$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 130
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hasta La Vista
Dallas, Texas
May 30, 2014

All good till the next door partiers showed up

My stayed was good, staffs were friendly, location was ideal, rooms were clean and quiet.. till Saturday night comes when the partiers checked in. My room was situated at the end of the main hallway, sandwiched with suites on either side of my room. The partiers who checked in were a group of ladies, who were celebrating their friend's bachelorette's party. I understand that it's a Saturday, it's a party, it's a happy occasion. However, I wish they would keep their happiness inside their rooms. Since they occupied both suites on either side, they pop their doors opened for easy access in between the rooms.... their loud conversations and laughs echo down the hallway and it's just not cooled... I called the front desk and see if there's anything that they can do about it and I didn't think they had done anything... I didn't get my quiet back till they went out... I understand that it's a Saturday and it's not unusual for partiers to be loud, I wish the hotel would arrange partiers in a different section of the hotel so that they won't interfere the other people who prefer a quiet and relaxing evening after a long day of tour around the city! Other than this, I like this hotel and I especially enjoyed the concierge service. Very helpful and professional! Give a big shout to Evan!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon fan of SF
New Jersey
May 14, 2014

Perfact location

The hotel was right in the heart of things, shops, food, sights and transportation. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only negative was the early morning noise of the recycle pick-up outside our window, but I would stay there again anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frisco rider
Mexico
Sep 16, 2013

Great deal

Excellent location, just a block from Union Square and stores, 3 from Market Street, 7 minutes walking from China Town... If you want to take the "hop on - hop off" bus, you can buy the tickets directly from the concierge. By the way, this guys were very kind. There's a Mexican restaurant right next door and they deliver to the hotel...there's also a Starbucks. The bed was very comfortable and clean, the bathroom ok and clean, the only detail of the room is the space, for 3 persons the room is quite small, so maybe you'll have to book an extra room. If you want to travel to SanFrancisco, think about Hotel Diva!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Dsw, desigual, maceys, everything just walking!

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greatest tita
chicago,illinois
Jun 1, 2013

great location

very friendly staff...will stay here again...great location to Union Square....walking distance to embarcadero..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carmensix
Oakland
Dec 19, 2012

Fun SF getaway

It was great!! Fast and easy checkout. The style and design is sexy and sleek, modern without being cold. The beds and linens were really comfortable. I will definitely stay again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopper jane
San Jose, California
Dec 17, 2012

Great hotel but...

Loved this hotel. Great location, modern decor, Starbucks right there. And the staff tried to be helpful. But I shouldn't have to stand in the rain for 1/2 hour for them to valetmy car. And I seemed to be one of the lucky ones - overheard people trying to pick up their cars complaining they had been waiting for over an hour. Would love to use this hotel for future trips but the parking makes for a potential nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Dallas TravelerS
Dallas, Texas
Jul 22, 2012

You get what you pay for

There are only two elevators at this hotel. One wasn't working at all during our entire stay and the other (crowded with guests and workers with large carts) made scary noises and went to the basement and opened before every ride upstairs. It became a running joke among guests. The hotel has king beds,but no king sheets. So, if you are 6'2" like my husband, the fact that the bottom sheet ends inches before the foot of the bed ensures that you won't get a good night's sleep, even though the mattress is good. I called and reported this TWICE to the front desk and housekeeping and was assured it would be fixed each time. Here is the problem. The staff is so nice, but they can't make elevators that are so old you can no longer buy parts for them work and the cant make sheets longer. The location is awesome. The facility is not. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liviinCA
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

didn't enjoy getting rained on...

I wish I could have given them a higher score. They don't go the extra mile, we were there for a bachelorette party and was disappointed when this mom of two (who never gets out and goes on vacation anymore) was not greeted by anyone. It was raining like crazy I didn't know that I was coming to a hotel of DIVAs and I wasn't going to be treated like a diva! I had to wait in the rain for someone to come out and get my bags, wasn't greeted at my car with someone holding an umbrella waiting for me. I think SOME of their staff needs an attitude change. Go the extra mile it would make a huge difference. No room service (breakfast) - no fun after a night of partying... It has cute charm but the bathrooms are too small, could easily over-look that if they gave better customer service. As we were leaving another customer had the same problem (no one came to help them with their bags in the rain).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
May 17, 2011

Great service

I did not expect much from this hotel because the price was so reasonable. I was pleasantly surprised, primarily by the excellent service. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more willing to please. They happily changed our room to a larger size after we asked and provided a cot when an extra kid showed up unexpectedly after we made our reservation. They then went out of their way to make helpful suggestions the next several days. The maid service was timely and high quality. The location can't be beat: just about 1-1/2 blocks from Union Square, which is as close as you would want, but far enough to avoid some of the Powell Street hoopla. (Ask for a room in the back so you do not overlook Geary Street.) Admittedly, the hotel is kind of funky in its pursuit of hipness and the rooms are pretty small, but hey, this is downtown San Francisco. The hotel had a small business center and gym, which would not knock anyone's socks off, but were adequate for the leisure traveler. The bathrooms had just been renovated and the rooms supposedly will be next. On constructrive suggestion would be to improve the TV service; the selections were limited with not premium channels and no pay per view movies. All in all, however, I viewed our stay to be a terrific bargain, and particularly so if you plan to spend a lot of time out of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
May 17, 2011

Great service

I did not expect much from this hotel because the price was so reasonable. I was pleasantly surprised, primarily by the excellent service. The staff at the front desk could not have been nicer or more willing to please. They happily changed our room to a larger size after we asked and provided a cot when an extra kid showed up unexpectedly after we made our reservation. They then went out of their way to make helpful suggestions the next several days. The maid service was timely and high quality. The location can't be beat: just about 1-1/2 blocks from Union Square, which is as close as you would want, but far enough to avoid some of the Powell Street hoopla. (Ask for a room in the back so you do not overlook Geary Street.) Admittedly, the hotel is kind of funky in its pursuit of hipness and the rooms are pretty small, but hey, this is downtown San Francisco. The hotel had a small business center and gym, which would not knock anyone's socks off, but were adequate for the leisure traveler. The bathrooms had just been renovated and the rooms supposedly will be next. On constructrive suggestion would be to improve the TV service; the selections were limited with not premium channels and no pay per view movies. All in all, however, I viewed our stay to be a terrific bargain, and particularly so if you plan to spend a lot of time out of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top