$248 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 130
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 6, 2007

One night only

My wife and I were only in town for one night. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful in helping us decide the best places to check out during our short stay. The Hotel is in a good location and we found we weere able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a long walk to the Fisherman?s wharf, but worth it, and if you pick the right route, you can to take in China Town and the North Beach neighborhood along the way.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun2Travel anytime
Business
Near Madison Wisconsin
Jun 20, 2014

Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and generously helpful staff, room cleanliness and whimsy. Travelers may some nights benefit from using noise cancellation device or playing music for sleep as weekend nights can be noisy with vibrant city life. Superb staff and location makes Hotel Diva an extra sweet find for travelers. Do try this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and arts abound in this area- all within walking distance. Taking BART from airport to hotel leaves you about 5 -6 city block walks- easy if your luggage is on wheels or backpacking.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 6, 2007

One night only

My wife and I were only in town for one night. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful in helping us decide the best places to check out during our short stay. The Hotel is in a good location and we found we weere able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a long walk to the Fisherman?s wharf, but worth it, and if you pick the right route, you can to take in China Town and the North Beach neighborhood along the way.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 18, 2007

Great location-service-room.

This unique hotel in the heart of San Francisco, just one block off Union Square, is an event in itself! The hotel design and theme are very theatre which makes attending Jersey Boys at the Curran directly across the street a treat. The rooms are relatively small, yet very functional and comfortable. I will stay her again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Attend the show-whatever it may be--at the Curran across the street!! No parking required!

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
persona
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 6, 2009

Cleanless and kindness

Mostly, I worked at room to use e-mail. Outside was very noisy, however all hotel staff were modest, humble and kindness. So I was happy even if I felt a little inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D the City Gal
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2013

Great location and fabulous hotel!

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference. The hotel staff was friendly and so helpful! My room was fabulous! The decor was sleek and sophisticated. The hotel's location was perfect. It was right in the center of everything and steps away from Union Square. I am looking forward to staying there again the next time I'm in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, MS
Feb 20, 2008

A fun quirky place

The Diva Hotel is indeed a personality hotel. The staff are great, friendly and very helpful. The lobby and rooms are sort of art deco funky with a lot of stainless steel and interesting decorations. Rooms were small but nice. The location is terrific: right off of Union Square with all its shopping, very near the bus and trolley routes, and a pleasant walk down to the Embarcadero. It's got a Starbucks attached and restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 18, 2007

Great location-service-room.

This unique hotel in the heart of San Francisco, just one block off Union Square, is an event in itself! The hotel design and theme are very theatre which makes attending Jersey Boys at the Curran directly across the street a treat. The rooms are relatively small, yet very functional and comfortable. I will stay her again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Attend the show-whatever it may be--at the Curran across the street!! No parking required!

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, MS
Feb 20, 2008

A fun quirky place

The Diva Hotel is indeed a personality hotel. The staff are great, friendly and very helpful. The lobby and rooms are sort of art deco funky with a lot of stainless steel and interesting decorations. Rooms were small but nice. The location is terrific: right off of Union Square with all its shopping, very near the bus and trolley routes, and a pleasant walk down to the Embarcadero. It's got a Starbucks attached and restaurants in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
persona
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 6, 2009

Cleanless and kindness

Mostly, I worked at room to use e-mail. Outside was very noisy, however all hotel staff were modest, humble and kindness. So I was happy even if I felt a little inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top