$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
131 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Be Real
Chicago
Jul 21, 2014

Decent place to be

Hotel Diva is a good choice if you are staying for a few days in San Francisco. It is located close to Powell station and is right next to Union Square. It is a perfect location! The hotel is clean and the staff is helpful. The size of the rooms might appear a little bit small to some people but given the central location of the hotel it is the size of an average hotel room in the area. Both the Mexican restaurant "Colibri" and the Thai restaurant "Chabaa", which are next to the hotel, serve delicious food. You should try it! You also have Starbucks coffee so what more can you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the food and margaritas that they serve in "Colibri". Also try the Thai food in "Chabaa". You will be pleased that you did. With regard attractions go down to Powell station and ride a cable car. It is a great experience.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boo0
Seattle
Jul 16, 2014

Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has been recently updated. Very modern decor. Beds were comfortable, and our room had a cute little table and chairs set that was nice to eat breakfast at. Mini fridge was a plus. Comparable in price to similar hotels I have stayed at in the area. Rooms were very quiet except minor street noise, which is to be expected in the downtown core. No complaints at all and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drew m
Business
cleveland
Jul 10, 2014

Good location

Cool décor, small room, close to union square and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun2Travel anytime
Business
Near Madison Wisconsin
Jun 20, 2014

Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and generously helpful staff, room cleanliness and whimsy. Travelers may some nights benefit from using noise cancellation device or playing music for sleep as weekend nights can be noisy with vibrant city life. Superb staff and location makes Hotel Diva an extra sweet find for travelers. Do try this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and arts abound in this area- all within walking distance. Taking BART from airport to hotel leaves you about 5 -6 city block walks- easy if your luggage is on wheels or backpacking.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sf loves sf
Business
minneapolis
Jun 7, 2014

Diva Did It

Had a friend staying at Sir Francis D but we wanted something more tenderloin. Diva has character, comfort and convenience. My only qualms are about soap. There was only a tiny square tile for hand, face and body. Not so diva on that one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hasta La Vista
Dallas, Texas
May 30, 2014

All good till the next door partiers showed up

My stayed was good, staffs were friendly, location was ideal, rooms were clean and quiet.. till Saturday night comes when the partiers checked in. My room was situated at the end of the main hallway, sandwiched with suites on either side of my room. The partiers who checked in were a group of ladies, who were celebrating their friend's bachelorette's party. I understand that it's a Saturday, it's a party, it's a happy occasion. However, I wish they would keep their happiness inside their rooms. Since they occupied both suites on either side, they pop their doors opened for easy access in between the rooms.... their loud conversations and laughs echo down the hallway and it's just not cooled... I called the front desk and see if there's anything that they can do about it and I didn't think they had done anything... I didn't get my quiet back till they went out... I understand that it's a Saturday and it's not unusual for partiers to be loud, I wish the hotel would arrange partiers in a different section of the hotel so that they won't interfere the other people who prefer a quiet and relaxing evening after a long day of tour around the city! Other than this, I like this hotel and I especially enjoyed the concierge service. Very helpful and professional! Give a big shout to Evan!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon fan of SF
New Jersey
May 14, 2014

Perfact location

The hotel was right in the heart of things, shops, food, sights and transportation. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only negative was the early morning noise of the recycle pick-up outside our window, but I would stay there again anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billh66
Seattle, WA, USA
May 2, 2014

Funky Fun Hotel

Ive stayed in Hotels like this before and its very Fun. The hotel is in a great location right off Union Square...Easy to get to the Bart and Muni and the Cable Cars. The rooms are designed for maximum personality, small but fine as i don't stay in the room that much. There are no surprises here but no disappointments either I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a cable Car to Lombard st and look for the Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bdawgoc
Huntington Beach ca
Apr 2, 2014

Weekend getaway

Defiantly located in the heart of the city. Great walking distance for travelers to ST Sites. The staff are really amazing and fun..... it's not the 4 seasons, but it's just as nice.... quite and sexy. Loved my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use Uber app for rides. Totally convenient for when you tired. Stay high up. 6 floor was amazing

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe blog
Business
NY USA
Mar 11, 2014

Good getaway

Clean quite small room.Good customer service. convenient location for shopping. easy access to restaurants. during checkout charges for 3 on demand movies included in our bill. But we didn't watch any on demand movies . Although at the end we were not charged for movies we were bit concerned why did it happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top