$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
223 reviews
Great 2 day get away

Hotel was great. Good value for your money compared to the larger hotels. Transportation can be had... See full review

  • John R.
  • May 11, 2015
Two best friends reunited in SF!

Really enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful hotel. We loved the decor of the lobby and our room, which... See full review

  • Caitlin G.
  • May 5, 2015
  • City Hall
  • Federal Building
  • San Francisco Opera House
  • Theater District
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Fisherman's Wharf
General

Without question, the Hotel Carlton's attention to conservation is a major accomplishment. Nearly one quarter of the hotel's energy is generated by the rooftop solar panel installation.


All guests are invited to a complimentary wine hour every night (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.). Hotel Carlton also offers adjoining rooms, ideal for families.


Saha offer an eclectic blend of Yemenese and Californian cuisines. The restaurant also features an old-world Chinese "scholar's table" that seats eight, bringing friends and strangers together to share the adventures of the day. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and dinner.

Location

Green is the reality at the Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre property. The Nob Hill hotel is certified by the city of San Francisco as a green business, is one of the few hotels in town to have solar panels, and was the first hotel in the U.S. to receive the LEED EB O&M distinction. The structure itself is historic, and dates back to the early 1900s. Inside, the vibe is international, as walls are adorned with art photos from the American Himalayan Foundation.

Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 miles)
  • Oakland International Airport (15 miles)
  • Cable car stops (3 blocks)
  • BART (5 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Rooms

The majority of the Carlton's rooms offer guests expansive, unobstructed city views (a rarity in this district of San Francisco) because the hotel isn't flanked by adjoining buildings. Each of the 160 rooms (and the lone suite) includes an in-room laptop safe, a ceiling fan, and a CD player that is MP3 compatible. Decor in these rooms is soft; soothing tones of light blue and cream are punctuated by touches of glowing colors, such as saffron, Oriental red and a cheerful persimmon. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available. Pets are welcome (fees apply).

Property features

Boutique Nob Hill hotel blends history and eco-consciousness

Highlights
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Nearby attractions

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

Business
  • Summit Room is ideal for meetings and depositions
  • Use one of three public Internet-enabled workstations in the lobby (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Located mere blocks from City Hall and the Federal Building
  • Complimentary nightly wine hour (30 minutes at 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.)
  • On-site restaurant Saha offers Arabic fusion cuisine
Policies

  • Saha at Hotel Carlton will be resuming its original hours
  • Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30 - 10:30 AM, Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Sunday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
  • Dinner: Tuesday-Saturday 6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
  • Effective November 1st, Valet Parking (fees apply) is available from 6 AM to midnight. 
  • Please note that you will need a valid credit card and photo ID to check in to the hotel
  • Parking fees: $35/night plus 14% tax (Total is $40). Oversized vehicles are $41/night plus 14% tax (Total is $47)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$141
3.5 / 5 629 reviews
★★★
$149
3.8 / 5 90 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 295 reviews
★★★
$160
3.5 / 5 55 reviews
★★★
$199
3.8 / 5 81 reviews

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel Rooms

Superior Full Full
Features two full beds, easy chair with accent table, marble topped writing desk, color cable TV with remote, telephone with data port, coffeemaker, full-length mirror, iron and ironing board, ceiling fan and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Dining

Saha
Saha Restaurant, a 50-seat restaurant serving Arabic-fusion cuisine, offers affordable breakfast and dinner menus. The restaurant's ebony wood planked floor, bright red lacquer seats and red leather upholstery along with an old-world Chinese "scholar's table that can seat eight (8), brings friends and families together to share the adventures of the day.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Carlton's Summit Room is ideal for small meetings and depositions. Please contact the Sales Department for details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 223
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARIA V.
Single
SANTIAGO
Jun 14, 2015

Great location

Was great for Enjoy SF The room was clean and perfect only a little noisy because was a conected room, i didnt try breakfast was it full With amazing places around The área

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARIA V.
Single
SANTIAGO
Jun 14, 2015

Great location

Was great for Enjoy SF The room was clean and perfect only a little noisy because was a conected room, i didnt try breakfast was it full With amazing places around The área

