hotel was uniquely Japanese themed but noticeably smaller rooms than the pictures on the website provide. Having a larger bathroom shower was nice. The walls are fairly paper thin and seem to provide room for overhearing many guests around you. Hotel Kabuki does have a lovely Japanese garden and ground area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Almost every restaurant near the hotel is Japanese Sushi or Japanese BBQ. If you want food of a different ethnicity, you will have to make a longer walk outside of Japantown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2011

excellent hotel

I visit sanfran about twice a year. The hotel staff was very helpful and the room was spacious,comfortable with a large deep tub and separate shower which was wonderful. The Kabuki Spa and Springs and Sundance Theatre were within walking distance (which i highly recommend) as well as public transportation. Union Square is about a 10minute bus ride if you take the 38 from Geary st. The only issue with this hotel is that there is no decent restaurant and the work out room is small and limited other then that I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 23, 2011

3 days in Japantown

was visiting my son who lives in San Francisco. I like the Hotel Kabuki and have stayed there before. This time I was unhappy with how cold the bathroom was, especially the toilet. That would give me cause to consider staying elswhere else next time. Otherwise the hotel was fine. Really appreciated the free WiFi. Earlier in the week I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton and paid ~$14 a day for WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Feb 22, 2011

Hotel Kabuki

For having been remodeled recently, our room looked old and kind of dirty. The wallpaper was peeling off and I could see gross moldy looking stuff in between that and the wall. The furniture in the room was newer, but I would hardly call that a recently remodeled hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vlujan143
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 21, 2011

Ladies Mini get away

The hotel was very nice. A couple downfalls- I went with my girlfriends, I did not realize the shower door was clear glass window. We managed to work with it. The hotel is a cab drive to the main areas i.e- Market, Ferry building. The door man wasn't to helpful on the area, we arrived Friday night and were hungry we asked what was open and he suggested Mel's Dinner. I didn't go to SF to eat Mel's. On Sunday we got to do some walking (after the rain had stopped) and then realized there were so many little shops and bars down Fillmore 2 blocks away, which I wish he would have mentioned. Overall this was a great weekend with the exception of Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ferry Building- they have a lot of little food shops and this great Wine bar!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Feb 13, 2011

wonderful

Beautiful room, appreciate the extra spaciousness

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Japan Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ccb mom
Business
Oak Harbor ,Washington
Feb 6, 2011

It was a nice hotel

The hotel was nice we had a our own balcony and bathroom was quiet different for a new experience but not what I expected. The continental Breakfast was not free and cost was a lot for a family on a budget.There was no pool for my kids. The local resteraunts were all japanese with sushi on the menu .Hard to find places for kid friendly food. five or more blocks away were family and budget friendly eating places.Close to the UCSF medical ,but not to other city attractions . safe place to walk , had no problems .enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan to walk a lot while there .Public transportation was very easy to use.People are very helpful there in the city. Dining places are all over the city and so you will have to travel to them. plus shopping is the same . find a map and ask about public transportation , its a great place to vist. We took a bus tour of the city and boat tour in the same day ,it was fabulous ! would do it again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top