$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wendywub
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 5, 2012

Just right for San Francisco

Hotel Carlton was the perfect place to stay in San Francisco. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean and lively. There were many guests from all over the world and the evening wine hour is full of interesting people. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IssyMcG
Business
Connecticut
Nov 7, 2012

Stay here!!!

We LOVED this hotel! Room was spotless and very comfortable. Big bathroom (with great water pressure even tho we were on the 5th floor!). Also big walk-in closet with lots of hangers as well as plenty of drawer space. Big bright windows which you could open. We stayed 4 days and every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and helpful. It had everything we needed and nothing we didn't. Very convenient location - you would pay a lot more money for a better location, and this was pretty much within walking distance of most things we wanted to do and see. Another advantage - the area had real character, being just outside the real touristy area. Lots of little breakfast cafes and small grocery stores/liquor stores close by. We would definitely stay here again on future trips to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has valet parking at $34 a night. There are garages close by for $21 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
Business
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eagle13gy
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel

Good hotel, good location, only the room is not very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Casbear
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Excellent, great get away with a friend.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned well every day and the meal we had there was very good. The wine and music in the early evening was a nice plus too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annvander
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Nov 5, 2009

The Friendliest Staff!

This is a return visit for me and my husband. And it was just as good as we remember. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Aug 4, 2009

Wonderful Place!

I absolutely love this place! The location is perfect for exploring all that San Francisco has to offer. My young daughter and I were traveling by ourselves and we felt safe there and in the surrounding area. Thanks to the staff, we were able to figure out the public transportation system and how to get around in an unfamiliar city. The hotel itself is older and certainly the rooms are not sound-proof, but that didn't seem to bother us as much as some other reviewers. The hotel is charming, quirky, and quaint. The staff is super-helpful and friendly. The little wine party each evening is a nice touch. The price was reasonable. I don't think I would even look up another hotel if we were to return to San Francisco - my daughter and I both thought this was the best, most fun hotel experience of our entire California trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Feb 13, 2010

Great place with charm

Very friendly at the front desk, clean rooms, great location. Very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grace Cathedral and China Town are within walking distance and were fun places to take the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Lovely hotel, GREEN, and Friendly

A lovely hotel. Wine is served in the lobby each evening. The staff was most helpful and friendly. I'll return to Hotel Carlton on my next trip to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 13, 2008

Cutest Hotel I've Ever Seen!

It was absolutely the cutest hotel I have ever seen. The staff was extremely friendly, suggesting excellent restaurants for dinner each night. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many restaurants within walking distance. As well it is only about a 10 minute walk to Union Square and China Town - where you can get most of your shopping done.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top