$243 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
131 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 131
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boo0
Seattle
Jul 16, 2014

Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has been recently updated. Very modern decor. Beds were comfortable, and our room had a cute little table and chairs set that was nice to eat breakfast at. Mini fridge was a plus. Comparable in price to similar hotels I have stayed at in the area. Rooms were very quiet except minor street noise, which is to be expected in the downtown core. No complaints at all and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lessthanimpressed
US
Feb 6, 2012

Just OK

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and was less than impressed. There were unfinished light fixtures hanging in the ceiling in the hallway, as well as light plugs hanging out of the socket. The room was very small and not all that clean. The bathroom is less than tiny and the room don't have an inside door lock on the door. I was awake all night in fear whenever I heard a strange noise. Also, the heater is out of the 60's, it's loud and very old. Overall, I would NEVER stay here again. It was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humboldt County
Aug 19, 2010

Not much better than a Motel 6

It was my girlfriends first time in SF and we wanted to feel like DIVA's. We checked in and the front desk guy was not very nice and then checked in to our room and was very disappointed. There was NOTHING diva about it. Very plain and small rooms. I asked if we could change rooms and of course it was the last. The front desk guy was not nice and I really didn't want to stay there anymore. We were stuck unfortunately. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humboldt County
Aug 19, 2010

Not much better than a Motel 6

It was my girlfriends first time in SF and we wanted to feel like DIVA's. We checked in and the front desk guy was not very nice and then checked in to our room and was very disappointed. There was NOTHING diva about it. Very plain and small rooms. I asked if we could change rooms and of course it was the last. The front desk guy was not nice and I really didn't want to stay there anymore. We were stuck unfortunately. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Apr 5, 2010

Overall Great Experience

Overall it was a great experience, the only bad thing was the 'surprise' we got when checking. They claimed that we only have 1 room while we really have booked 2. [...] they were good enough to give us the other room that we have paid for. The hotel is unlike the 5 stars, it is a small but comfy hotel around downtown and everything is within walking distance. I'd like to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jan 19, 2010

Good hotel

This hotel was a very nice, high-end hotel. Service was great and the location was ok - central to Union Square but at the same time, right around the corner from some not-so-safe areas. Rooms were nice, they upgraded us to a larger room for having to wait in line to check-in, what was great, but we heard that the other rooms were fairly small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jan 19, 2010

Good hotel

This hotel was a very nice, high-end hotel. Service was great and the location was ok - central to Union Square but at the same time, right around the corner from some not-so-safe areas. Rooms were nice, they upgraded us to a larger room for having to wait in line to check-in, what was great, but we heard that the other rooms were fairly small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CZ
Chelsea, MA
Oct 22, 2009

Solid Walls!

Great location, friendly & helpful staff, fair sized room (wasn't in it but to sleep really) and just about the quietest room I have ever slept in. Except for a door slam every so often, I never heard another person. I would stay here again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate in about 6 restaurants within a short walk and all were above average to really good.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pblone
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 11, 2009

Only One Problem...

The location of Hotel Diva is great, just a hop from Union Square and all the shopping you could want. Rooms are kind of small, but that's really not a problem if you are out and about and rarely in it anyway. Staff is very friendly. The only problem is with housekeeping. We are all familiar with the little signs asking you to be "GREEN" and re-use your towels. If you want your towels changed, then throw them on the floor and they will be replaced. Well, at Hotel Diva, they changed towels everyday, which I guess is not a bad thing...except when you have your "Do Not Disturb" sign hanging on your door and the housekeeper comes in anyway. I deliberately, after the first time, hung the sign on the door when I left in the morning. Sure enough when I came back to the room in the evening, the housekeeping staff had been in my room, changed towels, made bed, etc... This small detail really began to get on my nerves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Right next door to the hotel is a restaurant called Colibri. If you go to Restaurant.com, you can nab a $25.00 off certificate for as low as $1.00 (register and then toward the end of the month the certificates become cheaper).

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pblone
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 11, 2009

Only One Problem...

The location of Hotel Diva is great, just a hop from Union Square and all the shopping you could want. Rooms are kind of small, but that's really not a problem if you are out and about and rarely in it anyway. Staff is very friendly. The only problem is with housekeeping. We are all familiar with the little signs asking you to be "GREEN" and re-use your towels. If you want your towels changed, then throw them on the floor and they will be replaced. Well, at Hotel Diva, they changed towels everyday, which I guess is not a bad thing...except when you have your "Do Not Disturb" sign hanging on your door and the housekeeper comes in anyway. I deliberately, after the first time, hung the sign on the door when I left in the morning. Sure enough when I came back to the room in the evening, the housekeeping staff had been in my room, changed towels, made bed, etc... This small detail really began to get on my nerves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Right next door to the hotel is a restaurant called Colibri. If you go to Restaurant.com, you can nab a $25.00 off certificate for as low as $1.00 (register and then toward the end of the month the certificates become cheaper).

Back to menu Return to top