$249 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Hotel Griffon

3 stars
155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
A treasure

The location and style of the hotel were just perfect. This was my first time to CA and we... See full review

  • Sharon r
  • Aug 11, 2014
Nice weekend getaway

This place is top notch. The staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the city. The... See full review

  • Brettn24
  • Feb 10, 2014
Chic boutique establishment on the waterfront
Right in the heart of the historical San Francisco waterfront is the Hotel Griffon, combining culture and charm with cutting-edge design. As an upmarket boutique hotel, it lacks the uniformity of big chains, but still impresses with a combination of great service and stylish modern design. Moments from San Francisco Bay, the other great selling point of Hotel Griffon is its superb location and views of this vibrant city. Fans of Armistead Maupin will be delighted to eat in Perry's, the classic American restaurant immortalized in his books. 
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unrivaled views of the Bay and Bridge
  • Contemporary style and top-notch design 
  • Acclaimed Perry's restaurant attached
Hotel Griffon Rooms
With its distinctive architectural features and exposed brickwork, the guest rooms at Hotel Griffon are quirky and design-led but still extremely comfortable. Choose between a superior with queen bed, and deluxe with king. Both rooms have down bedding, 300-thread-count bed linens, and plush mattresses. IPod docking stations are a nice touch, as well as the 32-inch flat-screen televisions that come as standard. Well-stocked bathrooms provide robes, high-class complimentary toiletries such as Aveda, and marble vanity units. Complimentary turndown service and daily newspaper are thrown in, making the Hotel Griffon feel more of a luxury package than many boutique hotels. Deluxe king rooms also offer twice-daily housekeeping and room service, should the guest require it. Nonsmoking throughout, guests are well advised to request a room with a view of the glittering San Francisco Bay, which can be appreciated from the comfortable window seat. The hotel also offers its guests the use of a small but intimate boardroom with dining facilities and balcony area, as well as access to the adjoining health club and pool (fees apply). Another bonus is free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby, and of course the chance to dine in the Iconic Perry's restaurant. 
Things To Do:
  • Financial District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Alcatraz (3 mi/4.8 km)
Policies and Fees
The hotel accepts reservations for guests under 18 years old given that parent/legal guardian guarantees payment for all charges. If legally emancipated, guests can present documents that prove emancipation and the ability to shoulder expenses at the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7929 -122.3922
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport - 16 miles Oakland International Airport - 15 miles
Area description
Area Location - Alcatraz, Muir Woods, Cable Car Barn and Museum, Ferry Building, Embarcadero, California Academy of Sciences, California Palace of the Legion of Honor, Davies Symphony Hall/San Francisco, DeYoung Museum, Asian Art Museum, Exploratorium, Ghirardelli Square, Japanese Tea Garden.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Griffon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Griffon Rooms

Superior Room
One Queen bed with plush-top mattress, 300-thread-count linens, and down bedding. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Multi-line speakerphone. 32-inch flat-screen TV. MP3- compatible I-Pod docking station/clock. Bathrobes. Complimentary daily newspaper. Turndown service with Hotel Griffon amenity.
Deluxe King
Room with King bed includes direct dial telephone, flat screen Television, Complementary wireless Internet, in-room safe, MP3- compatible I-Pod docking station/clock, private bath with hairdryer, plush robes, spa bath products and umbrellas, room service and twice daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ferry Building: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.3 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 2 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 2 mi
  • Japantown: 2.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 2.1 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.4 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant - Perry's Monday - Friday Breakfast 6:30am - 10:00am Lunch 11am - 5pm Dinner 5pm - 10pm Saturday & Sunday 10am - 2:30pm Brunch 5pm - 10pm Dinner Bar Menu available 2:30 - 10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Griffon

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sonrisas
Sacramento, CA
Apr 4, 2012

Perfect home base for business or sightseeing

We chose this hotel for 2 reasons: its location just off the Embarcadero and the $1.00 valet parking on the weekend. However, the Griffon Hotel was even better than I had anticipated: quaint, comfortable, charming and clean. My sister and I had requested early check-in and for our luggage to be held after check-out time; both requests were cheerfully accommodated. The view from our window wasn't bad, but if I were staying here again, I would request a room with a view of the bay (although that would probably cost more). The only reason I gave 4 stars for room comfort was that it was quite small - but ok if you're not spending much time in your room. Amenities had 4 stars due to only fruit and coffee for breakfast. Everything else was outstanding - we loved it, would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to friends. Oh - another plus is it's close to all forms of transportation and even offers a ride to the Financial District on weekdays!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brettn24
Stockton, California
Feb 10, 2014

