$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goofy Girl
Couples
Arcata,CA
Feb 15, 2010

Clean and comfortable

The staff was friendly and welcoming. The decor was beautiful, and the room was unique. We had a very comfortable stay, the bed was nice and so was the bathroom/shower. Much nicer than the places we usually stay. Valet parking however was expensive. I recommend asking them if there are other, cheaper parking options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
los Angeles, ca
Feb 17, 2011

San Francisco with no rain!

HC is in a great neighborhood location. Far enough away from the tourist traps to enjoy the peace and quiet, but close enough to walk right into them if you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great local bars and restaurants/eateries within a few blocks of the hotel. Just "yelp" away your culinary desire.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis
Jun 28, 2009

A great experience

Staff members were very friendly & helpful, the room was clean & had a nice international decor/ambience. The hotel is very convenient to the California cable car line and close to bus lines. There are good coffee shops & bars within several blocks, as well as a couple of small grocery/convenience shops. Noise problems involved the coming & going of nightowl guests who had too much to drink, & frequent sirens from the city streets- not much the staff can do about either one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Swan's oyster bar for a fantastic fresh San Francisco seafood experience.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuts for Napa
Friends
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 20, 2010

Quaint charm

Blocks from Union Square in the Tenderloin district. Close enough to the cable car lines to make it somewhat easy to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from hotel, tiny dinner named Golden Coffee, good prices and breakfast to start your day.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Glenville NY
Oct 21, 2009

Great place in a big city

This was a great hotel at a great price. It was close enough to walk to Union Square but without the price tag. The staff was excellent! It was a bit noisey but that was just the rude guests fault, not the hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E&E
Couples
Seattle, WA
Jun 29, 2009

june 25th- june 28th

My husband and I were there for business and pleasure and so the location fit both of our agendas well. Although the staff goes above and beyond to be helpful, the fact that the hotel is old can not be avoided. The doors do not keep out even the smallest of noises which left us poorly rested the entire visit. The decor of the room was minimalistic and the standard comforts were available including a better than average coffe maker, alarm and hair dryer. Unfortunately, the bathroom had dirt on the exterior where the tiles meet the tub. A highlight was the restaurant which we had breakfast at two times. We found the yogurt, fruit, and granola mix to be yummy considering the simplicity. Granted, it was $9, but it was so good that we gladly had it two days in a row. The concierges did a fantastic job of recommending restaurants and transportation options. They know the area perfectly and are to be commended. We recommend Modern Thai as a dinning option that is good in quality and soft on the pocket book. If you like Italian, but want fresh sea food, go to North Beach, 552 Green (I think) a place called Mare Sotto Oysteria and Seafood. If you stay here, just bring ear plugs and you will be sure to have a good experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Modern Thai, get the MT coconut ice cream dessert and the soft shell crab special, excellent!

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2010

A little goodness!

I love the fact that they have a wine reception. One of their staff members recommended an awesome Italian restaurant for us to visit. They were very speedy in calling us cabs when we needed them. Sometimes it can get a little noisy from the traffic but it slows down at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Calzones!!! It was delicious

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heggermatic
Friends
Sunnyvale, CA
May 19, 2014

Nice place to rest your head

The hotel was just for one night before bay 2 breakers. The room was nice but would have been better if there was a fridge to keep our cocktails cold. Unfortunately we didn't get to use the shower or anything else besides the beds since they wouldn't allow for a late check out. We had to pack up and be out when we were leaving for the race which was a bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loved s.f.
Friends
miami fl
Jul 31, 2009

good for the money

I arrived with a friend for a 5 night stay. Our room was next to the elevator, reason why it was a little noisy. Over all, the hotel was nice and confortable. Airport shuttle was $16.00 and taxis did not exceed $15.00. San Francisco is a really small city with many things to do, I will definitly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheescake factory at macy's in union square is only a few blocks away, food is great, view is awsome and prices are the same as in every cheescake factory.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SAM-I-AM
Family
Yuba City, CA
Jan 9, 2010

Value.

Loved the staff and their enthusiasm to serve and make sure we had fun. They kept it light-hearted without losing any style points. We enjoyed the world theme and the warm decor. We easily (comfortably) walked to the Union Square area on a cool night and walked back. Staff had lots of real restaurant recommendations, not the chains. Staff included the kids in every transaction in some way to keep them engaged. We were worried that the thin walls would make for a sleepless night, but we didn't hear a thing from our neighbors at night. The old radiator heater may be something to consider if you are a light sleeper. If you are staying with the kids, the double beds are a bit small for the 6' plus folks. We will definitely consider this property and the Joie la Vie company again when in SF. We are hooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive anywhere. Walk if it's less than 30 min., take a cab or the bus if it's more.

Back to menu Return to top