$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Griffon

3 stars
View map of 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Griffon

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ross Carolina
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Sep 9, 2013

Great place for couples!

I took my girlfriend here for a long weekend getaway. The location is perfect and close to Union Square. The staff was courteous, kind, and attentive which made the trip even better. I felt that the overall experience was worth every penny and then some. Warning for people from smaller cities: The hotel rooms in San Francisco are small. The room we had at Hotel Griffon was perfectly comfortable but it is certainly smaller than what you can get in some other cities. This is the same for all hotels in San Francisco unless you are ready to spend a great deal of money. Just a FYI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go check out out the Delancey Street Restaurant. It is very tasty and very affordable compared to some of the other places we went to in the city. The service was good and if you sit outside you get a great view of the Bay Bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crandle2005
Business
Maryland
May 8, 2013

Good, clean, cozy

Very small, cozy hotel room, but nicely decorated with some high end touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The don't start room service until 7:30 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDC Floorcom
Business
River Edge, NJ
Apr 25, 2013

Great Location

The location is ideal for exploring the city and the waterfront. We had not made prior dinner reservations and had 2 fantastic dinners within a block of the hotel. Perry's Restaurant, located in the hotel, is also really good. The rooms are on the small side and ours was particularly warm. The provided us with fans that helped and it was unseasonably warm during our visit. All in all, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Walker
Business
Central Valley, Ca.
Feb 12, 2013

GETAWAY

For the size (and view of a roof) of the room, it was very costly. In addition, $/night for parking was a little too hefty, even in San Francisco. To add to this, there was a nickel sized dent in our car's passenger door that was not there before it was whisked away. True, this extra cost for parking was our decision; however, one is not left with many options for parking. I considered it a captive audience cost for parking. While it was an acceptable hotel experience for us, we will certainly look for something more cost friendly upon our return. The location was very good and the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy and Kristen In Love
Business
Gainesville, Georgia
Jan 22, 2013

Amazing weekend

The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. They killed us with kindness! If we ever come back to the city, this is the place will stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At El Embarcadero station, look for the empanadas from venezuela, They are delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SG2001
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 30, 2012

Convenient location

Convenient location but pricey for stay. I did like the fact that if you drove a hybrid you received free parking (a $45/day value)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visitor to San Francisco
Business
Paradise, CA
Jul 1, 2012

Terrific!

We really enjoy staying at the Hotel Griffon. The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
llama papa
Business
Placerville, CA
May 30, 2012

"nominal" fee for parking

The hotel refers to their valet parking charge as a "nominal fee". That nominal fee is $45!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley line is just a half of a block away. The cost is only $2 for a regular ticket and only $.75 for a senior.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spygiselle
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Amazing Stay

While driving up for a spur of the moment trip, I happened to see a special for this place. It was an amazing stay for the value. The room was small but super cute. Great robes in the room. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. fyi, parking is not included and if you allow them to valet it, it is an extra cost of 40 bucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sonrisas
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 4, 2012

Perfect home base for business or sightseeing

We chose this hotel for 2 reasons: its location just off the Embarcadero and the $1.00 valet parking on the weekend. However, the Griffon Hotel was even better than I had anticipated: quaint, comfortable, charming and clean. My sister and I had requested early check-in and for our luggage to be held after check-out time; both requests were cheerfully accommodated. The view from our window wasn't bad, but if I were staying here again, I would request a room with a view of the bay (although that would probably cost more). The only reason I gave 4 stars for room comfort was that it was quite small - but ok if you're not spending much time in your room. Amenities had 4 stars due to only fruit and coffee for breakfast. Everything else was outstanding - we loved it, would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to friends. Oh - another plus is it's close to all forms of transportation and even offers a ride to the Financial District on weekdays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top