$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Griffon

3 stars
View map of 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Hotel-Griffon-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
50 reviews
I love this hotel

I have stayed at this hotel several times - it is in a great GREAT location, safe neighborhood,... See full review

  • Kris T.
  • May 7, 2015
Awesome

Great location, very nice room, good restaurant in the hotel. See full review

  • DeleteMe
  • Nov 25, 2014
Right in the heart of the historical San Francisco waterfront is the Hotel Griffon, combining culture and charm with cutting-edge design. As an upmarket boutique hotel, it lacks the uniformity of big chains, but still impresses with a combination of great service and stylish modern design. Moments from San Francisco Bay, the other great selling point of Hotel Griffon is its superb location and views of this vibrant city. Fans of Armistead Maupin will be delighted to eat in Perry's, the classic American restaurant immortalized in his books. 
Rooms
With its distinctive architectural features and exposed brickwork, the guest rooms at Hotel Griffon are quirky and design-led but still extremely comfortable. Choose between a superior with queen bed, and deluxe with king. Both rooms have down bedding, 300-thread-count bed linens, and plush mattresses. IPod docking stations are a nice touch, as well as the 32-inch flat-screen televisions that come as standard. Well-stocked bathrooms provide robes, high-class complimentary toiletries such as Aveda, and marble vanity units. Complimentary turndown service and daily newspaper are thrown in, making the Hotel Griffon feel more of a luxury package than many boutique hotels. Deluxe king rooms also offer twice-daily housekeeping and room service, should the guest require it. Nonsmoking throughout, guests are well advised to request a room with a view of the glittering San Francisco Bay, which can be appreciated from the comfortable window seat. The hotel also offers its guests the use of a small but intimate boardroom with dining facilities and balcony area, as well as access to the adjoining health club and pool (fees apply). Another bonus is free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby, and of course the chance to dine in the Iconic Perry's restaurant. 
Highlights
  • Unrivaled views of the Bay and Bridge
  • Contemporary style and top-notch design 
  • Acclaimed Perry's restaurant attached
Nearby attractions
  • Financial District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Alcatraz (3 mi/4.8 km)
Policies
The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Griffon also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 194 reviews
★★★
$160
3.4 / 5 423 reviews
★★★
$165
3.5 / 5 131 reviews
★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 264 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$229
4.4 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$209
3.9 / 5 485 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 132 reviews

Hotel Griffon Rooms

Superior Room
One Queen bed with plush-top mattress, 300-thread-count linens, and down bedding. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Multi-line speakerphone. 32-inch flat-screen TV. MP3- compatible I-Pod docking station/clock. Bathrobes. Complimentary daily newspaper. Turndown service with Hotel Griffon amenity.
Deluxe King
Room with King bed includes direct dial telephone, flat screen Television, Complementary wireless Internet, in-room safe, MP3- compatible I-Pod docking station/clock, private bath with hairdryer, plush robes, spa bath products and umbrellas, room service and twice daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ferry Building: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 2 mi
  • Japantown: 2.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 2.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant - Perry's Monday - Friday Breakfast 6:30am - 10:00am Lunch 11am - 5pm Dinner 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday 10am - 2:30pm Brunch 5pm - 10pm Dinner Bar Menu available 2:30 - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Griffon

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sonrisas
Friends
Sacramento, CA
Apr 4, 2012

Perfect home base for business or sightseeing

We chose this hotel for 2 reasons: its location just off the Embarcadero and the $1.00 valet parking on the weekend. However, the Griffon Hotel was even better than I had anticipated: quaint, comfortable, charming and clean. My sister and I had requested early check-in and for our luggage to be held after check-out time; both requests were cheerfully accommodated. The view from our window wasn't bad, but if I were staying here again, I would request a room with a view of the bay (although that would probably cost more). The only reason I gave 4 stars for room comfort was that it was quite small - but ok if you're not spending much time in your room. Amenities had 4 stars due to only fruit and coffee for breakfast. Everything else was outstanding - we loved it, would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to friends. Oh - another plus is it's close to all forms of transportation and even offers a ride to the Financial District on weekdays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris T.
Friends
N/A
May 7, 2015

