Hotel Griffon ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$199
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 13, 2016 Check-out: Feb 14, 2016

Awesome

Would recommend Tue, Nov 25, 2014
Great location, very nice room, good restaurant in the hotel.

| Out of, here Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent find near Ferry Building

Would recommend Thu, Sep 25, 2014
While the rooms are rather small and some of the rooms face a wall, we very much enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel Griffon. The bed was soft and comfortable and the rest of the hotel and grounds are open and inviting. The Ferry Building is right around the corner and it is only a short walk to the Exploratorium. Fisherman's Wharf is an easy 25 - 30 minute walk from here as well along the water. We had a standard queen bed room with no view, which was fine for one night. There was very little space to move around so for a couple it was fine, but you would need a larger room if you are bringing a small child or baby. We would enjoy staying here again in this part of the city.

| Sacramento, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Trendy Hotel in a Great Location

Would recommend Mon, Sep 15, 2014
The Hotel Griffon is a terrific boutique hotel in an excellent location right on the Embarcadero. It has a hip vibe and great ambiance. I would definitely have given it four stars except for two things. One, we stayed on Friday and Saturday night and we could hear music from the attached bar until midnight. Second, the room is roomy (for SF) and stylishly appointed -- but the sink is in the bedroom. Other than that, the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating.

Money saver

If you are headed to Golden Gate Park, take public transportation (there is a streetcar stop right outside the hotel). Our cab ride cost a fortune and we still had to walk a lot once we got to the park -- which is huge and well worth the trip.

| Chicago Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

hotel review

Would not recommend Sat, Aug 30, 2014
The staff was great, small very small rooms. No view from the rooms. Room was clean and stable just very small.

Dining

Food was great.

| San fransico Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great staff, great location, small rooms, not many amenities

Would recommend Tue, Aug 26, 2014
The location of the Griffon is great-- one block from the Ferry Building and 2 blocks from the Embarcadero BART station, as well as 2 blocks from a historic street car stop AND the Muni Metro. In other words, you can get anywhere from this location. The staff was extremely courteous, available, and friendly. My only issue is the size of the room. It was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in. There are larger rooms at the Griffon, but this one was so small that there were 2 of us and we literally could not open our suitcases side by side on the window seat at the same time. And there was NO other storage-- not a single drawer in the place. Super tiny closet. No fridge in the room, no continental breakfast. The room was very clean, though, and the bed was extremely comfortable. No noise either, and the hotel is very pretty, with 2 restaurants/bars right at the bottom. To be honest, I was torn between a 3-star rating and a 4-star rating, and I decided to go with 4 so that more people give this place a chance-- for the staff and location alone.

Attractions

Ferry Building, Embarcadero, AT&T Park.

| Tempe, AZ Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

One Night Stand

Would recommend Tue, Aug 12, 2014
Good location, near many restaurants, near Embarcadero and movies. Friendly staff, Perry's has good food. Only downside was the $40 extra for parking after I thought I was to get free parking.

| Chattanooga, TN Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great Location, Below Average Room

Would recommend Tue, Aug 12, 2014
This Hotel should be selected for the location. The room we were assigned #408 was below average at best. There is a club of some sort which goes on pretty late on Saturday nights. Staff was A++. But for the price #408 was disappointing.

| Los Angeles Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Family vacation

Would recommend Mon, Aug 11, 2014
My husband and I walk extensively in San Francisco and the location of the hotel is perfect for this. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. The room had every necessity, which functioned well,but was tiny, so good for sleeping , not lounging. It's an old building and therefore musty smelling, and the ventilation was insufficient. That being said, would stay again as an overnight in the future as it is a good value

Dining

Ferry market for anything to eat

| Princeton, new jersey Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A treasure

Would recommend Mon, Aug 11, 2014
The location and style of the hotel were just perfect. This was my first time to CA and we loved this hotel

| PA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Location

Would recommend Tue, Jul 29, 2014
For my needs the location couldn't have been better. The room was quite small but clean and comfortable. TV had a ton of stations. There was no fridge nor snacks in the room, which was a negative for me.

| Tracy, CA Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5