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wing
Single
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Clean and cozy

The hotel room is clean and cozy. It is a bit small but sufficient. Good for short term stay. The hotel location is okay, not close to BART but you can walk 10 mins to Japan Town. The hotel staff are very friendly. I enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLHuggy
Single
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 6, 2014

Personal Getaway

My only complaint about this hotel is that there is no thermostat so you can't control the room temperature. The rooms are very nice and SUPER clean, which I appreciate. The walls are a bit thin so not for light sleepers. The location is in walking distance to many attractions. I walked to all the locations I wanted to go except Fisherman's Wharf. The staff are very friendly, approachable, and helpful. There is a restaurant called Saha on the lobby floor, it's not cheap but the food is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sfbsux
Single
Plymouth, CA
Feb 1, 2014

Unimpressed

The hotel is in a marginal neighborhood. Larkin St. has a plethora of homeless drug dealers and panhandlers., it is dirty and unpleasant. Also it is very noisy. The hotel itself is old and they are making an effort to upgrade. There is no climate control in the rooms. They bately had any heat, and there was no ventilation i. the bathroom except a small window. There were water stains on the ceilings and walls of the bathroom which made me nervous since I am allergic to mold. The room was very small, with a small TV and there was no mini fridge. The free internet is only good for one day and it is so slow that it is virtually non existant. When I called the front desk to let them know that there was trouble with the internet they told me I had to call their internet company to complin. Rediculous! This hotel lacks the most basic ameneties that one would expect to find in any hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HK Shop Girl
Single
Seattle, WA
Sep 3, 2013

Overall Good

Location is good, walking distance to Union Square. It is located on the edge of Nob Hill and Union Square. It is Not close to restaurants. A stone's throw to Polk street if you are there for clubbling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Call and make reservations before you head out the hotel

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
corncake
Single
Bremerton WA
Feb 20, 2013

a hotel that has European charm in San Francisco.

I very much enjoyed staying at Hotel Carlton on Sutter. The staff are very nice and go out of thier way to assist you. A pleasent enjoyable stay. Michael

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

easy to get around just walking.

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago
Jan 27, 2013

Petty Coruption Ruined an Otherwise Fine Experience

Stayed 5 days in January 2013. For the money, the hotel is well located, adequately clean and comfortable. In fact, were it not for what happened at check out, I would give the hotel ffour stars. Even though pre-paid, checking in I was told policy is to charge a refundable $50.00 to cover possible additional charges. I did not use any amenities during my stay, so staff suggested I apply the $50.00 on car fareto the airport. The driver, definitely a friend, possibly a relative of one of the staff members seemed fine until drop off. At the last minute he demanded $50.00, saying he knew nothing about the arrangement with the hotel. There was a lot of traffic at the drop off point so no time to work out with the hotel. My credit card is opening an inquiry for me. Possibly I will win. Win or lose is not the point. You expect this garbage visiting the third world. Absolutley no place for it from a big San Francisco hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachqueen2
Single
Bakersfield, California
Dec 17, 2012

Lucky to stay at the Carlton

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Carlton. I arrived around 11 pm and presented myself to the hotel consierge. I gave him my name and the paperwork from the online travel company I had booked through and he told me that he did not have any reservation. I told him I had booked through a popular travel booking site and he again said that I was not listed. Luckily, the hotel was not full and he was able to give me a room and honor the travel site receipt. I was up and out early the next morning with no complaints about the hotel; I was only upset that the travel booking site had not provided the hotel with my reservation. Why is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daam
Single
southern california
Nov 28, 2012

extremely dog friendly

The staff here is super friendly and very helpful. they are very dog friendly as well, being welcoming to my two mutts, and no special dog deposit! the rooms are comfy and clean, the hotel itself is also comfy and clean, despite a painting project going on. my room was right next to the neon sign casting a very bright pink glow into the room at night. the blinds covered it up enough that it didn't bother me, but if you are extremely sensitive to light, i'd probably ask for a room away from the sign. there is currently construction going on across the street which woke us up very early and that was disappointing, but once that's done, it'll be great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top