$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jacque06
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
May 2, 2012

Wonderful location & staff, but no AC

We really liked the decor of the hotel, the complimentary wine in the evening and the very friendly staff. The location is also spectacular- walking distance to a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. The downside was that there was no climate control in the room or any AC. We were there in April with temperatures in the upper 70's, so it got pretty toasty in the room, with only a ceiling fan to cool us off. Maybe they put window units in in the summer? The other thing we wish they would have had was bottled water (they had a machine where you could fill up with filtered water, but no to-go bottles or anything), as well as a complimentary continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BGABSS
Business
Kentucky
Sep 5, 2012

HOT FUN!!!!

Very nice neighborhood (SAFE) and very kind staff!We always return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shops and restaurants at Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UF NO. 1
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2012

Average recently renovated hotel

Hotel was above average for San Francisco, but just average for your everyday traveler. They did a good job with the recent renovation, but the room size is small and there is no type of temperature control in the rooms (you can either choose to have your window open or closed). Good location, staff is very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pam and friends
Business
San Francisco
Oct 15, 2012

Nice staff

The hotel is older and somewhat eclectic, but the guy at the front desk was hysterical and made our stay a lot more enjoyable than we thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cristina nv
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 12, 2012

Giants parade

It was a pretty good experience. I got a two bed. Hey had a free 30 min wine testing on the Wednesday we went. It didn't have the remote for some reason but we still got I anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patrick NAUL
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 12, 2012

Good Place to crash

Comfortable room, nice staff, but little amentities and could use AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the BART

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aged traveler
Business
Irvine, California
Nov 14, 2012

Business trip

Hotel has aged. Uncomfortable street noise. Hotel parking is very expensive. I did not take breakfast after seeing what is offered. Staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony in NY
Business
New York
Dec 4, 2012

Great location, good price

NIce, old hotel at very good price in good location that gives easy access to nice restaurants and local attractions. This hotel is well maintained, but it is older and has basic decor. Free bottle of wine at check-in is a nice touch as is free wine tasting at 5PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daam
Business
southern california
Nov 28, 2012

extremely dog friendly

The staff here is super friendly and very helpful. they are very dog friendly as well, being welcoming to my two mutts, and no special dog deposit! the rooms are comfy and clean, the hotel itself is also comfy and clean, despite a painting project going on. my room was right next to the neon sign casting a very bright pink glow into the room at night. the blinds covered it up enough that it didn't bother me, but if you are extremely sensitive to light, i'd probably ask for a room away from the sign. there is currently construction going on across the street which woke us up very early and that was disappointing, but once that's done, it'll be great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaxiyes
Business
Oahu
Dec 27, 2012

Just okay

Just okay. Location is just okay. Little bit far from Bart and shopping mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top