$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Griffon

3 stars
View map of 155 Steuart Street, San Francisco, CA 94105

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Griffon

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savroso
Couples
sSan Antonio
Dec 8, 2013

San Francisco getaway

All of the staff at Hotel Griffon were excellent, especially Santiago, he deserves a raise! The location of the hotel was within walking distance to Chinatown,Fishermans Wharf and yards away from the trolley and muni bus. Had a great stay at Hotel Griffon and would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go to Muir Woods and Point Lobos

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice Loves Weekends
Couples
American Canyon, California
Sep 9, 2013

Good price on a busy weekend in the city

Hotel Griffon is small and cute. We came to the city to see the America's Cup races, Sammy Hagar's show for the opening of the races and had dinner at Rich Table prior to the show. Like the title said "Good price on a busy weekend" and I would add good location for the price as well. Our room was tiny with an awesome view of a brick wall! While the view wasn't anything to write home about, the room was nicely decorated and clean. We weren't in the room much anyway, except to sleep. The bed was rather uncomfortable, though I have a very comfortable bed at home, so it is not unusual for me to find fault with many hotel beds. Service at the restaurant was lacking, especially for Sunday Brunch. By the time we ate, the place was not busy. She offered my boyfriend more coffee, thought she never offered me a second mimosa, which she could have easily sold. We wanted to share our selections and told her so. Had to ask for extra plates. In general, the service was just slow. Other wise, the food was decent. I have stayed here before because there are many things in walking distance. I am sure we will stay again. Super friendly front desk staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are local and coming from Vallejo, take the Ferry. $13 adult each way, you won't have to pay to park once you get there and it took us less than 5 minutes to walk from the Ferry to Hotel Griffon.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ross Carolina
Couples
Raleigh, North Carolina
Sep 9, 2013

Great place for couples!

I took my girlfriend here for a long weekend getaway. The location is perfect and close to Union Square. The staff was courteous, kind, and attentive which made the trip even better. I felt that the overall experience was worth every penny and then some. Warning for people from smaller cities: The hotel rooms in San Francisco are small. The room we had at Hotel Griffon was perfectly comfortable but it is certainly smaller than what you can get in some other cities. This is the same for all hotels in San Francisco unless you are ready to spend a great deal of money. Just a FYI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go check out out the Delancey Street Restaurant. It is very tasty and very affordable compared to some of the other places we went to in the city. The service was good and if you sit outside you get a great view of the Bay Bridge.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crandle2005
Business
Maryland
May 8, 2013

Good, clean, cozy

Very small, cozy hotel room, but nicely decorated with some high end touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The don't start room service until 7:30 am.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDC Floorcom
Couples
River Edge, NJ
Apr 25, 2013

Great Location

The location is ideal for exploring the city and the waterfront. We had not made prior dinner reservations and had 2 fantastic dinners within a block of the hotel. Perry's Restaurant, located in the hotel, is also really good. The rooms are on the small side and ours was particularly warm. The provided us with fans that helped and it was unseasonably warm during our visit. All in all, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Walker
Couples
Central Valley, Ca.
Feb 12, 2013

GETAWAY

For the size (and view of a roof) of the room, it was very costly. In addition, $/night for parking was a little too hefty, even in San Francisco. To add to this, there was a nickel sized dent in our car's passenger door that was not there before it was whisked away. True, this extra cost for parking was our decision; however, one is not left with many options for parking. I considered it a captive audience cost for parking. While it was an acceptable hotel experience for us, we will certainly look for something more cost friendly upon our return. The location was very good and the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy and Kristen In Love
Couples
Gainesville, Georgia
Jan 22, 2013

Amazing weekend

The staff was extremely helpful and attentive. They killed us with kindness! If we ever come back to the city, this is the place will stay at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

At El Embarcadero station, look for the empanadas from venezuela, They are delicious!!

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SG2001
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jul 30, 2012

Convenient location

Convenient location but pricey for stay. I did like the fact that if you drove a hybrid you received free parking (a $45/day value)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
llama papa
Couples
Placerville, CA
May 30, 2012

"nominal" fee for parking

The hotel refers to their valet parking charge as a "nominal fee". That nominal fee is $45!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley line is just a half of a block away. The cost is only $2 for a regular ticket and only $.75 for a senior.

Review of Hotel Griffon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spygiselle
Couples
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Amazing Stay

While driving up for a spur of the moment trip, I happened to see a special for this place. It was an amazing stay for the value. The room was small but super cute. Great robes in the room. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. fyi, parking is not included and if you allow them to valet it, it is an extra cost of 40 bucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top