$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveliiiing
San Francisco , CA
Dec 10, 2012

Greatest Staff Ever!!!

You could not ask for a nicer, kinder, professional, and helpful staff. They hotel itself is nice, comfortable bed, good shower head, solid HD tv w HD, ect.... Room living space size is pretty solid for SF... About 1 1/2 times size of a cruise ship cabin. Close to lots of bars, restaurants. 5-10 min walk to china town, BART, and others... Above all else a room is just a room but a staff's service can make a big impact on a trip... This staff was AMAZING..... Enjoy the 30 minute free happy hour... Tell the keyboard player to keep rocking them glasses......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommytimetraveler
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jan 30, 2013

A gem of a hotel

This place is adorable, fun and in the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suntraveler
Business
Oak Park, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Great San Francisco Hotel for the weekend.

We chose this hotel for convenience to our son's apartment in Nob Hill, good reviews and for price point. It was about a 5 block walk to his apartment, a 5 or 6 block walk to Union Square and 2 blocks to the shopping and restaurants on Polk Street. The location was great for us and we liked that it was an older, boutique hotel. My husband and I got in around 1:30 on Friday afternoon and we were able to check into our room early. It was clean and sunny with a nice flat screen TV and coffee/tea maker. There was a hair dryer in the closet and shampoo/soap/conditioner dispenser in the tub/shower combo. The staff poured wine from 5:30 to 6:00 pm in the lobby. It was a great way to relax in front of the fireplace before going out to dinner and to meet some other travelers; they even had music. The staff was great, helping with directions and restaurants and had a great sense of humor. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (Saha), but I heard it was good and nice to have that option available. There were some reviews about noise, but we did not experience any problem. That said, if there was a noisy neighbor, the walls would not have been that sound proof. We also did not need heat or air conditioning, since temperatures were in the high 40's to high 50's. They do post quiet hours from 10:00 pm until 8:00 am. Beds and linens were comfortable and the room had a desk, sitting chair and small table. Enjoyed our stay there. If you like blues, definitely check out Biscuits and Blues near Union Square on Mason. Great show (Earl Jones), intimate venue where you can see from every table and good food (Southern influence). Coffee shop on Polk street-- Quetzal Internet Cafe had great fair trade coffee and a nice selection of breakfast and lunch items (order at the counter), though I just stopped for coffee. Indian buffet for lunch hit the spot- also on Polk--Darbar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Blues and Biscuits for Blues entertainment--loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 27, 2013

Petty Coruption Ruined an Otherwise Fine Experience

Stayed 5 days in January 2013. For the money, the hotel is well located, adequately clean and comfortable. In fact, were it not for what happened at check out, I would give the hotel ffour stars. Even though pre-paid, checking in I was told policy is to charge a refundable $50.00 to cover possible additional charges. I did not use any amenities during my stay, so staff suggested I apply the $50.00 on car fareto the airport. The driver, definitely a friend, possibly a relative of one of the staff members seemed fine until drop off. At the last minute he demanded $50.00, saying he knew nothing about the arrangement with the hotel. There was a lot of traffic at the drop off point so no time to work out with the hotel. My credit card is opening an inquiry for me. Possibly I will win. Win or lose is not the point. You expect this garbage visiting the third world. Absolutley no place for it from a big San Francisco hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobino
Business
NYC, NY
Jan 22, 2013

Great location and comfortable room

I really enjoyed staying here. The room was comfortable; the location was great; the staff was very helpful. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hilde88
Business
San Carlos
Jan 20, 2013

Loud but Proud

Staff is excellent! Knowledgeable, friendly, helpfull and courteous. Omg it was so noisy in room: condensate from steam heat banged all night, noise from outside was very loud especially for Saturday morning, housekeeping was knocking on door at 9:00 even though we were checking out by NOON

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

2 1/2 blocks to Regency Ball Room where our venue was. Sketchy neighbor hood so walk in groups. Nice variety of bars and restaurants in 3-4 block radius

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j smooth
Business
los angeles california
Jan 16, 2013

Bums and hookers across the street

liked my stay only bad parts is across the street there are bums and hookers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business Traveler PA
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 15, 2013

Great Staff, Pass on the Hotel

The staff were all wonderful but the location was on the edge of a bad area. I felt unsafe walking to and from the hotel from Union Square. The room was dated, smelled of disinfectant and had stains all over the floor. The tiles of the bathtub were lined with black mold. The walls are thin and you could hear construction and even voices from closed windows. The heat is not regulated by each room and does not turn on until late into the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eagle13gy
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 15, 2013

Good hotel

Good hotel, good location, only the room is not very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sanfrantraveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 8, 2013

good location but

I have to say that this place is a great location! However, I would not stay here again. The staff was friendly enough but it is very near The Tenderloin, a very bad part of town. It is also the thinnest walled hotel I have ever stayed in. We could hear every noise of every guest inside and everyone outside as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris from Burbank
Business
Burbank
Jan 2, 2013

Great Choice

Room was clean and very comfortable. Great lobby and friendly staff. Easy to walk to places, immediate neighborhood OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top