Nice weekend getaway

This place is top notch. The staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable about the city. The rooms are a bit on the small side bit make up for it with character and a great view of the bay. Perfect for a weekend getaway with the misses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foodie Kathy
san francisco
Jan 23, 2014

wonderful weekend trip

staff was friendly. great customer service! We were able to watch the game at the restaurant bar downstairs from the Hotel and the food was delicious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The boulevard restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LisaRebec Mom
San Rafael, CA
Dec 23, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel room in GREAT location

We had a lovely time at the Griffon. This is a very small boutique hotel. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and equipped with what you need - big screen tv, robes, etc. Best part was free Peet's coffee in the morning. Surrounded by tons of restaurants and the ferry building is 5 minutes away. Nothing fancy but price makes it a value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savroso
sSan Antonio
Dec 8, 2013

San Francisco getaway

All of the staff at Hotel Griffon were excellent, especially Santiago, he deserves a raise! The location of the hotel was within walking distance to Chinatown,Fishermans Wharf and yards away from the trolley and muni bus. Had a great stay at Hotel Griffon and would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go to Muir Woods and Point Lobos

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Loves Weekends
American Canyon, California
Sep 9, 2013

Good price on a busy weekend in the city

Hotel Griffon is small and cute. We came to the city to see the America's Cup races, Sammy Hagar's show for the opening of the races and had dinner at Rich Table prior to the show. Like the title said "Good price on a busy weekend" and I would add good location for the price as well. Our room was tiny with an awesome view of a brick wall! While the view wasn't anything to write home about, the room was nicely decorated and clean. We weren't in the room much anyway, except to sleep. The bed was rather uncomfortable, though I have a very comfortable bed at home, so it is not unusual for me to find fault with many hotel beds. Service at the restaurant was lacking, especially for Sunday Brunch. By the time we ate, the place was not busy. She offered my boyfriend more coffee, thought she never offered me a second mimosa, which she could have easily sold. We wanted to share our selections and told her so. Had to ask for extra plates. In general, the service was just slow. Other wise, the food was decent. I have stayed here before because there are many things in walking distance. I am sure we will stay again. Super friendly front desk staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are local and coming from Vallejo, take the Ferry. $13 adult each way, you won't have to pay to park once you get there and it took us less than 5 minutes to walk from the Ferry to Hotel Griffon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ross Carolina
Raleigh, North Carolina
Sep 9, 2013

Great place for couples!

I took my girlfriend here for a long weekend getaway. The location is perfect and close to Union Square. The staff was courteous, kind, and attentive which made the trip even better. I felt that the overall experience was worth every penny and then some. Warning for people from smaller cities: The hotel rooms in San Francisco are small. The room we had at Hotel Griffon was perfectly comfortable but it is certainly smaller than what you can get in some other cities. This is the same for all hotels in San Francisco unless you are ready to spend a great deal of money. Just a FYI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go check out out the Delancey Street Restaurant. It is very tasty and very affordable compared to some of the other places we went to in the city. The service was good and if you sit outside you get a great view of the Bay Bridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crandle2005
Business
Maryland
May 8, 2013

Good, clean, cozy

Very small, cozy hotel room, but nicely decorated with some high end touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The don't start room service until 7:30 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDC Floorcom
River Edge, NJ
Apr 25, 2013

Great Location

The location is ideal for exploring the city and the waterfront. We had not made prior dinner reservations and had 2 fantastic dinners within a block of the hotel. Perry's Restaurant, located in the hotel, is also really good. The rooms are on the small side and ours was particularly warm. The provided us with fans that helped and it was unseasonably warm during our visit. All in all, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Walker
Central Valley, Ca.
Feb 12, 2013

GETAWAY

For the size (and view of a roof) of the room, it was very costly. In addition, $/night for parking was a little too hefty, even in San Francisco. To add to this, there was a nickel sized dent in our car's passenger door that was not there before it was whisked away. True, this extra cost for parking was our decision; however, one is not left with many options for parking. I considered it a captive audience cost for parking. While it was an acceptable hotel experience for us, we will certainly look for something more cost friendly upon our return. The location was very good and the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy and Kristen In Love
Gainesville, Georgia
Jan 22, 2013

Amazing weekend

The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. They killed us with kindness! If we ever come back to the city, this is the place will stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At El Embarcadero station, look for the empanadas from venezuela, They are delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search