$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 130
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drew m
Business
cleveland
Jul 10, 2014

Good location

Cool décor, small room, close to union square and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun2Travel anytime
Business
Near Madison Wisconsin
Jun 20, 2014

Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and generously helpful staff, room cleanliness and whimsy. Travelers may some nights benefit from using noise cancellation device or playing music for sleep as weekend nights can be noisy with vibrant city life. Superb staff and location makes Hotel Diva an extra sweet find for travelers. Do try this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and arts abound in this area- all within walking distance. Taking BART from airport to hotel leaves you about 5 -6 city block walks- easy if your luggage is on wheels or backpacking.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sf loves sf
Business
minneapolis
Jun 7, 2014

Diva Did It

Had a friend staying at Sir Francis D but we wanted something more tenderloin. Diva has character, comfort and convenience. My only qualms are about soap. There was only a tiny square tile for hand, face and body. Not so diva on that one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe blog
Business
NY USA
Mar 11, 2014

Good getaway

Clean quite small room.Good customer service. convenient location for shopping. easy access to restaurants. during checkout charges for 3 on demand movies included in our bill. But we didn't watch any on demand movies . Although at the end we were not charged for movies we were bit concerned why did it happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D the City Gal
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2013

Great location and fabulous hotel!

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference. The hotel staff was friendly and so helpful! My room was fabulous! The decor was sleek and sophisticated. The hotel's location was perfect. It was right in the center of everything and steps away from Union Square. I am looking forward to staying there again the next time I'm in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dulan
Business
Fargo,ND
Oct 14, 2013

GREAT LOCATION

FRIENDLY STAFF, CLEAN ROOMS everything good for the price paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stasf
Business
mke,wi
May 28, 2013

Funky hotel (in a good way)

Very nice hotel in a good location (across the street from the American Conservatory Theater. Clean, up to date accommodations. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

BART from airport to Powell St. only $8.25

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a writer from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 25, 2013

great, stylish hotel

Staff was as friendly as could be; design really exceeds what often passes for chic/boutique. Nice lounges on several floors; tea available all day, sake in the evening. Very close to Union Square and transportation hub. Neighborhood in the opposite direction can get sketchy, so take care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZATraveler
Business
Johannesburg, South Africa
Jun 19, 2012

Good first time in SF

It was my first time in San Francisco for business and was very impressed with this hotel. Just a short walk to most of the places I needed to go. Great free internet speed was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brandie
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Employees need some training in customer service

Upon arriving at the hotel we went to valet our car. We had just returned from a 6 hour hike and apparently did not fit the bill for the type of person that would stay at Hotel Diva. We were greeted by the concierge who told us we should move right away or he would ticket us. When I replied that we were a guest of the hotel he said okay and walked away. For ten minutes I stood there thinking he would come back with someone to get our car. No luck. Finally I went to the front desk to ask if they had closed their valet for the day. They said I could just leave my key at the desk since I was sitting in a white zone out front. Upon check in there was no hello, how are you, where are you coming from. It was more like here is your key and your room. Upon entering the room it was a tad disheveled. I travel 1 to 2 times per month and have become accustomed to everything being in place. Towels were not organized, the fridge was even crooked with a cabinet opened and the window unit was dirty. Finally, upon checking out I went to retrieve my car. I gave the 20 minutes that they said they needed to retrieve the car. I went next door to get a coffee while waiting and returned 20 minutes in to no car. I figured it might take longer so I waited another ten minutes. The front desk saw me sitting and waiting... I got up to go get another cup of coffee and notice my car was out front. I asked the front desk if I could get someone to give me keys to my car. They laughed and said, 'oh, oops, it's been there for a bit!' 'here are your keys'. Overall the hotel could have been okay, but their horrible customer service has given me a reason to never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katayana ramen next door is fantastic.

Back to menu Return to top