$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1625 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94115

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin2012
Business
Sacramento
May 23, 2012

Great experience

Arrived early and allowed to check in around 2pm. Great location. Rooms and hotel with beautiful decor. The only downside is expensive parking in the underground Japan center garage, however, this is SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttfy
Business
sacramento
May 22, 2012

Good place

Good location and place to stay. Had issues with water leakage from my room's roof. Don't know if this place is already getting too old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knyus
Business
New York
May 16, 2012

Quiet, friendly hotel in Japan district

The staff were friendly at all times and responded quickly to all questions. Room was clean and I love the bath shower arrangement. It seems a bit off the beaten track, but it is surprisingly close to downtown and great for going west and not having to fight with downtown traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m. william
Business
philadelphia
Apr 23, 2012

A fun,relaxed week in San Francisco!!

The Hotel Kabuki is a nice hotel in the middle of Japantown and is a very relaxinq and tranquil environment. The Hotel has a courtyard in the middle with a classic Japanese garden and many of the rooms provide a terrific view of the garden. One is in the middle of the city and yet one may imagine you've traveled even further. The surrounding mall in Japantown has many beautiful shops and restaurants and it is an amazing experience to expose your self to the Japanese culture. But you are also only 3 or 4 blocks from Fillmore street which has many cool boutiques and restaurants that are not Japanese. So one can enjoy all of San francisco from this location. One can also take a short cab ride to Union Square and do some heavy duty shopping--if that is more your cup of tea. I would definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I found this cool rotisserie chicken place called --Roostertail-- it is located at 1963 Sutter st. 415 776 6783. It is very good chicken--not expensive---with terrific side dishes and a very clean,sophisticated,modern decor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhatHuhWhy
Business
Snow Hill, MD 21863, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Trip for Wedding

The front desk staff were absolutely fantastic. They were very helpful and personable. The room was very comfortable. Stayed for 4 days. The room was very clean and roomy. The surrounding area was relatively quiet, and I could walk to almost anything i wanted. And/or a cab ride was like 8-10 bucks from everywhere. The only drawback was the rooms were pretty thin-walled to the other rooms. Luckily, it was quiet when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dudley Doright
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Solid Hotel Value

As a chain hotel, the Kabuki manages to maintain a friendly, family character - I've been staying there for about 7 years and the same faces are there to greet you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Grove on Fillmore has great breakfast choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mocosita
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Feb 7, 2012

quick trip

I have to stay only few days (arrived Fiday at 3.30 am, left Sunday at 8.45 pm) I enjoyed the comfort of the room very little, but it was a very special experience. Decoration and warmness in the room were appreciated, specialy because the weather was cooler than I expected. Nerby there are a lot of places to eat delicious, and to make some shoping or windowshoping and lots of places to entertein yourself. The hotel is located en the heart or Japan Town, and for me the architecture and the culture Of Japan it is very atracttive and interesting. If I ever return, i wish to have time to know everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One can choose from many, many diferent kind of cuisinne right in the east mall, and in front of the Hotel, a little bit down in Post st, there is a Chinese restaurant, its food is delicious and fresh and so busy you have to wait for a table. In the back of the Hotel, (Geary St) you can take a bus and be at Union Square in 10 minutes, there you will find all kind of fine stores and then you are near to Chinatown, you would not want to miss it. I had the opportunity to visit It and was unexpected to see this chinese festival, with this beautiful costumes and a big radiant dragon, quite an experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPIII
Business
Ventura, CA
Jan 18, 2012

First 2012 Trip

Comfortable room, quite with standard ammenities. Hotel location makes it a great value when visiting SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan B.
Business
Asheville, NC
Jan 6, 2012

Great vacation or business location

Good central location - walking distance to good restaurants. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daring
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great

Very quaint hotel in the middle of Japan town. There are plenty of restaurants in the area. We did have one noisy neighbor early in the night, but they quieted down at 10pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hour at Izakaya Lounge is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top