$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Hotel Diva

3 stars
440 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Girls' Weekend

My friend and I stayed here for three nights. The hotel is small and the building is old but it has... See full review

  • Boo0
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great Staff & Location

Hotel Diva offers warm welcomes, free afternoon sake, smart and gracious management, informed and... See full review

  • Fun2Travel anytime
  • Jun 20, 2014
Industrial chic and unique hotel off Union Square
 

Hotel Diva is a unique, ultramodern hotel designed by local architect Olle Lundberg, who specializes in metalwork. Like something from a futuristic or science fiction film, Hotel Diva makes a dramatic style statement, featuring Lundberg's trademark sculptured metal headboards and bold color schemes of slate gray and silver with a striking blue carpet, symbolizing a 1930s ocean liner, running throughout. In contrast to the industrial chic, which won Hotel Diva a Best Hotel Design award from Interiors magazine, the service is warm and attentive.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Avant-garde hotel designed by renowned architect
  • Located near all amenities of Union Square
  • Pet- and wallet-friendly hotel
Hotel Diva Rooms
 

The outstanding, modern style of Hotel Diva is present throughout its 115 guest rooms, which range from deluxe king or queen rooms to deluxe two doubles. Not for the faint-hearted, the cool, monochromatic rooms feature the architect's signature steel headboards, metallic touches, and a playful, pop art touch. Children love the little divas suite, which is equipped for a family of four and boasts a riot of primary colors in a fun, almost cartoonish setting. The hotel is not just about the fun factor, though, as it takes the needs of guests seriously, and they are well provided for with iPod docking stations, flat-screen televisions and complimentary wireless Internet. Rooms also include comfortable beds, bathrobes and coffee-making facilities. The hotel also caters for the business traveler, with four designer business lounges available for use, and there is complimentary use of a town car to whisk guests to the nearby Financial District. Eating on site is a pleasure at Colibri, which offers fresh and tasty Mexican cuisine, plus a selection of premium tequilas, and the Hotel Diva includes a Starbucks with its usual good selection of coffees, pastries and muffins.

Things To Do:

  • Union Square (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Financial District (1.6 mi/2.5 km)

Hotel Map

37.7871 -122.4106
Area served
Downtown San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco (OAK)Oakland Airport (SJC)San Jose Airport
Area description
Hotel Diva is centered steps from Union Square - the heartbeat of the city's best shopping, innovative restaurants, and live theater. Located directly across from the Curran and ACT playhouses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Diva also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Diva Rooms

Deluxe King or Queen Room
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.
Deluxe Two Doubles
Deluxe rooms feature plush, Serta Five Star mattresses, 400 thread count linens, down comforters & pillows. Designer desks, a 36" flat screen television and refrigerators. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and windows that open. The bathrooms feature hairdryers, bathrobes and designer bath products.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Dining

Colibri
Colibri, the hotel restaurant features authentic cuisine from Mexico and a Tequila tasting bar.
Starbucks
Starbucks is conveniently located right off the lobby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Meeting Room accommodates up to 40 people reception-style, 15 people conference-style. Catering is available. Contact the hotel directly for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Diva

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humboldt County
Aug 19, 2010

Not much better than a Motel 6

It was my girlfriends first time in SF and we wanted to feel like DIVA's. We checked in and the front desk guy was not very nice and then checked in to our room and was very disappointed. There was NOTHING diva about it. Very plain and small rooms. I asked if we could change rooms and of course it was the last. The front desk guy was not nice and I really didn't want to stay there anymore. We were stuck unfortunately. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humboldt County
Aug 19, 2010

Not much better than a Motel 6

It was my girlfriends first time in SF and we wanted to feel like DIVA's. We checked in and the front desk guy was not very nice and then checked in to our room and was very disappointed. There was NOTHING diva about it. Very plain and small rooms. I asked if we could change rooms and of course it was the last. The front desk guy was not nice and I really didn't want to stay there anymore. We were stuck unfortunately. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brandie
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Employees need some training in customer service

