$152 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
259 reviews
Great 2 day get away

Hotel was great. Good value for your money compared to the larger hotels. Transportation can be had... See full review

  • John R.
  • May 11, 2015
Two best friends reunited in SF!

Really enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful hotel. We loved the decor of the lobby and our room, which... See full review

  • Caitlin G.
  • May 5, 2015

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Nearby attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Policies

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 259
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngusF
Business
Berlin, MD 21811, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Wonderful value, great staff

Bed was extremely comfortable, the location very convenient for Union Square without the high price and the reception staff just excellent. I had a small problem with the room which could not be fixed immediately and the reception host arranged for another room immediately. Breakfast staff great, quick service, tasty food.Bathroom a tad small and no Golf Channel on TV, otherwise perfect! Thanks Carlton!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville
Oct 5, 2008

My review of Carlton Hotel

Hotel Carlton was a neat place. A little off the tourist beaten path which was very nice. Comfortable, clean, friendly, hip, and convenient. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLHuggy
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 6, 2014

Personal Getaway

My only complaint about this hotel is that there is no thermostat so you can't control the room temperature. The rooms are very nice and SUPER clean, which I appreciate. The walls are a bit thin so not for light sleepers. The location is in walking distance to many attractions. I walked to all the locations I wanted to go except Fisherman's Wharf. The staff are very friendly, approachable, and helpful. There is a restaurant called Saha on the lobby floor, it's not cheap but the food is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My treat to myself
Business
Seattle
Feb 3, 2014

Elegant Hotel

This hotel was a very uniquely designed and elegant hotel. My room was clean and sharp in design. The restaurant Saha, which is located in the hotel, is a lovely place , the atmosphere is warm and the food is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonder the hood and you'll find something good

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deni
Business
Colorado
Sep 8, 2009

SF's Hotel Carton

The hotel was great-would have been better w/air conditioner and a small refridgerator. There are many dining options within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

AFTER I booked my 'Cheap of the Week' package deal that included air fare, car rental, and hotel stay. A friend who lives near San Francisco mentioned that some hotels in the city don't have parking facilities. So, after looking in the hotel's small print section of it's website I learned that there was no on-site parking, and to keep my rental car at the hotel via valet service, it would cost an additional $30+ per day. After paying another $138 for a 4 night stay, my 'cheap' trip wasn't so cheap!!!Read all of the fine print BEFORE you book your economical trip!!!!!!Shame on Cheap Tickets for including a rental car in a package where the hotel it listed charges extra to accomodate.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob from St. Pete
Business
Saint Petersburg, FL
May 13, 2012

Great stay!

The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient. Very accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachqueen2
Business
Bakersfield, California
Dec 17, 2012

Lucky to stay at the Carlton

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Carlton. I arrived around 11 pm and presented myself to the hotel consierge. I gave him my name and the paperwork from the online travel company I had booked through and he told me that he did not have any reservation. I told him I had booked through a popular travel booking site and he again said that I was not listed. Luckily, the hotel was not full and he was able to give me a room and honor the travel site receipt. I was up and out early the next morning with no complaints about the hotel; I was only upset that the travel booking site had not provided the hotel with my reservation. Why is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
corncake
Business
Bremerton WA
Feb 20, 2013

a hotel that has European charm in San Francisco.

I very much enjoyed staying at Hotel Carlton on Sutter. The staff are very nice and go out of thier way to assist you. A pleasent enjoyable stay. Michael

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

easy to get around just walking.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wet-N-Sandy Paws
Business
Seattle, WA
May 27, 2010

Charming Place, Good Locale

The hotel is centrally located, near bars, restaurants, stores,and bus lines. The friendly staff was very helpful with knowing bus routes,walking distances, and booking ground transfers to airport. My only knock is that the hotel charges you to use their business center(computers, printers, etc. Free at all the hotels I've stayed. I waited to print my boarding pass at the airport, a bit of a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A hidden gem in a grocery/liquor store. Mid-City is on the sign outside but you don't know there is a taqeria inside. The best burrito I've had in a long while,(outside of Mission St)a big tortilla wraps itself around juicy carne asada, black beans,rice,and other good stuff for a small sum of 6$ Wow, what a deal! Fills you up, import beers 2bucks and change. Go there!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 29, 2009

Nice Hotel not far from Union Square

The Carlton Hotel is a great little hotel for folks who don't want to be right on top of Union Square, but want to be able to walk there. The hotel was clean and well-maintained. I only have 2 complaints: 1.) a fire station and nearby hospital can make the hotel a noisy place, particularly if you're on a lower floor. 2.) San Francisco got fairly cold at night and there was no heat in my room. The radiator made all kinds of noises in the morning, but no heat. However, when I mentioned this the next morning, the very pleasant staff member installed a portable heater in my room. From thereon the temperature was quite pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar "Fly" next door is a great place for a night cap.

Back to menu Return to top