$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clinical teacher
Business
NYC
Jan 10, 2011

solid in Union Square

clean, well lit, a bit worn. friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great post season sales

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Edge
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 1, 2010

Great location

Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About a block away from the Union square. Starbuck's and restaurants right next to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American Edge
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 1, 2010

Great location

Walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

About a block away from the Union square. Starbuck's and restaurants right next to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester, NH
Oct 25, 2010

Small but does the job

The Diva lived up to our expectations overall. When we initially walked into the room we were suprised because it was smaller than we had expected but in by the end of the week we found it was plenty of room for the two of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Greyline Tours offers many different tours around the city and will pick you up right at the Diva. Places include Wine Country, Muir Woods, and Yosemite.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester, NH
Oct 25, 2010

Small but does the job

The Diva lived up to our expectations overall. When we initially walked into the room we were suprised because it was smaller than we had expected but in by the end of the week we found it was plenty of room for the two of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Greyline Tours offers many different tours around the city and will pick you up right at the Diva. Places include Wine Country, Muir Woods, and Yosemite.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humboldt County
Aug 19, 2010

Not much better than a Motel 6

It was my girlfriends first time in SF and we wanted to feel like DIVA's. We checked in and the front desk guy was not very nice and then checked in to our room and was very disappointed. There was NOTHING diva about it. Very plain and small rooms. I asked if we could change rooms and of course it was the last. The front desk guy was not nice and I really didn't want to stay there anymore. We were stuck unfortunately. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humboldt County
Aug 19, 2010

Not much better than a Motel 6

It was my girlfriends first time in SF and we wanted to feel like DIVA's. We checked in and the front desk guy was not very nice and then checked in to our room and was very disappointed. There was NOTHING diva about it. Very plain and small rooms. I asked if we could change rooms and of course it was the last. The front desk guy was not nice and I really didn't want to stay there anymore. We were stuck unfortunately. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tutsi
Miami
Jun 21, 2010

not worth it

The room had no view, it as very dark and depressing . I wouldnt stay there again, there are so many hotels in the area. I think it was expansive for the type of service they had to offer. The best part was location, but there are so many hotels in the area! Very noisy, you can hear a shower running in the next room. The stuff was nice, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tutsi
Miami
Jun 21, 2010

not worth it

The room had no view, it as very dark and depressing . I wouldnt stay there again, there are so many hotels in the area. I think it was expansive for the type of service they had to offer. The best part was location, but there are so many hotels in the area! Very noisy, you can hear a shower running in the next room. The stuff was nice, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Israel
Jun 8, 2010

Hotel Diva - Fashionable

located at Union Square, easy access to all sites. a fun and cool Hotel to stay in. unique in its nature. free Internet access. the Architect should be rewarded... rooms are very pleasant. good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alctraz is a must

Back to menu Return to top