I love this hotel

I have stayed at this hotel several times - it is in a great GREAT location, safe neighborhood, easy to get to BART and MUNI and across the street from the ferry building. I stay there every time I go to SF - excellent value for the $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avi
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Good location for the financial district

Nice hotel for a business trip. Restaurant and bar are good. Slow service from breakfast especially if you are in hurry to a business meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert P.
Single
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Small hotel but nice location

Nice location and very friendly staff. Room leaves a lot to be desired, I think my room in my parents house was bigger!! Walls are paper thin so if you have a noisy neighbor good luck sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mugumogu
Couples
Sacramento
Feb 11, 2015

Small Rooms - Good for One Night

Definitely a modern and clean hotel with courteous staff and convenient valet parking. Hotel Griffon is just around the corner from the Ferry Building and is not a bad walk to Fisherman's Wharf. I wouldn't recommend it though for more than 1 or 2 nights. Our room was quite small - less than the size of a studio apartment. FOrtunately, we didn't bring our child as there is absolutely no room for a crib. If you don't mind that, I can't say anything else bad about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeleteMe
Business
Out of, here
Nov 25, 2014

Awesome

Great location, very nice room, good restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mugumogu
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Sep 25, 2014

Excellent find near Ferry Building

While the rooms are rather small and some of the rooms face a wall, we very much enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel Griffon. The bed was soft and comfortable and the rest of the hotel and grounds are open and inviting. The Ferry Building is right around the corner and it is only a short walk to the Exploratorium. Fisherman's Wharf is an easy 25 - 30 minute walk from here as well along the water. We had a standard queen bed room with no view, which was fine for one night. There was very little space to move around so for a couple it was fine, but you would need a larger room if you are bringing a small child or baby. We would enjoy staying here again in this part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chgo Atty
Couples
Chicago
Sep 15, 2014

Trendy Hotel in a Great Location

The Hotel Griffon is a terrific boutique hotel in an excellent location right on the Embarcadero. It has a hip vibe and great ambiance. I would definitely have given it four stars except for two things. One, we stayed on Friday and Saturday night and we could hear music from the attached bar until midnight. Second, the room is roomy (for SF) and stylishly appointed -- but the sink is in the bedroom. Other than that, the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are headed to Golden Gate Park, take public transportation (there is a streetcar stop right outside the hotel). Our cab ride cost a fortune and we still had to walk a lot once we got to the park -- which is huge and well worth the trip.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alan Zazzetta
Business
San fransico
Aug 30, 2014

hotel review

The staff was great, small very small rooms. No view from the rooms. Room was clean and stable just very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was great.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chiarahughes
Couples
Tempe, AZ
Aug 26, 2014

Great staff, great location, small rooms, not many amenities

The location of the Griffon is great-- one block from the Ferry Building and 2 blocks from the Embarcadero BART station, as well as 2 blocks from a historic street car stop AND the Muni Metro. In other words, you can get anywhere from this location. The staff was extremely courteous, available, and friendly. My only issue is the size of the room. It was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in. There are larger rooms at the Griffon, but this one was so small that there were 2 of us and we literally could not open our suitcases side by side on the window seat at the same time. And there was NO other storage-- not a single drawer in the place. Super tiny closet. No fridge in the room, no continental breakfast. The room was very clean, though, and the bed was extremely comfortable. No noise either, and the hotel is very pretty, with 2 restaurants/bars right at the bottom. To be honest, I was torn between a 3-star rating and a 4-star rating, and I decided to go with 4 so that more people give this place a chance-- for the staff and location alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry Building, Embarcadero, AT&T Park.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OrbitzJames
Single
Chattanooga, TN
Aug 12, 2014

One Night Stand

Good location, near many restaurants, near Embarcadero and movies. Friendly staff, Perry's has good food. Only downside was the $40 extra for parking after I thought I was to get free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top