$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
312 reviews
Very cool hotel

Me and my fiancée came to San Fran to celebrate my birthday and this hotel was a perfect hotel. See full review

  • Jakoa Dudley
  • Apr 14, 2014
good hotel

The location is good.The staff there are all friendly.A wonderful experience See full review

  • xiaolei chen
  • Feb 13, 2014
Green boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Features

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7878 -122.4179
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland International Airport. San Jose is located about 50 miles south of San Francisco and is any easy drive of about 1 hour.
Area description
Conveniently located close to Union Square, the Financial District, Civic Center, state and federal govenment buildings, Davies Symphony Hall, War Memorial Opera House, Orpheum Theater and Chinatown. Cable Cars and city bus lines are located just minutes from the front door.

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (312)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
312 out of 312
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DancingBaker
Old Bridge, NJ
Mar 17, 2014

Fantastic Staff and Modern Rooms!

Had a fantastic stay here. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a newly remodeled room! Just because we mentioned we walked all the way there and the hills were exhausting since we were from NJ. The room itself had a great comfy bed and large TV, even though we didn't use it. There was also a Keurig Machine with my favorite K cup. The bathroom was a little small but other than that amazing experience. The shower pressure was great! The restaurant is out of this world! I highly recommend eating there for dinner. Check out was at noon, however we were meeting with friends who could not arrive by then. We asked if the hotel could hold our bags for an hour while we explored and waited for them to arrive, and they were so accommodating. I am sure we could have kept the bags there all day! The staff was super friendly! This is a great hotel! I felt the hotel was in a perfect central location and I felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Aug 21, 2010

Great hotel

The only fault was no air conditioning which was fine as the weather was mild but I wonder what t would be like in hot weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hmmngbrrd
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 11, 2014

Funky last minute booking

I was happy to find Hotel Carlton in Nob Hill at such a great price at the last minute. I'm talking less than two weeks! We arrived late and were greeted by a very jovial staff who joked that they needed our blood type to check in. Wish I had time to take advantage of the wine reception every evening, busy busy! The room was modern and comfortable. I like that you got a nice glass pitcher instead of the regular ol' ice bucket. Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katana-Ya ramen is open until 1am and Mikeller Bar is open until midnight if you need any late night snacks.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget-minded business traveler
Business
New York City
Aug 17, 2010

Economical, quiet, good location

I recently attended a bar association meeting in San Francisco and decided to stay at the Hotel Carlton because I had stayed there, by chance, on my last visit to SF, almost 19 years ago. I would describe the Carlton as a tourist hotel, and many of the guests seemed to be young couples and/or folks traveling from Europe. The Carlton lacks certain business amenities characteristic of luxury hotels; but it is in a central location, and I found it perfectly serviceable for my purposes. The luxury hotel hosting the bar association events I attended was only eight blocks away. That translated to just a 12-minute walk, even with San Francisco's famous hilly streets. My room was fine, and the staff was friendly -- and, surprisingly to me, even greeted me by my name when I went to the front desk the day after I checked in. Additionally -- although I did not have a chance to experience it for myself because I was at business meetings in the late afternoon and early evening -- the staff told me that guests were entitled to a free glass of wine every day during happy hour. I stayed for three nights, and the money I saved over a more expensive hotel considerably reduced the cost of my visit. I felt it was a real gem for casual visitors to San Francisco, and I would stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Feb 22, 2010

Good time

Great Staff, very nice. Only problem was very thin walls, could hear conversations clearly of the guests in rooms next to, below and above room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
10009
Mar 21, 2011

Great Place

A great place; the staff was very friendly, facilities are top-notch and the hotel is in a great location with easy access to transit. My only complaint would be that other guests were a bit loud, but you can't really hold the hotel responsible for that...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheers Drew
Hampton, VA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Hotel Carlton is a great deal

I found this hotel last minute at a discounted rate on Orbitz. The Hotel Carlton is in a nice location near the Nob Hill area, so you can walk to a lot of restaurants and bars, including Union Square. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. There aren't a lot of amenities, but there is serviceable internet. The staff was great and very helpful. Mass transit stops are just a few blocks away too. Overall this hotel was perfect for our trip and I would recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to pay an arm and a leg for a good hotel in San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spring break traveller
NYC
Apr 22, 2009

great hotel, great experience

a clean, lovely hotel for a stellar price. our room was small and we didn't have many amenities, but you get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
Feb 2, 2008

A welcome refuge

At the edge of the Tenderloin, the Hotel Carlton was not in the safest location. Yet the hotel staff instantly made up for that with an extremely welcoming greeting to the nice, peaceful lobby. My room was pleasant, especially for the price, and I can't say enough about how happy I am that the facility is carbon-neutral. I didn't get to experience the afternoon wine serving as I was busy, but, again, the staff made me feel welcome and invited for that. The room was spacious and well-decorated for such an old building. The bed was comfortable, the shower was fine (good water pressure) and there was plenty of closet and drawer space (although I didn't personally use either). Also, the in-room coffee was actually good, which I appreciated. The one problem I could see, probably due to the building's age, was that the walls were incredibly thin. Fortunately I didn't experience this problem while I was trying to sleep. But when I was getting ready in the morning I could hear the people in the next room over talking as clearly as if they had been in my own room. i could imagine that would be a problem on certain nights. Still, the hotel was easily accessible to anywhere I needed to go in San Francisco (although I'd recommend traveling there by cab at night) and it really was an excellent value for the money comparable to any nice boutique hotel in any city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Market street and Union Square are an easy, but longish walk from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vitch
Burbank, CA
Feb 24, 2010

great price, location and staff!!

The rooms are average sized, super clean, and hotel has wifi in the rooms. Great value!!! Bar/restaurant 'Fly" on the corner has great happy hour too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top