Upon arriving at the hotel we went to valet our car. We had just returned from a 6 hour hike and apparently did not fit the bill for the type of person that would stay at Hotel Diva. We were greeted by the concierge who told us we should move right away or he would ticket us. When I replied that we were a guest of the hotel he said okay and walked away. For ten minutes I stood there thinking he would come back with someone to get our car. No luck. Finally I went to the front desk to ask if they had closed their valet for the day. They said I could just leave my key at the desk since I was sitting in a white zone out front. Upon check in there was no hello, how are you, where are you coming from. It was more like here is your key and your room. Upon entering the room it was a tad disheveled. I travel 1 to 2 times per month and have become accustomed to everything being in place. Towels were not organized, the fridge was even crooked with a cabinet opened and the window unit was dirty. Finally, upon checking out I went to retrieve my car. I gave the 20 minutes that they said they needed to retrieve the car. I went next door to get a coffee while waiting and returned 20 minutes in to no car. I figured it might take longer so I waited another ten minutes. The front desk saw me sitting and waiting... I got up to go get another cup of coffee and notice my car was out front. I asked the front desk if I could get someone to give me keys to my car. They laughed and said, 'oh, oops, it's been there for a bit!' 'here are your keys'. Overall the hotel could have been okay, but their horrible customer service has given me a reason to never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katayana ramen next door is fantastic.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Dallas TravelerS
Dallas, Texas
Jul 22, 2012

You get what you pay for

There are only two elevators at this hotel. One wasn't working at all during our entire stay and the other (crowded with guests and workers with large carts) made scary noises and went to the basement and opened before every ride upstairs. It became a running joke among guests. The hotel has king beds,but no king sheets. So, if you are 6'2" like my husband, the fact that the bottom sheet ends inches before the foot of the bed ensures that you won't get a good night's sleep, even though the mattress is good. I called and reported this TWICE to the front desk and housekeeping and was assured it would be fixed each time. Here is the problem. The staff is so nice, but they can't make elevators that are so old you can no longer buy parts for them work and the cant make sheets longer. The location is awesome. The facility is not. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lessthanimpressed
US
Feb 6, 2012

Just OK

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and was less than impressed. There were unfinished light fixtures hanging in the ceiling in the hallway, as well as light plugs hanging out of the socket. The room was very small and not all that clean. The bathroom is less than tiny and the room don't have an inside door lock on the door. I was awake all night in fear whenever I heard a strange noise. Also, the heater is out of the 60's, it's loud and very old. Overall, I would NEVER stay here again. It was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mapuana
Costa Rica
Dec 12, 2013

Hotel not for everyone

The Diva bills itself as a hip hotel, but for some the rooms will be too dark. We asked for a very quiet room, but had an part event room in the building in the back which hosted a very loud party one night of our stay. When we called the front desk, no apology, just tried to defend themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
liviinCA
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

didn't enjoy getting rained on...

I wish I could have given them a higher score. They don't go the extra mile, we were there for a bachelorette party and was disappointed when this mom of two (who never gets out and goes on vacation anymore) was not greeted by anyone. It was raining like crazy I didn't know that I was coming to a hotel of DIVAs and I wasn't going to be treated like a diva! I had to wait in the rain for someone to come out and get my bags, wasn't greeted at my car with someone holding an umbrella waiting for me. I think SOME of their staff needs an attitude change. Go the extra mile it would make a huge difference. No room service (breakfast) - no fun after a night of partying... It has cute charm but the bathrooms are too small, could easily over-look that if they gave better customer service. As we were leaving another customer had the same problem (no one came to help them with their bags in the rain).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRY TO BE DIFFERENT.
SAN FRANCISCO
Aug 18, 2009

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FORE THE PRICE

JUST SLEEPING SINCE WE SPENT THE REST OF THE DAY SIGHTSEEING AND SHOPPING, SO WE LEFT EARLY MORNING AND CAME BACK LATE AT NIGHT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

FISHERMAN WHARF, CHINATOWN AND THE ITALIAN SECTION OF TOWN HAVE BEEN OUR MOST FAVORITE LOCATIONS FOR DINING, FROM BREAKFEST TO DINNER.

Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RhoE
LA
Jul 15, 2012

Buy some light grey paint

The hotel is in a good location but the rooms are dated and what was once hip to someone is outdated. The rooms are very dark and could use to be brightened up-but that's my taste. When I saw the size of y room I did appreciated that I was given a larger room during a very busy hotel week. Would I stay there again not sure I'd be running back soon and I'm not sure I would run away either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Diva

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmrp
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Not bad

Worn out chic. Clean, excellent location, helpful staff. Mismatch between hip furniture, etc. and tired walls, doors, elevator doors, etc. Please get rid of the neon light in the elevators. I'd go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top