$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Griffon

3 stars
View map of 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Griffon

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeleteMe
Business
Out of, here
Nov 25, 2014

Awesome

Great location, very nice room, good restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris T.
Friends
N/A
May 7, 2015

I love this hotel

I have stayed at this hotel several times - it is in a great GREAT location, safe neighborhood, easy to get to BART and MUNI and across the street from the ferry building. I stay there every time I go to SF - excellent value for the $.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Christmas Party in the City

Nice hotel, rooms a bit small but a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food, and a short walk to the Embarcadero and Pier 39.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SG2001
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jul 30, 2012

Convenient location

Convenient location but pricey for stay. I did like the fact that if you drove a hybrid you received free parking (a $45/day value)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDC Floorcom
Couples
River Edge, NJ
Apr 25, 2013

Great Location

The location is ideal for exploring the city and the waterfront. We had not made prior dinner reservations and had 2 fantastic dinners within a block of the hotel. Perry's Restaurant, located in the hotel, is also really good. The rooms are on the small side and ours was particularly warm. The provided us with fans that helped and it was unseasonably warm during our visit. All in all, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Loves Weekends
Couples
American Canyon, California
Sep 9, 2013

Good price on a busy weekend in the city

Hotel Griffon is small and cute. We came to the city to see the America's Cup races, Sammy Hagar's show for the opening of the races and had dinner at Rich Table prior to the show. Like the title said "Good price on a busy weekend" and I would add good location for the price as well. Our room was tiny with an awesome view of a brick wall! While the view wasn't anything to write home about, the room was nicely decorated and clean. We weren't in the room much anyway, except to sleep. The bed was rather uncomfortable, though I have a very comfortable bed at home, so it is not unusual for me to find fault with many hotel beds. Service at the restaurant was lacking, especially for Sunday Brunch. By the time we ate, the place was not busy. She offered my boyfriend more coffee, thought she never offered me a second mimosa, which she could have easily sold. We wanted to share our selections and told her so. Had to ask for extra plates. In general, the service was just slow. Other wise, the food was decent. I have stayed here before because there are many things in walking distance. I am sure we will stay again. Super friendly front desk staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are local and coming from Vallejo, take the Ferry. $13 adult each way, you won't have to pay to park once you get there and it took us less than 5 minutes to walk from the Ferry to Hotel Griffon.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savroso
Couples
sSan Antonio
Dec 8, 2013

San Francisco getaway

All of the staff at Hotel Griffon were excellent, especially Santiago, he deserves a raise! The location of the hotel was within walking distance to Chinatown,Fishermans Wharf and yards away from the trolley and muni bus. Had a great stay at Hotel Griffon and would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go to Muir Woods and Point Lobos

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ojdart
Couples
boston
May 22, 2014

Good stay

This time a tiny room--almost too small. Hotel billed us for the room after we paid Or##tz. Hotel charged us less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry building

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Sep 28, 2007

TOO MUCH FOR NOT ENOUGH

The Griffin was in a great location, and I assume that was the reason for the high rate. Rooms were clean but bedding, especially pillows were cheap and uncomfortable, Staff was nice enough, check-in easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Orleans, LA
Mar 11, 2008

Bad Check in

The front desk staff was very courteous and friendly. The rooms were small, but quaint for a 100 year old hotel. The view of the bay was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fisherman's Wharf was a short street car ride away with a pick up station located within 1 block of the hotel. There were plenty of restraunts within walking distance and lots of shopping within a few blocks.

Back to menu Return to top