$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 11, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Obien
Business
Princeton
Apr 6, 2015

Good for the money

The hotel was very close to what I expected compared to my impression based on the website. The staff was very courteous. I had requested king bed but they had only 2 double beds which was also fine with me. They apologized and gave me a free breakfast voucher. I thought that was very nice of them. Convenient by bus (#2) to go to Pier 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralee P.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Great hotel

Nice hotel, was comfortable, small but clean. .....................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renee G.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Great place very welcoming

It was a good experience. All of the hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Clean and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GradGirl
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 21, 2010

Would definitely stay here again

The Hotel Carlton is situated just a short walk away from Union Square in the heart of downtown. However, it's also far enough away that you can get away during those hectic rush hour periods. The staff are also wonderful and will help you find your way around the city. The clerk I spoke to directed me to a fabulous restaurant that turned out to be the best meal I had in San Francisco. There are free wine tastings every evening in the lobby, as well as live music that ranges from classical string quartets to funky keyboards. I really loved the elevators too. They are decorated with maps and pictures from places all around the world (that's the theme of the Hotel Carlton). One last note: the coffee in the room is actually tasty, which is not something I can say for any other hotel I've stayed at. I would definitely stay here again, and you should too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head down to Union Square to have a delicious dinner at John's Grill. I had Red Snapper and my fiance had a delicious steak. The atmosphere is cozy, and you can dress up or down. Top notch. www.johnsgrill.com/

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling trio
Business
new zealand
Dec 18, 2009

Great value for money

Safe location, cleanliness and friendliness were all things we wanted in a hotel with our young family and this hotel delivered in all areas and more. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for what we wanted with a reasonable price. IF travelling through San Fran again we would not hesitate to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Bike across the Golden Gate bridge. An experience well worth it!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 21, 2007

Very Friendly

The Carlton was very comfortable. I truly liked the pillows I alway have trouble with hotel pillows being to hard but the the pillows were great and I did not get a stiff neck Ya! The only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom did not have much counter space. Oh, I have to say that with cell phones, computers,and cameras we had plenty of outlets thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there is a wonderful dining right in the hotel

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John R.
Business
N/A
May 11, 2015

Great 2 day get away

Hotel was great. Good value for your money compared to the larger hotels. Transportation can be had anywhere here and is in walking distance to the majority of local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin G.
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Two best friends reunited in SF!

Really enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful hotel. We loved the decor of the lobby and our room, which felt more like a guest bedroom in someone's home rather than a hotel room. The staff was very friendly and kind. We would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John32784
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Jan 16, 2014

Business trip

Staff is quite friendly. Boutique feel with reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant options nearby

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grouptext 5
Business
La
Jan 20, 2014

Excellent

Very well maintained hotel , good service .. Close to union square ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top